Weekly Roundup … Packing Bags & Airport Bound …

Its been such a busy week … I know it must sound like I say that all the time … and I guess I probably do … but I think this week has just felt longer than most because I’ve been looking forward to our upcoming holiday … that’s right … our South Africa trip is finally happening … eek …

Last weekend was pretty mellow … we didn’t end up doing too much other than get the car serviced and stock up on cat food … like I said … nothing too exciting … I spent a good portion of it working as did Perry … it always seems to happen just before we want to go on leave … work suddenly gets busy and our workload ends up growing exponentially in the run up to a holiday … please tell me I’m not the only one this happens to???

The start of this week was interesting … the roads were really quite and everywhere I went queuing times were minimal and it felt like half of Dubai had upped and left for their summer holidays … which I guess is kinda what has happened … a lot of the stay at home mums will take the kids once school has finished and head back to their home country for the 6 weeks of the summer holidays … and suddenly just like that Dubai is a much quieter place to be …

2014-07-23 09.46.56I have to say as nice as it is to have the city be a little bit more peaceful for a few weeks it isn’t half hot … temps are around 38 degrees by the time I get to work in the morning and usually around 45 or higher by the early afternoon … I tried using one of those collapsible car shades this week in the Skoda (see pic above) … because I don’t have shaded parking at work and was tired of getting burned by my seat-belt buckle and steering wheel … but even that was a fail … not only does it do absolutely nothing to stop the car getting as hot as a sauna (still burning myself on the seat-belt buckle) … but I then cant even hold the shade long enough to twist it close and tie it shut … because the metal ring that gives the shade its shape starts to burn my hand through the material …

IMG-20140720-WA0000Some days I just feel like this … (picture sent to me by my brother) …

Which is part of the reason why I am so happy we are off to Cape Town later tonight … I’ve been checking the weather and it seems to be hovering in the range of around 14-20 degrees there at the moment … I am beyond excited by this …

Other than that I have been playing with the boys a lot the last few days … Hugo has upped his game on being demanding … more so than usual for him … Derek still enjoys snuggling with me in the mornings … in other words its all good on the kitten front …

My friend Terri came over last night for dinner and to catch up … I hadn’t seen her for a couple months … timing had never worked for us … either we were away or she was away or one of us had visitors … but all in all it was lovely to catch up with her … she and her fiance Cliff are getting married next month which is really exciting … unfortunately we can’t make it to Scotland for the wedding but Perry and I are already looking forward to the Brunch they have planned in September to celebrate when they get back …

On a completely random note I successfully managed to do a fishtail braid in my hair this morning … I’d tried this a few times before but never managed to get it to work for some reason … this time it decided to stay put … its not as delicate as it could be but I’m still happy with how it turned out for now …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetOh and on another note for our trip … Perry and I have decided to travel light this time round … as in only fly with hand luggage … now this isn’t going to be too difficult for Perry who is away each week for work and only takes hand luggage with him … but for me this will be the first time I do a trip – hand luggage only – where we’ve been away for more than a couple days … so it will be interesting to see how it pans out …

So that is it for now … I’m so excited …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

