Knitting Adventures … Cowls … Scarves & a Shawl …

_MG_7340-1Hey everyone … so today I’m back with another roundup of knitting stuff I’ve done lately … or rather not so lately … I’ve been a bit behind in posting my knitting projects … but will hopefully catch up soon … Anyway this latest batch is a couple of scarves, a couple Cowls and a small shawl …

_MG_3409-1First up is this Drop Stitch pattern scarf … I liked the drop stitch pattern and thought this quick and easy scarf would be a good way to try it out and see how I like it … turns out I like the pattern quite a bit …

_MG_3403-1 _MG_3418-1I’m thinking of other ways of using this to introduce some detail or something to other projects …

_MG_3399-1

_MG_7358-1Next up is this this super bulky cable cowl … (I have been searching for ages but can’t find the pattern again to link to it … if I manage to find it later I’ll link it) …

_MG_7362-1 _MG_7364-1It was supposed to be a longer scarf … but I didn’t have enough yarn to get the length so stopped short and turned it into this chunky cowl …

_MG_7366-1It looks really complicated but the cables were actually really simple once I got into the rhythm of doing them …

_MG_7462-1Having said that the Super Bulky yarn really helped the cables stand out nicely …

_MG_7371-1

This next one doesn’t have a pattern … I kinda just made it up as I went along … I had some really extra bulky super soft yarn I wanted to use up …

_MG_7385-1So I just did a simple Garter cowl … mixed the colours and its actually double thick with a seam along the two long sides before connecting the two shorter ends to make the cowl …

_MG_7453-1Another quick and easy project really … If I had cast on fewer stitches at the start I could have turned it into just one long scarf …

_MG_7467-1

Next up is this really simple and easy one Skein shawl … (again can’t for the life of me find the pattern … will link it later when I find it) …

_MG_7340-1 _MG_7344-1 _MG_7345-1I hadn’t made a shawl before so that was interesting … and the construction of this meant you start at the bottom point and work up adding stitches …

_MG_7348-1 _MG_7354-1 _MG_7350-1This makes it a really easy one for beginners … and the simple lace pattern is reversible so there is no wrong side to the work either …

_MG_7469-1 _MG_7477-1

It’s not the longest shawl and if I were to make it again I’d probably do a few more repeats of the pattern to make it longer … but its still quite versatile … and I love the colour palette of the yarn too …

_MG_7935-1

I loved the pattern in THIS start stitch scarf … I ended up using about 240m of really Super Bulky Yarn on 8mm needles to get this full length scarf …

_MG_7929-1I made a lot of progress on this one when I went to the KNITTING meetup a couple weeks ago … and actually finished it the same night when I got home …

_MG_7931-1

Its really warm and fuzzy …

_MG_7962-1

Anyway … that is it for this batch of knitting stuff …

Till next time …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Cowls … Scarves & a Shawl …

    • Chunky knits are good for when I’m impatient but not so great to actually use in Dubai :S

      The lens is the Canon L 24-70mm f2.8… Seriously that pretty much lives on my camera now… Rarely use anything else

      • Well you can turn the AC up and then use a chunky cowl 🙂 Or just go to one of the malls!

        Hmm, I am always in a dilemma about lenses. I love the 85mm prime lens for clarity but its not very good for much else. Maybe you can I can do a photowalk when the weather gets better?

      • I thought I’d replied to this before but it must have not posted … totally would be up for doing a photo walk once the weather becomes more bearable!

Leave a Reply

