Knitting Adventures … Smocked Vest With Cabled Back …

_MG_7409-1This was one of those projects that took a lot longer than I’d expected but I was really happy once I’d finished it … it didn’t quite turn out the way I had originally planned but I’m not unhappy with it either … it was a good experiment and I learnt alot from the process too … which I guess is what is most important …

I came across THIS very basic pattern which is easily customised for an knitted vest and thought I’d try it out but substituting in a more interesting stitch pattern than simple garter stitch …

_MG_7407-1I ended up using a smocked rib pattern for the bulk of the vest …

_MG_7413-1And added some interest on the back with a thick cable …

_MG_7500-1I had originally intended the vest to be like it showed in the pattern … an open vest cardigan style … but when it was finished it didn’t quite sit right when it was open … so I decided to try seaming it up the front to see how that worked and preferred it …

_MG_7404-1

_MG_7398-1The back piece I had actually knit and finished before we left for Iran … it took about a week but I enjoyed doing it …

_MG_7510-1After we got back I put the project to one side for a while and got on with other things … every now and again I’d come back to this one and start on the long piece that would make up the front sides but for one reason or other I’d mess it up early on and rip it back to start over and then leave it for a while …

_MG_7398-1

In the end I actually started the front pieces for the final time the evening we were leaving for New York … I was at home having finished all the packing and was just waiting for Perry to get back so we could get ready and go to the airport … so of course what I did was cast on the front piece and started knitting it … in the end I brought my knitting on the trip and knit the whole front piece of this vest on the two 14hr flights we had to New York and back … I didn’t do any knitting while in the US but did it all on the plane …

_MG_7512-1I looked into it a bit before going to the airport and it seems most airlines don’t have an issue with the use of knitting needles on planes … but in any case I took cheap plastic needles that were really blunt … also if they did say I couldn’t take them with me I wouldn’t have been too upset at having them taken away …

_MG_7409-1Either way it may have taken me a while to finish this … and even longer to post about it … but I finally got there …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Smocked Vest With Cabled Back …

Leave a Reply

