Knitting Adventures … My First Raglan Sweater …

_MG_3382-1Hey everyone … so guess what??? well you probably already know from the title and picture above … but I made my first Sweater … eek … I found a tutorial for knitting a TOP DOWN RAGLAN SWEATER … I had a great time knitting this and again an amazing learning experience … it wasn’t as difficult as I had thought it might be … and knitting it all in one piece as I went along definitely helped …

One of the main advantages of knitting a sweater in this way (i.e. top down in one piece) is that you can try it on as you go … and considering this is my first time knitting a sweater this was going to be the best way to ensure it fit the way I wanted it to fit …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The pattern I used gives very basic guidelines for what to do … but essentially you use these basic guidelines … and some simple maths to calculate the number of stitches you need to get started …

_MG_3024-1 _MG_3035-1The pattern even offers help for making any number of different modifications as you go along …

_MG_3027-1The first bit was quite simple … just knitting the collar and then starting the Raglan increases …

_MG_3359-1

I used the Gree-Grey variegated yarn I got from Iran … and used almost all of the 5 balls of the stuff on this sweater …

_MG_3050-1Once you’ve knitted up enough of the increases the get the right fit under the arms you split the arms off to be knit later and work on finishing the body …

_MG_3335-1 _MG_3344-1As you can probably tell the yarn I used is a self striping one … which is great as you don’t have to worry about constantly changing colours … the yarn does the work for you …

_MG_3363-1However … I did learn there is a problem with this when I came round to knitting the sleeves …

_MG_3349-1 _MG_3380-1

Because the rows for the sleeves are shorter the yarn takes longer to change colour … so the stripes of colours are thicker on the sleeves than the body of the sweater …

_MG_3367-1

In the end I don’t mind it that much … I’m just happy I finished knitting my first Sweater … I ended up going with a simple 2×2 ribbed cuff on the sleeves, bottom and collar of the sweater to keep it all quite simple …

_MG_3373-1

I had intended on doing more decreases on the sleeves towards the end to have it be a little more fitted … but I got carried away with my knitting and totally forgot about it … but actually it doesn’t look that bad in the finished piece …

_MG_3370-1 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The only other thing I would note is that it isn’t quite as long as I would have liked it to be … I was worried about running out of yarn before I’d finish the piece and if I’d had even one more ball of the stuff I’d have probably made it an inch longer on the sleeves and 2 inches longer on the body … as it is it fits really well and its not too short by any means … I just like my sleeves and the body of sweaters to be a little longer …

_MG_3382-1

As it turned out I did have a little bit of yarn left over at the end … and it ended up being just the right amount to make this HAT

_MG_3386-1

Its a really pretty pattern … and i like how it turned out with the changing colours …

_MG_3389-1

Ok well that is it for this time …

I’ll be back again soon with more knitting updates …

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … My First Raglan Sweater …

  1. Well done! I suppose it would not have been practical if you brought it along yesterday, what with the heat and all. It’s an excellent sweater. Neat raglan, great fit. I’m sure it will serve you well in the winter.

  2. How interesting you started your sweater from the neck downwards – years ago I tried a pattern that meant starting from the waist upwards. This looks much easier and more fun. Well done and I love the hat. All you need now are matching little scarves for your two fur-balls.

Leave a Reply

