Knitting Adventures … Slippers & A Mesh Top …

_MG_2882-1Hey everyone … so this post has been waiting to be written for so long now … literally its been over 2 months since these items were finished and I got the pictures ready … I just either didn’t have time to write the post … didn’t have the energy … or other posts took over in terms of priority … but I’m finally trying to get up to date with my knitting posts and get back on track …

So first up is this free pattern from Lion Brand for COTTAGE SLIPPER SOCKS … basically socks knitted with really thick yarn and worn as slippers … I actually learn’t a lot by knitting these … I learn’t some basic sock making skills … I know making actual socks is a lot more complicated but the basics are covered by this pattern …

_MG_2858-1I also learn’t about striping in my knitting … and I learn’t from all the mistakes I made with that too …

_MG_2866-1

Thankfully the mistakes aren’t too obvious unless you look closely … but these were just for me … I’d have been more annoyed about it if they were meant as a gift … I also learn’t how to knit using the Magic Loop method … seriously its not as hard as it looks … and You Tube is a great resource for videos showing how its done if you want to try it …

_MG_2869-1

The next pair of slippers I knit up were these SLIPPERS FOR HER … using the free Red Hearts knitting pattern … I actually ended up using a totally different yarn to the one recommended in the pattern as I wanted to try out this fuzzy yarn I had … but by using this it pretty much made no difference when the pattern changes to a different type of stitch from Garter to Stockinette … as the fuzz just makes it indeterminable …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The slippers did actually turn out a little smaller than the pattern intended … probably because of the change in yarn … but they still fit … and to stop them falling off too easily I added a little I-Cord band across the middle …

_MG_2940-1

The pattern also suggested adding three knitted flowers and a leaf to each one … but I thought three was going to look too busy and left it at two …

_MG_2924-1

Above … one finished slipper and one ready for assembly … in the end they were really comfy and quick to knit up … only took a couple hours and I wore them around the house all weekend … I was worried they would be quite slippy on the tile but as it turned out they grip pretty well …

_MG_2930-1

Finally for this post … I wanted to share with you this MESH TOP I made pretty much immediately after we got back from Iran … it was another massive learning curve for me making this top … I learn’t a lot from making this … there are several mistakes in the work … but there again not too noticeable unless your looking for it …

_MG_2882-1

It actually turned out a little bigger than I had anticipated … but worn with a belt it actually fits really well and I prefer it this way than the way the pattern shows it  …

_MG_2880-1 _MG_2877-1

This top took about two weeks worth of evenings and weekends of knitting to complete and is the first Garment I have ever knitted …

_MG_2873-1

It was knitted flat all in one piece from back to front …

IMG_20140508_080745 IMG_20140506_131334

I had even shared a few in progress pictures of it on the blog as I was progressing with it without really explaining what it was … but I really liked the simplicity of the repeated mesh stitch pattern …

_MG_2883-1

Even with all the holes its actually incredibly warm …

Anyway that is it for this time …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Slippers & A Mesh Top …

  1. That is a stunningly simple top! Well done! I love the colour-blocking too. Socks, oh socks, oh pretty handknitted socks, how I love thee! Hehehe. As a sock knitter, I congratulate you and welcome you into the fold. Magic loop is the only way I knit socks now, although I try to give my DPNs a chance to show off, I still go back to magic looping. Here’s to more socks in your knitting future! Come and join the local knitting group when you are free!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup Time … From Beaches to Malls … Summer in Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … Latest Batch of Hats … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  4. Pingback: 29 Things To Achieve Before Turning 29 … My Goals for the coming Year … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

