Weekly Roundup … Scuba Diving & Other Happenings …

Its been a bit of a bonkers week actually … work has been pretty full on … although I’ve had a number of those … “I’m so busy where has the time gone” kinda days they haven’t felt all that productive … its quite frustrating really …

Anyway taking a minute to go back to last weekend … we finally did the Scuba Diving Discovery Diving session that we had been wanting to do for a long time … Perry and I had talked about getting PADI qualified for a while now but thought we ought to try it out first before committing to it … in case it didn’t suit us or we struggled with it too much …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAs it turned out Perry really enjoyed it … he’d done it once before 10years ago … but it was my first time … overall I really enjoyed it too and would like to do it again … although I did have a minor freak out in the pool session at one point …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetWe started in the morning with a short classroom session to run over the basics before getting geared up and into the pool for the practice sesson and learning how to use the important bits of gear … how to equalise your ears as you go deeper … etc

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetA couple other things we learned was how to find your regulator and clear it if it comes out your mouth while your underwater and how to clear water from your face mask without having to go back up to the surface …

That was the part that caused me to have a minor freak out moment in the pool … having allergies means my nose is almost always slightly bunged up one side or the other … and to clear your face mask you have to blow air through your nose to get rid of the water … that combined with the fact the instructor kept trying to fill my mask with water from the top was causing me to panic … I’ve never been good with water getting in my eyes … as much as I loved swimming growing up and I loved being underwater all the time … I was never comfortable with water getting into my eyes … I always wore goggles …

Anyway … it took me a few tries to get it after I took some time to calm down … I finally managed to get through the exercise and did it all correctly … the rest of the pool session was fine and I didn’t have an issue with any of it …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetWe then had an hour or so break so Perry and I hung out on the picnic benches by the pool drying off and playing with the resident cat Fay … she is such a sweetie …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Eventually it was time to go and after the van was loaded up with our gear we headed to the beach … carrying all the equipment on our backs to the water was tough … but we managed it ok … the actual diving was good fun …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI managed to go through the whole thing without getting water in my mask so I was happy … visibility wasn’t the best but honestly Perry and I were both surprised by how much we actually did see … having gone into this without any expectation that we would see much it was great …

Processed with VSCOcamOther than that this week has seen the day time temps settle around the 45C mark on a regular basis … I mean when the radio says its a “cooler” day cause were expecting highs of 41 you know its summer time in the desert …

I witnessed this great moment in a hospital car park … I was leaving after a Dr’s appointment when I noticed this (see below) … I mean I know Health and Safety stuff in the UK was sometimes a little over the top … but this is just way too lax …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetOther than that been trying to eat better this week … I’ve been really bad in the last couple months … not eating properly and not eating enough at the same time … its not been a good habit I’ve fallen into … but one evening with a bunch of leftover spinach in the fridge I had eggs on toast for dinner with a difference …

IMG_20140624_141552

Seeded toast with cream cheese … spinach and scrambled eggs on top … really simple but yummy at the same time …

Oh and I am really excited that I started and finished my very first throw/blanket this week … I started this on the weekend and finished it up on Tuesday evening … although I have to say I did spend a lot of time on it … also went through a lot of yarn too … about 10-12 balls in the end I think … I’m planning a blog post about it but it might take a while before it gets posted …

IMG_20140625_122245As for this weekend … well we have a long to do list of things we need to get done … most are pretty mundane but were hoping to enjoy our last opportunity to have lunch out on the weekend … Ramadan is due to start on Sunday so we will have to think about our plans a little more on the weekends to work around it … not a big deal and this will be our third Ramadan in Dubai … also we have guests next weekend so I really want to get a few things done and dealt with before they get here …

Anyway that is it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

One thought on “Weekly Roundup … Scuba Diving & Other Happenings …

  1. Pingback: Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

