Knitting Adventures … Scarf’s & Cowl’s …

_MG_9071-1So far I have knitted up three different scarf’s / cowls in different styles and yarns … and with each one I’ve learnt something new … I’ve made mistakes sometimes these have been easily fixable and other times not so much … but again I am pretty happy with how they have turned out …

The first real scarf that I have knit was this ALL OVER LACE SCARF … I fell in love with the pattern as soon as I saw it … but in all honesty I think it was probably a little bit too advanced for me when I attempted it … having said that I did learn a lot from this scarf and I would like to attempt it again some day hopefully with fewer mistakes …

_MG_8189-1This being a delicate lace scarf any errors show up … but since I decided to use a combination of four fine yarns the mistakes ended up being less noticeable than it would have been if it was all in one solid colour …

_MG_9057-1A few things I learnt with this scarf was keeping count of your stitches is really important … cause its a lace pattern you end up making lots of increases and decreases throughout each row to create the pattern … there were plenty of times where I’d get to the row and find I had one or two extra stitches … this usually happened when it was quite late in the evening or I hadn’t been concentrating on the pattern properly … so its really not one for when your tired … a lace pattern really needs focus …

_MG_9059-1 _MG_9068-1

Another thing to note is that as its a lace pattern it suggests the use of a slightly larger needle than usual for a finer yarn … but as I was holding four strands of the fine yarn together for this it ended up being thicker so I really should have gone up a needle size or two to have bigger gaps to show off the lace pattern better …

_MG_9069-1

Having said all that it was a really fun scarf to knit and I really loved the colour combinations of the yarn … This ended up being a Mothers Day present for my Mum which I gave to her when I saw her in Iran …

_MG_2436-1The second scarf I knit was this GAP-TASTIC COWL scarf … its done in one of my favourite simple stitches … the seed / moss stitch …

_MG_2434-1It was a simple scarf to knit and this was knit in the round … I ended up going though 300m of Super Bulky yarn for this scarf … the mistake I made with this one was I got mixed up with my yarn and the one called for in the pattern … the one in the pattern is a size Chunky while mine was a size bigger at Super Bulky … so my cowl ended up being much longer than the pattern but not as wide cause I ran out of yarn …

_MG_2431-1Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIt was a simple and easy mistake to make but you can be sure I won’t get that wrong next time … in either case for a scaft/cowl its not really that important … it still works for its intended purpose and it is incredibly warm and snuggly …

_MG_2445-1

_MG_2977-1

The third Cowl/Scarf that I made was this HERRINGBONE COWL … I’d seen a video for a different herringbone cowl and I fell in love with the stitch pattern … its so pretty …

_MG_2966-1I found this simple pattern and knitted it up really quickly over a couple of evenings … it really didn’t take too long once I got the hang of it … its a simple two row repeat so it wasn’t too hard to get the hang of …

_MG_2915-1 _MG_2959-1Its warm and snuggly … not that I have much need for scarf’s or cowls in Dubai but its small enough that I can fit it into my handbag and take it to the cinema with me … I always come out of the cinema freezing cold and I’ve already used this cowl a couple times to help keep me warm …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Scarf’s & Cowl’s …

  1. Pingback: Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

