Knitting Adventures … Hat Territory …

_MG_9076-1Hey so I’m back with another roundup of stuff I’ve been knitting in the last couple months … I’ve really enjoyed knitting hats … there is something satisfying in making something that is a little more substantial than a HEADBAND … yet still knits up pretty quickly …

_MG_8185-1The first hat I made was this FAUX CABLE BEANIE … and it was a disaster … I mean it wasn’t the worst thing ever … its still a hat and can still be worn as one … but I managed to mess up on the stitch count and the pattern didn’t work out properly either …

_MG_8187-1

But I was still incredibly happy when I finished it …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The Second hat I knit was this RAINBOW HAT

_MG_9075-1

It was fun … I learn’t how to make little bobbly stitches … and did my first Pom Pom in years …

_MG_9066-1

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hugo kept me company while I knitted it … whereas Derek decided he’d try to fight my yarn at every opportunity …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

_MG_9064-1I was quite happy with how the final thing turned out with this one … its nice and slouchy!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hugo even sat still long enough to model it for me …

_MG_9078-1

Although I think it may have been a little big for his head 😛 … I ended up giving this hat along with another knitting project to my Mum when I saw her in Iran …

_MG_3012-1Another hat I’ve made is this WAVY SLOUCHY MOSS HAT … I fell in love with the pattern as soon as i saw it … it was also a new way of knitting a hat that I hadn’t tried before so I was excited to learn something new with this one …

_MG_2893-1For this hat you first knit the cable portion around the rim on its own … like a headband … and you could stop it there and just wear it as a headband if you wanted … I carried on with the rest of the pattern …

_MG_2889-1Two main new things I learnt in making this stitch was how to do a provisional cast on which you then unpick at the end to join the start and end of the band to create a less noticeable seam … and to pick up stitches to knit the rest of the hat …

_MG_2907-1I also really like how the simple moss/seed stitch pattern looks here … Its not an overly complicated hat and there are so many great videos on YouTube to help with the different techniques you use to make it … seriously not too complicated and it only took me a couple evenings to finish it …

_MG_2986-1_MG_2948-1The final hat on this list is probably the most simple of the lot … so simple infact its called the SIMPLE SLOUCHY HAT … would be perfect as a first hat project as you don’t have to deal with any decreases at the end to shape the top of the hat …

_MG_2952-1The pattern calls for Chunky yarn but I opted to use Worsted (medium) weight with a second strand of a finer mohair type yarn in a constrasting colour to make it look more interesting …

_MG_3019-1I could have made it longer and more slouchy but I ran out of the beige/grey yarn so just ended the hat where I was … its fluffy, soft and would stretch to fit most heads …

Honestly the best thing that’s helped me with knitting is You Tube … its a brilliant tool to learn some of the techniques I’ve picked up in my knitting …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

One thought on “Knitting Adventures … Hat Territory …

  1. Pingback: Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

