Weekly Roundup … Emergency Vet Trips & A Long Week …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetThis week has been a really rough one for me … I’ve spent a lot of it just worrying about Derek … I’ve not been able to sleep properly and so I’m pretty much yawning all the time … things are starting to get better now so I’m hoping this weekend will be a relaxing one …

Last weekend we met up with Stef, Bas and their girls for Brunch at the Pullman in Deira … we had been once before and the food was just as good this time round … its a very relaxed atmosphere which is lovely …

Saturday morning we caught up with Terri and Cliff for breakfast and had a bunch of errands to run throughout the day … and later in that evening we had our second Horse-riding lesson … it was a lot better than the first time when neither of us had a clue what to do … it was blisteringly hot that first time as well as we’d gone in the morning …

This time we opted to go after dark … such a better choice … no sun meant that even though it was still about 34’C outside it didn’t feel anywhere near as draining or warm … actually it even started raining during our session too … not too heavily but it did feel nice as we did laps of the circuit …

Perry and I both finally got the hang of the whole trotting concept … it started to click for me at the end of the first session but Perry got it right at the start of this session … we spent most of the class getting the trot down … its not anywhere near perfect but at least we know what is expected of us …

I’m really looking forward to our next couple of sessions now …

Later after we got home from the Horse-riding lesson and were getting ready to go to bed I noticed Derek was acting rather strange … he kept walking into our bathroom and getting into the litterbox and squat to pee … he’d be sat there for 15secs then he’d walk away and there would be only the tiniest drop of pee … at first I thought maybe I had startled him by walking in … but then he came back and the same thing happened again … I started getting worried and telling Perry about it … by the time he’d done it for the 8th or 9th time within 10mins I was really panicking as I knew this could be a sign of something really serious …

I did a lot of research about cats and what kinds of illnesses they are prone to … specifically male cats cause we were getting boys … and the one thing that kept popping up was Urinary Tract Infections or Cystitis can be extremely life threatening for male cats if not treated quickly …

Anyway after not much discussion we bundled Derek into the cat carrier and headed out the door at 11pm to take him to see the emergency vet … thankfully our Vet clinic has recently become a 24hr centre and is the only on in Dubai … so if you live here and have a pet its worth noting the Umm Suqeim Vet Centre is open 24hrs …

I called them as we were on our way to let them know we were coming and we were seen by a vet immediately … after he was checked over the vet told us she thought he had Cystitis … this can be caused by a number of things … bacterial infection, crystals forming in the urine or inflammation of the bladder … around 50% of the cases are caused by inflammation … so the vet gave him a dose of anti – inflammatory medication and as a precaution a long acting antibiotic before sending us home with some additional meds to help his bladder …

I was told we should bring him back if he doesn’t show signs of improvement in the next day or two … at first it seemed to have helped and he seemed to be using the litter box better but by Tuesday morning I could see he was back to peeing in little drops … so I took him back to see the vet again on my way into work … this time he suggested I leave him with them for the day to see if they can get a urine sample to test and run some blood work to check for bacteria etc …

Thankfully his blood work came back clean so no infection … however he was really dehydrated … the vet noted this was likely caused by the stress of being there as he hadn’t eaten or drunk anything all day and spent the whole time hiding under a blanket … (my heart broke a little when I heard that) … but they did manage to get a little urine sample … again thankfully there were no crystals but there was a lot of blood …

The final diagnosis we got was Cystitis caused by inflammation of the bladder … the vet told me there is no known definitive cause for this and the likeliest reason is stress … I did some research into it after and it seems that some cats are incredibly sensitive to environmental stresses and when they get stressed this can manifest into a physical problem … in this case inflammation of the bladder and cystitis …

We’ve always known Derek is a very sensitive cat … he gets stressed very easily and we are going to have to re-evaluate how we do certain things to make it less stressful for him … we already do most of the suggested things I’ve found online to help reduce environmental stress for cats … but even so I think we are going to have to try some new things too …

In the end we decided for the Vet to keep Derek in overnight so he could be given IV fluids which would hopefully help flush his system, get him re-hydrated and encourage him to pee again … it wasn’t an easy decision as I know how stressed he is being there … but I’d be even more worried about him being at home during the day while I’m at work in-case he got worse and I wasn’t there … also I can’t force him to drink water at home either to help … at least with the vets they will keep a close eye on him the whole time …

I got home after work that day and poor Hugo looked really lost … he wouldn’t leave my side all evening and occasionally would wander round the apartment looking for Derek … its the first time they have been seperated since we brought them home … and the first night Derek hasn’t been with us since he came home …

The whole thing was even more stressful cause Perry was away in Saudi this week for work … I called him regularly to keep him in the loop about what was happening with Derek but it’s not the same as when he is here … in either case I got to bring Derek home yesterday afternoon and Perry got back from Saudi later that same evening …

IMG_20140508_080559It was such a good feeling to wake up this morning with both of them back home …

In other news … I’ve moved my knitting stuff into the spare room and set up Perry’s old desk as my knitting table …

IMG_20140506_131334The boys have been enjoying spending their time in there with me while I knit … I’m currently working on a big-ish project which I’m excited to share once it’s finished … but I took a break from it the other day to start something different on bigger needles to give my hands a little break from the tiny ones …

IMG_20140508_080745I managed to finish one foot of these calf height Cottage Slippers in one evening … just need to do the second foot now …

IMG_20140506_131813That pretty much sums up my week … most of it revolved around worrying about Derek with some knitting thrown in to try and distract me from it … I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend and hoping Derek will get better … we have to take him back to the vets on Saturday for a follow up …

Hope you are all having a better week than I am …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. sorry for rambling on for ages about Derek being unwell … it helped to get it all written down …

2 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup … Emergency Vet Trips & A Long Week …

  1. Pingback: Caturday With Hugo & Derek … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

