Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … A Brief Review Of Our Time In Iran …

_MG_9888-1Wow … well it feels good to be back … I ended up being forced to take a blogging break while we were in Iran … a combination of blocked websites … VPNs that didn’t work and sketchy internet access at certain times … I actually had a few posts lined up for while we were away but it doesn’t matter now … if anything I quite enjoyed the whole not being connected to the internet thing … it was a whole 10days of being almost entirely unplugged from the web … I say almost because Perry and I did have our work emails synced to my Iranian phone … but mostly I just cleared them from my inbox and I think there were only 2 or 3 that needed to be responded to … all in all it was quite refreshing not worrying about checking stuff online/facebook/blog etc for a few days …

Anyways all that means I now have two weeks worth of stuff to include in this roundup … I’ll try to keep it brief …

On the Friday before we left for Iran I had organised a trip to the new Beach Cinema for me and Perry … we’d been wanting to try it out since it opened and since the new Captain America film was out we thought it would be a good one to see … we both really liked the film and I think I may have even preferred it to the original … we also tried out a new Burger place on the beach too ‘The Counter’ was where we ate … yummy burgers … and the Parmesan fries were pretty amazing …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetWe left for Iran on Saturday early afternoon on a little plane from Sharjah Airport …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

When we got to Tehran my Mum and cousin Saghi came to get us from the airport … we had no issues getting through passport control other than the fact that the line for foreigners to enter was the longest I’d ever seen it and moving at a snails pace … but we finally got through … grabbed out bags and headed back to my Auntie Nahid’s home …

So from here on I’ll keep it brief about what we did cause I have a lot of posts and photos to share over the next few weeks … but for now here is a quick rundown of what we got up to …

In Tehran we …

– Had a big party the first night for Perry to meet some members of my extended family (Mum’s side) who are still in Iran … (only some in the photo below)

IMG_1116-1

– Ate lots and lots of yummy food while in Tehran …

_MG_9202-1

– Went to the Big Bazaar in Tehran … and stared at lots of lovely Persian Rugs …

IMG_1146-1– Became obsessed with all things Pomegranate … (more me than Perry) …

IMG_1163-1

– Walked up the local mountain Tochal to the viewing level …

_MG_9726-1

– Went to the top of Borj Milad to the observation deck …

_MG_9888-1

– Where I nearly lost my Headscarf in the wind … (all credit goes to Perry for this picture)

_MG_9959-1– Checked out old Palaces …

_MG_0022-1

– Where Perry kept getting bombarded with ‘Hello welcome to Iran’ from all the school kids around …

_MG_0106-1

– I may have bought a lot of Yarn to fuel my knitting habit … (yes I did get all that stuff on the counter)

IMG_2173-1– We had a lovely lunch at my Cousin Maani’s Cafe …

_MG_0341-1– Spent time wandering around the told parts of Tehran with my Mum and her Cousin to see some of the homes my Mum grew up in …

_MG_0503-1

– Had a picnic on a grassy embankment in the middle of a busy dual carriageway … FYI we were not the only ones and yes this was also a first for me …

_MG_0486-1

– Had lots and lots of Pomegranate related stuff … (I drank almost that whole bottle on my own in an afternoon) …

IMG_2258-1In Shiraz we …

– Ate a lot of food …

IMG_2274-1

– Went to lots of historical Gardens (Bagh’s) …

IMG_2310-1

– Lots of photos were taken …

IMG_2304-1

– We went to Persepolis … (where I spent a lot of the time totally amazed by the sheer number of foreign tourists around)

IMG_2440-1

– We were engulfed by the smell of the Orange Blossoms at the Orange Blossom Garden (Bagh) …

IMG_2526-1

– Pulled silly faces …

IMG_2550-1– We went to lots of Historical Monuments like Hafez’s Tomb (famous Iranian Poet) …

IMG_2378-1

– We went to the Vakil Mosque and Public Baths … (both are now museums)

IMG_3432-1

– We went to the Vakil Bazaar … where I took more photos …

IMG_3479-1

– We ate a lot together as a family (Dad’s side) …

IMG_2664-1

A few other things we did while in Iran not pictured above:

  • Ate a crazy amount of traditional Iranian ice cream …
  • Walked a lot
  • Saw a lot of foreign tourists (things have eased up a lot recently and there are so many more tourists in Iran than I’d ever seen before) … we actually kept bumping into some of the same tour groups over and over again …
  • Perry learnt a few more words of Farsi and his general understanding of the language greatly increased …
  • Hung out with my Grandparents …
  • I almost got myself arrested within hours of arrival (Story for another post) …
  • Enjoyed numerous afternoon naps …

We also came back with two rather full suitcases … they were actually heavier than when we left Dubai which is the first time that has happened to me …

I got a Khatam box (a traditional style of decorating wooden items) …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We were gifted a beautiful Mina-Kari plate (a traditional way of decorating enamel and metal pieces) …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We also bought a small doormat sized Persian Rug … eventually it will probably live near the balcony door in our bedroom … we were gifted a beautiful handmade one over a year ago but whenever we’ve tried to put it out the boys start scratching at it … so we thought we’d get this little one because a) we liked it and also b) to get the boys used to it and get them to stop scratching at it … the boys already love this thing … eventually when we have our own place I’d like to get a couple of larger Persian rugs for our space … but for now this is the start of a small collection we hope to add to over the years …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetFinally we came back with a lot of food stuffs … namely sweets … lots and lots of traditional Iranian sweets …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

As for what we have been up to this week since getting back … well we were pretty much all unpacked the day we landed … its one of my pet hates leaving my suitcase unpacked … it bugs me so its pretty much the first thing I do when I walk in through the door … Perry’s been helping with dinners and stuff now that he is back in Dubai (although not sure for how long) … I had a couple more dentist appointments (one more and I’m finished) and I’ve managed to get through editing over 800 pictures (narrowed down from over 4,500) in less than three evenings …

We’ve not got too much planned for this weekend … I’ve booked us our first Horse-riding class for Saturday morning which I’m looking forward to … but other than that we are just hoping to relax and catch up on sorting out some things we put off until after this trip …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

