Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Catching Up With Friends … Knitting & A Weekend Away …

Hey everyone … its been a busy week and I feel like the days have just flown by … it probably helped that I’ve been out for one reason or another pretty much every evening this week … but I’ll start back with a recap of last weekend …

Last Friday was Perry’s Parents last full day with us and so we too them to AL AIN ZOO for a day out … you can read more about what we got up to by following the link …

_MG_6698-1 _MG_7016-1 _MG_6859-1Saturday morning Perry’s Parent’s left early in the morning and we eventually woke up to take our car to be repaired … it was a bit of a faff but we got it to the repair garage finally and made our way back home via a pit stop at Dubai Mall …

Perry was back off to Abu Dhabi again on Sunday … and I had a busy week catching up with friends … and a couple more visits to the Dentist … I’m starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel now … in any case I caught up with Stef and her girls on Monday after work … I had knitted a trial headband for the girls and Franka tried it out for me to see if it would fit …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I think she looks so adorable … Mina tried it too but wasn’t in the best of moods so no photo of her wearing it yet … I’m not working on making one for her and an adult version for Stef … 🙂

I also caught up with Terri on Tuesday evening over dinner … it was lovely to see her again after over a month … we both had visitors over and since the last time I saw her she has since gotten engaged which is really exciting … all in all it was a lovely evening … although it did get interrupted with a flurry of work calls and emails towards the end of the night …

Such is the problem when you work for a company headquartered in the USA … when you leave work they’ve just started their day so when things get busy on the job, work calls in the evenings tend to become a regular thing …

The weather this week has been kind of crazy … the first few days were lovely and sunny and then yesterday morning I woke up to the sound of rain on the windows … honestly it took me a moment to realise what the noise was when I woke up … and it didn’t let up all day … we even had a lovely puddle on the balcony (kinda hard to see in the picture) …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThankfully the weather has turned sunny again today but the news reported over 700 car accidents happened yesterday because of the rain … which is kind of insane!

I also finished knitting my first hat this week … its not perfect and I think I dropped a few stiches along the way but it was great practice and it felt good getting it finished … this is the rather cheesy picture I whatsapp’d my Mum and Brother after it was done …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

I have a long list of knitting projects I want to try next … gonna keep to some of the more simple/quick projects till I get a better handle on the stitches and tension (which is surprisingly tricky to get right) … before I start on a more complex/time consuming project … although I have a couple of those lined up to try too … I’m planning on getting some knitting yarn while in Iran too … I can’t find much variety here and having it shipped is ridiculously costly …

Finally this weekend Perry and I are off to Doha for a couple days … we leave later this evening … and I’m really looking forward to getting away together … we are kind of considering it our little ANNIVERSARY trip away … this year and last year we actually people staying with us on our anniversary so it will be nice to just get away … unwind and see somewhere new together …

And I hope by the time we get back Dubai will have figured out what it wants to do about the weather and stick to it …

Wishing you all a lovely weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

Leave a Reply

