28 Before Turning 28 …

So in 6 months time I’ll be turning 28 … which is kinda scary as I’ll be heading into the late 20’s stage of my life … and there is still so much I want to do before I turn 28 … so I’ve decided to put together this list of 28 things I want to do before I turn 28 … I’ve tried to keep it realistic and attainable but I still want it to feel like a challenge … some of them will be easier/quicker to do and others will be more long term/ongoing goals …

Either way I hope that by sharing this list here and making it public it will hold me more accountable and push me to try achieve them all before my Birthday …

  1. Take some portraits of Perry, Myself and the Boys … I did some in 2012 when Hugo & Derek were still kittens and I feel bad that I didn’t take any last year, so its definitely one for this list … 1
  2. Get to a healthy weight … I’ve been battling with weight issues a bit over the last few years and while I choose not to share that sort of stuff online it is my goal to get to a healthy weight where I feel comfortable with myself again … I have no illusions that I will ever be ‘skinny’ and that is not what I am going for … I just want to be the healthiest version of myself that I can be …
  3. Organise our Paperwork and Bookcases … Our bookshelf and drawers have become incredibly cluttered lately so I’m looking forward to spending a couple days sifting through, organising and decluttering our stuff …3
  4. Ski Dubai … we’ve been here over two years and still haven’t been to Ski Dubai … its time this changes …4
  5. Visit a Waterpark … I love waterparks and as the weather gets warmer it’ll be a great way to do something outdoors without overheating …5
  6. Sky Dive … I’ve been wanting to do a Sky Dive since I was 14 … and I just need to stop saying ‘I’ll do it someday’ and just go and do it …
  7. Have a complete online backup for all my Photos … I’m currently working on uploading my back catalog of photos online so incase anything happens I will always be able to access them … one of my biggest fears is loosing all my photos without any way of recovering them … I’ve already started this one but its an ongoing battle …
  8. Create a Photo Book for my Europe Interail Trip from 2009 … I did two big trips in the summer of 2009 … Europe interailing and Japan … I did a photo book for Japan but never got round to doing one for Europe … and its been on my to do list for ages …8b
  9. Sell my Photography equipment I no longer need/use … In the last year or so I’ve noticed I’ve really narrowed down what equipment I use on a regular basis and what I barely need/use anymore … so it’s time I decluttered and sold my gear that I no longer use …
  10. Visit Doha … Perry and I already have a weekend trip to Doha planned for the end of this month as an Anniversary weekend getaway …
  11. Abu Dhabi Grand Mosque … again we have been here all this time and I haven’t stepped foot in a mosque … and the Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi is supposed to be amazing …11
  12. Learn to Knit … I know wooly clothing is not exactly needed in Dubai but I’ve always been intrigued to learn how to knit …
  13. Go Ice Skating … Been wanting to go to the ice rink at the mall for ages … don’t really know why we haven’t been yet …
  14. Take Perry to Iran … trips already booked but I really can’t wait to take him … again something I’ve been wanting to do for years and I’m glad we’re finally making it happen …14
  15. Scuba Diving … I want to at least take a trial lesson to see if its something I am even comfortable with … but I’d love to get my PADI certification eventually …
  16. Pick Your Own Farm Abu Dhabi … there is a farm in Abu Dhabi where you can go pick your own organic fruit and veg … again something that’s been on my to do list for absolutely ages …
  17. Fix all my Dental Issues … Already started on this but am looking forward to getting it all over and finished … I’ve also learned the value of having a great dentist vs one that manages to cause more harm than good …
  18. Swim at the Beach … I’ve never been much of a beach person but I’d like to go for a proper swim at the beach one morning …18
  19. Read at least 3 books between now and my Birthday … shouldn’t be too hard but life gets in the way when you want to read … so I’m going to try and keep this one realistic …
  20. Visit Al Ain Zoo … I’ve heard its one of the best in the region … and I love animals so I’d love to go …
  21. Take photos of Hugo & Derek with my SLR at least once a month … I used to take lots of pictures of them with my ‘proper camera’ in 2012 … but somehow that happened less often in 2013 and those are some of my favourite pictures of them … so I’m planning on making sure I take more …21
  22. Keep up with our Savings to meet our monthly goals … again not something I’m planning on sharing too much about or going into details online … but we have plans to save a certain amount each month and my target is to keep on top of that … another one of those ongoing items …
  23. Try to let go of control more … I have this need to control situations, to have plans and know whats going to happen … I’m trying to let it go more often and not let it bother me too much if things don’t go according to plan …
  24. Go Horse Riding … something I’ve wanted to try since I was a child … but I’ve found an equestrian centre in Dubai that do introductory classes … so I plan on giving those a go soon …
  25. Dubai Miracle Garden … it opened up last year but we missed the opportunity to go before the weather got too hot … I’m determined to go this year …
  26. More Date Nights with Perry … kinda self explanatory … more quality time with Perry beyond just sitting on the sofa binging on Netflix … (nothing wrong with that but its nice to get out too) …Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  27. Unplug from the Internet once a week for at least half a day … I admit totally going without internet access is quite a hard ask … but I figure we can do with properly unplugging for half a day each week …
  28. Keep Blogging … I honestly can’t believe I’ve managed to keep it up for as long as I have … by the time I turn 28 I’ll have been doing this blogging thing for over 3 years … I’ve never considered myself much of a writer (still don’t) and I always struggled to keep a diary when I was younger even though I loved the idea of them … so the fact that I’ve kept going with the blog even when I haven’t felt like it feels like a massive personal achievement for me … I plan to keep going …

So that is my list … some will be easier than others … some will be more fun and others will be just plain tough … but I hope to be able to cross all of these off by the time I turn 28 … I’ll be sure to do a recap post after my birthday to see how things have panned out between now and then …

I’ve also set up a separate page on the Blog HERE (you can also find it in the Menu bar at the top) where you can follow along and see which targets I manage to do … I’ll link to any relevant blogs posts I do as well as I go along … with a final roundup after my Birthday …

Do any of you do a similar list each year? What would be something you’d have on your list?

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “28 Before Turning 28 …

Leave a Reply

