Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Green Tea … Dentists & Some New Furniture …

Hey everyone … its been a busy week … which is actually good cause it means for the first time it hasn’t felt like this week’s been dragging … last weekend was pretty busy round here too … Perry and I did a massive batch of bolognase which meant breaking out the mega massive cooking pot that usually lives in the back of our cupboard … the previous tenants left it behind and we only use it once ever 2-3 months when making a massive amount of one dish …

I basically made up a bunch of ready made shephards pies and lasagna’s for the freezer and still had plenty of leftover sauce to freeze on its own for pasta dishes or other things later … we’ve found cooking one or two dishes in bulk (especially sauces like bolognase that can be used in more than one way) really helps ease the load on cooking every day of the week … and helps reduce the temptation of ordering something in when your feeling lazy …

However, I did somehow manage to overestimate how much space we had in the freezer to fit everything … but thankfully it all worked out OK and we managed to make it work … it did involve removing all the freezer drawers and re-packing everything in like a game of Tetris though … and it has made us really seriously think about getting a small chest freezer …

In other news a couple weeks ago just before I left for SHIRAZ to see family and attend my cousin’s WEDDING … we took delivery of two custom built bits of furniture … the idea came from one of our trips round Dubai Mall when we spotted something similar in one of the furniture stores … we contacted a local carpentry company and designed the furniture based on what we had seen modifying it to suit what we had wanted …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe first unit is all drawers in 3 different sizes and styles … and for the second unit I suggested to Perry that it could have a hidden desk type thing … we’ve been wanting to move his desk space out of the spare room for a while now and that Ikea desk we got was always supposed to be a short term thing … so Perry tweeked the design for the second unit and now they are both sitting in our dining room …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI have to say they are much bigger than I thought they would me … for scale my head comes up to just under the top row of drawers on the unit to the right … oh and those folding out panels for the desk are incredibly strong … the units are also really heavy so no risk of tipping over if you lean on the table a little either …

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe weather this week has been really hit and miss … the start of the week was nice and sunny with plenty of warmth … while the last couple days has seen some pretty intense fog around here …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetVisibility was especially bad this morning on my way to work … pulled into the petrol station and I couldn’t even see the road …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Yesterday I had another trip to the dentists … which actually wasn’t the worst one … it was a relatively short visit compared to my last one … and I didn’t feel too groggy coming off the anesthetic after … however, I do always find it hard to eat proper solid food after so I turn to soup … this time I had bought too much broccoli at the weekend so made myself some Broccoli and Cheddar soup … no real recipe just made it up as I went along … turned out pretty good actually …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAnother discovery I made this week was to do with these really intense headaches I used to get … for the last couple of months I was getting some really bad headaches … to the point where I couldn’t look at my screen anymore … and I couldn’t leave work either due to my fear of not being able to drive safely because of it … so I’d lay my head on the table until the feeling passed … then a couple days ago I had a Jasmine Green Tea in the morning while answering my emails and before I’d even finished the mug the same headache hit me again like a brick wall …

It was only then that I realised I hadn’t had any Green Tea in a couple weeks and also no headaches … I don’t have the same problem with Green Tea at home so I think its combination of the tea and staring at the computer screen that is causing the headaches … but honestly I’m glad that is all it is … I was worried my eyesight was going funny …

That is pretty much it for what happened this week … Hugo and Derek are booked in to go see the Vet’s tomorrow morning for their vaccinations … and we have an Ikea trip lined up for the weekend … other than that it will be nice to just take things a little easy and get things ready for when Perry’s parents arrive on Monday …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Green Tea … Dentists & Some New Furniture …

  1. Sorry we won’t be coming on Monday as you cannot offer us wall to wall sunshine like Doha at present , let us know when the weather changes!, Only joking really looking forward to seeing you all Dad x

Leave a Reply

