PANDAS!!!

Hello and welcome to the first of my posts about our time in Hong Kong / Macau … I’m starting a little off on a tangent today … normally I post our trips in a chronological order but I really couldn’t wait to post this one … this part of our trip was probably the biggest highlight of our trip for me … so without further a do …

On our only full day in Macau we started off the morning by hopping onto a bus and heading to the complete opposite end of the city … over the bridge and to the area called Coloane …

One thing I have to say here is that generally speaking I love taking public transport … especially if I go somewhere new … I think its great cause you get to know a place better and it forces you to be aware of your surroundings to be sure you’re going the right way … its all to easy to hop in a taxi and ask the driver to take you where you want to go without really having to think much about it … at least that’s how I feel about it …

Anyway Perry and I appeared to be the only non locals on the bus that morning … which was fine … I ended up sat next a lovely Chinese man on the bus who was looking over my shoulder the whole way at the map I was holding … I was trying to follow where the bus was going so I could figure out when to get off … it soon became apparent that there were more bus stops on the route than were shown on the map … at one point I was talking to Perry about where we were and how many stops I thought it would be until we got to our destination … while pointing at bits of the map … when the guy next to me started talking to me in Chinese and pointing at the map …

Then with a combination of Cantonese (him) … English (me) (neither of us understood each other) and the universal language of pointing repeatedly at points on a map … I figured out he was trying to tell me we had 3 stops left before we had to get off the bus … in the end he was really helpful and a very sweet man … he even pushed the bus stop buzzer for us to make sure we got off at the right place …

So where is this place that we were heading to? Well we went to the Seac Pai Van Park … where the main thing to see is the Giant Panda Pavilion … They have two Giant Panda’s here and since I found out about it … this jumped to the top of my list of things to do while we were here … I did get a bit stupidly excited about the whole thing … and I think Perry really enjoyed watching me be all goofy about it …

I have a thing for Panda’s … I pretty much have a thing for most adorable animals … and I’d never seen a Panda before … so I was really excited … and it turned out to be great … both of them were out … they are called Kai Kai and Xin Xin … when I looked on their WEBSITE (its a terrible website layout) it did say there is a chance they may be sleeping and not out … but we got lucky and they were both out … one was asleep in the corner and the other was in the outside area pottering around … and posing up a storm … he also eventually fell asleep …

It was great cause the place was really quiet that day … only a handful of other people around and tickets were a lot less than I’d expected … $10 MOP (about 5 AED, or 1 GBP, or 1.30 USD) each … we both really enjoyed it … and I would totally recommend it to anyone who is going to be in Macau … GO SEE THE PANDAS!!!

_MG_5884-1 _MG_5886-1 _MG_5892-1 _MG_5896-1 _MG_5901-1

Sleepy up in the corner …

_MG_5920-1 _MG_5905-1 _MG_5923-1 Just waddling along … being all cute and stuffs …

_MG_5926-1 _MG_5933-1 _MG_5950-1 _MG_5958-1 _MG_5961-1All those people you see in the background make up the grand total of all the people who were there that day … Macau was pretty busy pretty much everywhere else we went … but here it was really lovely and quiet …

_MG_5968-1 _MG_5974-1 _MG_5979-1 _MG_5993-1They actually put Googly Eyes on this hedge shaped like a Swan so people would know its supposed to be an animal … made us chuckle …

_MG_5998-1Oh and we couldn’t exactly leave without me getting a cuddly toy Panda from the gift shop!

_MG_6001-1 _MG_6004-1Next on my list of adorable animals I’d love to see are Orangutans … When I was planning on doing a GAP year (didn’t do one in the end) I wanted to go volunteer with a group that were working on Orangutan conservation … its still something I’d love to do someday …

I’ll be back soon with more updates and pictures from the rest of our time in Macau …

Till next time …

Mina X

9 thoughts on “PANDAS!!!

  1. Pingback: Hong Kong … Tsim Sha Tsui … The Avenue Of Stars & Dim Sum … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Hong Kong … Kowloon Park & Street Markets … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Hong Kong … Lantau Island – Ngong Ping Village … Big Buddha & Cable Cars … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  4. Pingback: Hong Kong … Lantau Island – Tai O Village … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  5. Pingback: NEW YEARS EVE … Hong Kong … Central – Victoria Peak – Fireworks … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  6. Pingback: The Venetian … & Wandering Around Taipa … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  7. Pingback: Old Macau Wanderings … St Paul’s Ruins & Stuff … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  8. Pingback: Our Adventures 2013 Yearbook … Creating With Blurb … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  9. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … Ski Dubai … Travel Plans … Getting Stuck … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

