Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Movies & Censorship … A Week Without Perry … & Cirque Du Soleil …

Hey everyone … Weekly Roundup time again … its been a really busy few days … especially with Perry being in Abu Dhabi … and considering how late he’s been working already most days I’m even more glad that he isn’t doing the drive home every night … its a stressful drive at the best of times and I wouldn’t want him doing it while tired …

Anyway last Friday we went to see the Cirque Du Soleil Michael Jackson Immortal World Tour at the Dubai World Trade Centre … it was so much fun and we had a great time … it was the first Cirque Du Soleil show we had seen … and some of the stuff was just incredible … I’m looking forward to seeing some of their other shows now too …

20140113-143554.jpgWe weren’t sure what seats to get cause neither of us had been to this Arena before … but as it turns out slightly up and to the side of the stage … where we were sat … was actually pretty good to be able to see everything … its really not that big an arena … atleast its really not big when compared to London venues for shows … so you pretty much see everything wherever you sat …

20140113-143505.jpgAfter the show Perry and I wandered into one of the exhibition halls next door where there was an outlet sale going on … long story short … an hour and quite a bit of browsing later we left with shoes, a jacket and shorts … unexpected but successful shopping moment really …

20140113-143536.jpgWe rounded off the night with a meal at Burger Fuel … really yummy burgers and the fries are amazing …

20140113-143835.jpgThe rest of our weekend was pretty easy going … Perry was out with friends on Saturday evening and didn’t get back till late … and on Sunday as we had the day off … we ran some errands and while we were at Dubai Mall went to go see the movie The Wolf On Wall Street … We both really wanted to see the film … and while we were getting our tickets from the ticketing machine we saw this sign …

20140113-143453.jpgCensorship in movies over here is not that uncommon … but usually its only one or two scenes or a couple of muted words and it really isn’t too intrusive … most of the time you don’t realise it either … however the fact that the cinema had to put up a sign to warn of the censorship during the film should have been a big hint of what was to come …

The whole film was so heavily censored to a degree I had never seen before … it was so distracting I kept count … there were over 40 scene cuts and over 80 muted words throughout the film … and those were only the ones I picked up … there were really key moments of the movie that were affected as well … for example a scene would be calm and the characters would be talking and then the next thing you know its a full blown argument … your just left sitting there wondering what information your missing …

I also later found out that the film was supposed to be 3hrs long but the version we saw was actually cut in length by around 45mins … I understand why for cultural/religious reasons why the government here would want to censor some parts of the film … but in all honesty I think if they are going to butcher the film that much then just don’t show it in the UAE …

Anyway the rest of this week has just been manic busy with work for me … and even more so for Perry … we’ve been able to talk/Facetime every evening to catch up … but I’m just really looking forward to seeing him this evening … I’ve not had the best week and I’ve not been sleeping that well … thankfully the boys have been great at not waking me up in the mornings and have allowed me to sleep longer than they normally would …

There was a bunch of administrative issues I had to deal with for work and other stuff this week as well as doing my job … so its been pretty hectic … I still have to make a trek to the bank later this afternoon … but I’m looking forward to not having to deal with anymore bureaucratic annoyances … at least for the weekend … I still have stuff to sort out with my Emirates ID and my Driving licence …  but that will be next week’s problem …

As for what we are doing this weekend … well I’m not really too sure … I’d love to sort out our spare room … it gets me all anxious when I walk in there and its a mess with paperwork everywhere … I’ve avoided dealing with it all week as I haven’t had the energy to tackle it after work … but hopefully between the two of us we can get it organised this weekend …

That is pretty much it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

