Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … EXPO 2020 … Weekend Away … & Other Bits

Well it’s been a good week … to be honest it wouldn’t take much to top last week … just the fact that I wasn’t bed bound with the worst sore throat / cold / flu type thing I’ve had in years … meant it was a good week … There’s been rain … sunshine and lots of clouds too … it’s almost December and even better … the weekend …

Last Friday Dubai was covered by a massive dark grey cloud … it rained a lot that day … more so than we have ever seen since moving here …

20131128-090806.jpgIt didn’t really matter much to us as Perry and I went to brunch at the Pullman in Diera with Stef, Bas and their twin girls … it was really so much fun … the brunch is a relatively quiet affair but with everything you could want and the food was pretty awesome too …

20131128-090844.jpg 20131128-090826.jpg 20131128-090815.jpgIt was really relaxed and the girls were incredibly well behaved … both of them seem to have adapted well to the Dubai Brunch Lifestyle … steadily munching their way through an array of vegetables … breads and chicken nuggets …

20131128-090901.jpg 20131128-090835.jpg 20131128-090911.jpgAlthough we had to use napkins as drop cloths around baby Mina … she ate well but decided to usually throw half of what she was eating on the floor … this is what Brunch with a couple 1 year olds tends to look like …

20131128-090933.jpgThey were so well behaved … no tears or tantrums all afternoon … and they are both just about finding their feet so we had a lot of fun (and exercise) chasing after them around the restaurant towards the end … the freezer section was especially fun with the different Ice Creams …

20131128-090853.jpg 20131128-090954.jpgAfter brunch Perry and I headed to Dubai Mall where it appears they were having leaking issues out front …

20131128-091112.jpgWhile at the mall I spotted this card which made me laugh … the irony was great considering it was the rainiest day in Dubai for over 2 years …

20131128-090758.jpgSaturday was a relatively relaxed day … the rain stopped but the clouds were still around in full force … made for some pretty skies though …

20131128-091131.jpgI had to run a few errands and take Onyx (our foster cat) to the adoption day … I really hoped he’d find his forever home that day … but it seemed luck was not on his side and I had to go back in the afternoon to collect him … he has since gone back to his previous foster home (since we were only taking over while the guy was away on a work trip) until he finds his new forever home … he is such a little sweetheart, loved human interaction but doesn’t get on well with other cats … so we couldn’t introduce him to our boys …

I’ve still been feeling under the weather this last week … I’m not quite 100% recovered from whatever it was I had last week … I never made it to the Dr’s so I’m not really sure what it was I had … but Perry was a great help and sorted out dinner a couple nights … he was especially proud of the rice he made … especially the crispy ‘Taadig’ … the golden crust of crunchy rice … its yummy …

20131128-091120.jpgI know I missed the actual date by a couple weeks but its now been over a year since I cut my HAIR FOR CHARITY … its incredible to see how much it has grown over the last 12 months … and I think I’m probably about another 6-8 months away from having my hair back to the length it was before I cut it …

Hair Cut EditsFirst (L) – is the before, Second – next is freshly cut, Third – six months down the line, Fourth (R) – 12 months after snip … I had around 13 inches chopped off and I’ve grown back almost 8 so far … I’ve thought about cutting it short again … but I’m not sure I keep going back and forth on it …

20131128-091138.jpgIn other news yesterday it was announced that Dubai has one the right to host the World EXPO 2020 … which is great news for the economy … as its expected all different industries will benefit … especially housing, tourism/hospitality and construction … that last one is good news for Perry and me and that’s our industry … below is the video explaining the master plan for the EXPO and what Dubai plans to achieve …

It sounds pretty epic … although I have to say I’m not looking forward to the worsening traffic that is likely to be a result of all the new people moving to Dubai over the next few years … currently predicting over 250,000 people … and for a city with a population of just over 2 million … that’s a 12.5% increase in the population in a very short space of time …

That pretty much covers this week … as for the weekend … well Perry and I are off to Abu Dhabi tomorrow for a night at the Shangri-La hotel there … its one of the two weekends away that Perry won in a radio contest back in June … we used the other one over the summer and thought we’d make the most of it and go this weekend too … As it’s the UAE’s 42nd National Day on Monday … we have an extended weekend so Sunday is a day off too …

Sunday also happens to be the 1st of December … and that is Hugo & Derek’s birthday … our little kittens are going to be 2 … they were so tiny when we brought them home and now they are giant balls of fluff … honestly I can barely remember not having them around … they are so loving and bring us both so much joy … just one little look at their fluffy faces and you cant help but smile … we haven’t quite decided what we’re going to do on their birthday yet … but I think I’ll probably skip making them birthday hats this time … they weren’t too fond of it LAST YEAR

Oh and to top it all off today is also my Baby Brothers Graduation … I’m really sad I can’t be there to celebrate with him but will have to make it up to him over Christmas … he’s not really a baby anymore but it does make me feel a bit old if I think about it too much …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

