Fresh Pasta & Roasted Tomato And Pepper Sauce …

This weekend I fancied making some fresh pasta … it had been a while since I had last made any pasta from scratch … but I hadn’t had the best results using plain flour previously and I recently I found some Type ’00’ Pasta flour and I wanted to give that a go and see if it would make any difference …

I think a combination of the type of flour and kneading the dough for a long time made the end result that much better this time round … I made a double batch and used the half to make dinner on Friday night …

The basic pasta recipe I used was a simple 100g flour to 1 egg ratio … so I made up a batch using 400g flour and 4 eggs which was supposed to be enough for 4 people … but after making up and cooking half the batch there was plenty for three people … I guess it just depends how hungry the people you are cooking for are …

So first up weigh up the flour and make a well in the middle and add the eggs (beat them a bit before to combine before adding to the flour) …

20131102-125031.jpgThen start mixing the flour and eggs together and once a rough dough forms tip out onto a clean work surface and knead it for a good 10-15mins … I had a TV show playing on my laptop while I was kneading so it didn’t feel like it took that long …

20131102-125021.jpgOnce you have a nice smooth dough you need to wrap it in cling film and leave in the fridge to rest for 30-60mins … once rested roll it out onto a floured surface … and start to feed it through the pasta machine through the different thickness settings getting thinner up to the thickness you need it to be …

20131102-125007.jpgI went up to level 4 on our pasta machine … you can also roll it all out by hand and cut it up with a knife if you don’t have a pasta machine at hand …

20131102-124954.jpgIt’s also a good idea to dust with flour after each roll to stop the pasta sticking to itself too much … once its at the right thickness I then passed it through the cutter to get the tagliatelle shape and hung them on hangers to dry a little before cooking them …

20131102-124943.jpgAs for the sauce … I had a bunch of vegetables in the fridge so I decided to do a Roasted Tomato and Pepper sauce … the ingredients were:

  • Roughly 500g tomatoes
  • 4 Bell Peppers (I used a mixture of Orange, Yellow and Red)
  • 4 large cloves of Garlic
  • 2 Onions (I used one red and one white cause its what I had)
  • A little spray oil
  • Chicken Stock
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Dried Basil & Oregano (about a teaspoon or two of each)
  • 1 Can of Tomatoes chopped
  • Fresh Basil
  • Quarter of a Lime

First I chopped up the Tomatoes, Onions and Peppers and roasted them with the Garlic in roasting trays sprayed with a bit of Oil and sprinkled with Salt, Pepper, Oregano and Basil … and roasted in the oven for about 30mins … my oven wasn’t big enough to roast the two trays side by side so I switched them round half way through and gave the veg a bit of a stir around …

20131102-125053.jpgOnce it was all roasted I blended all the vegetables with a tin of tomatoes and Chicken Stock (you can also use veg stock) … I didn’t want the final sauce to be too smooth so blitzed it briefly to leave it slightly chunky …

20131102-125114.jpgAt this stage I added the juice of a quarter of a lime … you don’t really need to add this but when I tasted the sauce I felt it needed the sharpness … and you don’t really taste the lime in the final dish …

20131102-124912.jpgSo we got some salted water boiling and while the pasta was cooking I chopped up some fresh basil and added it to the sauce while warming it through …

20131102-124902.jpgOnce the Pasta is cooked drain and put back in the pan with a tablespoon of oil and half the sauce … mix it up and add more sauce if you like … we added about 3/4 of the total amount of sauce to our pasta …

20131102-124852.jpgThen all that is left is to serve it up with plenty of cheese and a sprig of Basil …

20131102-124843.jpgIts a really simple recipe and if you leave out the dried basil and oregano from the roasting and add some red chilli flakes when you blend it would make a lovely salsa dip for tortilla chips … also any leftovers freeze well for later …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

