Monday Links For The Week … Halloween & A Long List …

Well the weeks are just flying by now … it’s crazy October is almost over and were less than 2 months away from Christmas … eek … how did that happen??? It seems like only yesterday when we had Perry’s family over for a visit … except that was a year ago …

Thankfully we got the car back this weekend and celebrated by going to Ikea … well actually the plan had been to go to the cinema at Festival City after some dinner but there was a technical problem so they couldn’t show the film we wanted to see … so in the end we thought we’d pop into Ikea for one of two items I knew we needed … before we knew it 2 hours had passed and we were walking out with bags and bags of stuff … it always happens …

While there have been a lot of different pumpkin carving ideas floating around the internet lately I did think this one was rather fitting … and it is probably a more scary prospect than a traditional jack-o-lantern …

526560abe4b01(SOURCE)

Anyway here are the rest of this week’s links … basically a random collection of things I’ve been enjoying over the last few days …

  1. WHAT WAS IT LIKE TO TRAVEL TO IRAN WITH ANDY WARHOL IN 1976 … an interesting read from a different perspective … I always find it fascinating to hear about what people think of Iran after they have visited (be it before or after the revolution) …
  2. AM I DRIVING SAFELY? … this is such a regular occurrence in the UAE that in reality I am more surprised when I don’t come across drivers like this on a journey than when I do …
  3. PEANUT BUTTER AND FUDGE OATMEAL COOKIES … I made a batch of these for the Twins 1st Birthday party we went to this weekend … although I didn’t have enough chocolate to make the fudge topping so I just added Chocolate chips to half the mixture … they turned out delicious and as someone commented they taste like snickers … really yummy and quick to throw together …
  4. 24 HONEST SLOGANS SHOW HOW WE REALLY FEEL ABOUT FAMOUS COMPANIES … I have to say I do agree with a lot of these …
  5. 12 HILARIOUS ANIMALS TOTALLY FREAKING OUT … these are just too cute … number 7 is just beyond adorable … and number 10 is totally Derek when he’s stalking my hand under the covers (and it’s a Scottishfold too in the GIF) …
  6. iPHONE 4 AND 4S CROSS STITCH CASE … such a cute idea for the iPhone owner who is a little crafty too ..
  7. 10 VALUABLE TIPS FOR WHEN YOUR IN AN AIRPORT … because sometimes people need a little reminder … I’m still surprised that number 9 happens all the time … there is always someone …
  8. AVOCADO SPRING ROLLS RECIPE … this sounds so yummy … and I’ve had spring roll wrappers sat in my wardrobe for ages … I think I’ll be giving this one a go soon … although I’ll probably substitute the Tofu for Chicken … I’m not a massive fan of the Tofu …
  9. UN AD CAMPAIGN USES GOOGLE SUGGESTIONS TO SHOW WHAT THE INTERNET THINKS ABOUT WOMEN … Pretty sad to see this …
  10. A VISUAL SYMMETRY BETWEEN LANDSCAPES AND DESIGNER BRANDS … this is stunning … love how they just blend together so seamlessly … almost like they are meant to be there …
  11. EGGS ON CRISPY TORTILLA AND HOMEMADE ROASTED SALSA … This is next up on my list of recipes to try … sounds scrummy …
  12. HOMEMADE VANILLA EXTRACT … I picked up some vanilla pods when I was down at the SPICE SOUK the other week just so I could make some of this stuff … its so expensive to buy vanilla extract and so easy to make your own … so why not!
  13. QUINOA CHILLI … another one of those dishes that sounds so good … we love chilli at home … and I’m looking forward to trying this one … I really like Quinoa but have only really had it in salads … so have been looking for ways to try and incorporate it into more hot foods …

That is it for this week … a bit of a long list this time …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Monday Links For The Week … Halloween & A Long List …

Leave a Reply

