Thursday Links for the Week … A Makeshift Dining Table & Administrative Nightmares …

It’s just been one of those weeks … I’ve had to deal with a lot of administrative and logistical issues this week … Since I changed my surname the first thing I had to do was to get a new Residency visa in my updated Passport, and new Emirates ID … This involved a lot more hassle than it needed too … but I will get to that in a minute …

First lets start with last weekend … Thursday evening we met up with friends for dinner at the Atlantis hotel … it was a lovely evening and great to catch up with Terri and Cliff … we hadn’t really seen each other since the early part of the summer so it was wonderful to finally get a chance to see them properly …

We generally spent the weekend at home … I had a bunch of things around the apartment I wanted to tidy up and sort out before our guests started to arrive … and due to a work emergency Perry spent most of the weekend working … We did pop out for some dinner on Friday evening … and on Saturday Perry cooked me a yummy dinner … and even constructed a makeshift dining table …

20131003-101411.jpgAfter dinner we just sat on the sofa in the dinning room area … turned the lights off and enjoyed the views whilst sipping our drinks and reminiscing about our lives together … this week marked two years since we moved to Dubai …

20131003-101356.jpgIt was great to just take the time to sit there and talk to each other about things we hadn’t really thought about … and to talk about what we are looking forward to in the next couple years … discussing ideas and possible plans … I love those kinds of conversations … ones where you reflect on what you have done and look ahead to see where you are heading … you really get a chance to take a step back from being so involved in the day to day and to see everything in the context of the bigger picture …

Sunday was the start of my week of Administrative Nightmares … so last week I went to visit Perry’s office to drop off my passport and Emirates ID with his company’s PRO (Public Relations Officer) … every company in the UAE employs one and they manage all the administrative stuff related to employees residency visas and other associated things … so as I am sponsored by Perry for my residency his company deals with my Visa and Emirates ID stuff …

On Sunday I was booked to go in for my Medical Test … part of the visa process is getting a blood test done … that in itself wasn’t the hard part … took all of five minutes … One other thing that I had to get organised this week was renewing our cars registration … we had done everything we needed to do in terms of renewing our insurance policy and getting the car tested over the weekend … the only thing left was to pay off a pesky fine we got in Oman last December before the system would allow us to renew the car registration online …

Almost all fines can be paid online … but for some reason this one was locked and it wouldn’t let me pay it … I had previously tried to pay the fine in Oman when we first got it … but was told we could pay it later in Dubai … then in Dubai I had tried at several different places to pay the fine only to be turned away … I had called the authorities here to find out where I could pay it and they directed me to a money exchange branch which they said could process it … so as I had some time after my blood test and there was a branch nearby I decided to try and sort that out at the same time …

Long story short they also turned me away … and after another hour on the phone with the authorities and having spoken to three different people and gotten three different answers … the last person I spoke to told me I would have to go to a police station in Oman personally to pay the fine … by this time I was so exasperated I called Perry to see if he had any ideas …

Problem was I had two days to renew my car registration before it expires … and even if I had the time to go to Oman (which I didn’t) I wasn’t even in possession of my Passport to be able to leave the country to do it!

Perry was able to slip out of work at lunch and headed to one of the main offices for the Roads and Transport Authority and after a lot of queuing up and talking to several people he was able to unblock the fine and pay it … and I managed to renew our registration … it was all unnecessarily complicated and it didn’t help that all of the people I spoke to on the phone from the RTA were adamant that there was no way I could pay the fine in Dubai … and kept giving me the wrong information …

Monday was a lovely day after the drama of the day before … I got to catch up with Stef after not having seen her all summer as she was away in Spain visiting her family … the girls have grown so much … and I can’t believe they are going to be 1 years old in less than a month!!!!

20131003-101445.jpgHow adorable are they???

20131003-101435.jpg 20131003-101454.jpgIt was so lovely to catch up with Stef after so long … and to have lots of cuddles with the girls too … they are just so squidgable …

Tuesday however turned out to be a massive Nightmare of a day … it turned out that I had to go back to the place where I did my medical test on Sunday and collect my Passport and Emirates ID Application form to then go to a different place to have my Biometrics taken (basically fingerprints and a photo) for my new Emirates ID card … so after a morning meeting at work I left at 10am hoping to be back within a couple hours …

I ended up going round the houses for ages that day … first it was to DIFC to pick up my documents … then I had to go to Satwa to get my Biometrics done … only to be turned away by the security guard at the door cause apparently my dress was offensive as you could see the bottom half of my knee caps … I have to say after living in Dubai for 2 years this is the first time I’ve ever fallen foul of the dress code … I did think it was quite ridiculous but the security guy wouldn’t even let me past the door so I could ask someone else if it was OK …

So I did the only thing that I could do at that point … I ended up driving all the way back home to the Marina to get changed and go back to Satwa … Derek was rather confused with my arrival home he was asleep on our bed and looked rather dazed when I came running in to change …

20131003-101421.jpgWhen I finally got back to the ID Office I was only in there for less than 5 mins … they saw me straight away and I was back off again … I then had to go back to DIFC to drop my paperwork off where I had collected it from before finally returning to work …

I ended up being gone for 4 hours that day … and according to my car’s computer I was driving for 3 of them … I was absolutely knackered by the time I got home that evening …

The rest of the week has been thankfully uneventful … now that the drama surrounding my Residency Visa and Emirates ID has passed I just need Perry to go to his office and sign something for my visa and it should be sorted … Next up on the list is updating my driving license and bank accounts …

This evening our first batch of visitors will be arriving … Perry’s Uncle Steve, his wife Rose and their two little girls Chloe and Sophie … I can’t wait to see them later and look forward to spending the weekend with them too … we have a brunch booked for tomorrow to celebrate Chloe’s birthday … but other than that we will see what they fancy doing when they get here …

That is it for this week … this post is long enough as it is …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Thursday Links for the Week … A Makeshift Dining Table & Administrative Nightmares …

Leave a Reply

