Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Jet Lag, Bad Sleep & A Hotel Test Run …

Wow well what a week it has been round here … Perry and I are still struggling to get our sleep back on track after our trip home … and even though we have now been back a week its still a struggle to get to bed and asleep before 1am … which makes getting up in the mornings that much more difficult than usual … and the kittens don’t like their breakfast to be late so they tend to be pretty grumpy in the mornings if we’re late getting up …

Starting with last Friday … I spent my second day alone in Dubai without Perry (the first time this has happened since we moved out here) … at home sleeping till past midday and lounging around the apartment … the car wouldn’t start the day before so I finally got round to calling someone out to fix the battery … tidied my suitcase and did all my laundry … that was about as productive as my day turned out … due to the fact I had slept in so late in the morning I was still awake at 2.30am when Perry walked in through the door …

We ended up chatting for another hour or so till we realised we should probably get some sleep as it was 4am … we both struggled to get up before 11am the next morning (set a pattern for the rest of the week and we’ve been paying the price since) … sorted out a few things around the apartment before Perry headed off to work … I hate it that he has to work weekends … but he’s at a really busy point on the project he is working on and a bunch of things need to be handed over by the end of this month so he’ll be doing more weekends at work than I would like …

The beginning of the week was tough getting up in the mornings and to be fair it hasn’t gotten much easier as the week went on … work has been ok … a bit slow to start with but busier towards the end of the week … my calculator barely left my fingertips today … literally been punching numbers into that thing all day …

I made my trusty beef stew this week … had enough for dinner and sorted me out for lunches most of this week too … went perfectly with the yummy salad too …

photo 1We had a pretty sudden sandstorm in Dubai this week … I noticed it as I was driving home … the sky was clear and blue with bright fluffy clouds on one side of the road … and on the other this massive wall of sand was approaching … soon I was driving in a haze of windy sand … then it randomly started raining … so I ended up with mud on my windshield … lovely … I saw someone posted this TIMELAPSE of the sandstorm hitting Dubai … you can see it all happened quite fast within 10mins …

The views from our apartment were slightly orange and hazy when I got home …

photo 2 photo 3Yesterday was my Mum’s birthday … and I was sorry we couldn’t have been there to celebrate with her … especially as we had made it back for Perry and my Dad’s birthdays the week before … from the photos she and my brother posted on facebook though it looks like she had a good time … and I finally got round to some of my pictures from London and thought as we were on a birthday theme I’d post these two of my Dad and Perry blowing out their joint birthday cake my Mum made them …

DSC04143-1 DSC04144-1This was the view as I was getting home yesterday … stuck in the evening traffic getting back to the Marina with views of JLT on the other side …

photo 5As it turns out we have some rather exciting plans for the weekend … or rather they are exciting to me … I think Perry is more worried it wont live up to expectation … I don’t really care but I think it will be great fun either way …

A new Luxury Hotel and Residences on the Palm for Anantara is due to open on the 15th September … so a few dozen people have been invited for a complementary weekend stay to try out the facilities … rate the service/food/etc … and we have been invited to take part …

Considering this is what the place looks like … (we’d be staying in one of the villas by the pools – they call them lagoons) … I’m quite looking forward to it …

photo 4The view above is from one of the residence apartments … you can just about see the Atlantis hotel in the background on the left with the setting sun just above it …

There will be obvious kinks that still need to be worked out … a bunch of the services are still unavailable and not all the restaurants are going to be open … but you know what I’m still looking forward to it …

That pretty much sums it up for this week … hope your all having a good one …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Jet Lag, Bad Sleep & A Hotel Test Run …

  1. Pingback: Anantara Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa … A Trial Weekend … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

