Thursday’s Weekly Roundup On A Friday … Short Trip Back To The UK …

Well things have been a bit all over the place lately … Last Thursday afternoon Perry and I flew back to the UK for a quick visit to see family and some friends … Perry had been invited to a Stag Do on the Saturday which he had originally told everyone he was not able to make … but it turned out we were able to work it out with work etc to be able to be back in the UK so he could go …

At this point he decided to keep it a surprise so we only told our families we were coming back and I told a few of my closest friends … and somehow we managed to keep the whole thing off Facebook allowing Perry to surprise his friends successfully … another thing we did was I took a bunch of pictures as we were leaving … getting to the Airport and on the Plane etc … so in the morning after he surprised his friends he sent out a message on Facebook with all the images to let his other friends (not on the stag do) that he was in town …

photo 4 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3Once we had actually made it to the airport and had some food I wanted to look around Duty Free while Perry was getting more and more agitated by the crowds … Perry is not fond of big crowds … he thinks everyone just moves too slowly and he usually ends up with someone shoving a pram into his legs … so by the time we came to the gate he was pretty grumpy …

photo 5As the woman at the gate was checking my boarding pass she scanned it through her machine and the printer spat out a new boarding pass … she handed it to me and congratulated me on getting upgraded to Business Class … so while I stood there smiling Perry looked like his eyes were about to pop out of his head … thankfully he was also upgraded so we both got to enjoy the journey home traveling Business Class … first time for both of us

photo 1More than anything else Perry appreciated the leg room while I loved the fact the seats turned into beds … I could get used to traveling like this …

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 4 photo 5Oh and the food was pretty amazing too …

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3Once we arrived at Gatwick we went back to Perry’s parents for the evening … Perry’s Mum had gotten us a Cake made in the shape of Converse shoes … it was a joint birthday cake for Perry and cake to celebrate one year since our Wedding Party last Summer … it was incredibly scrummy too …

photo 1Friday morning we headed up to London … we had a few errands to run … Perry and I had lunch at the Hare and Tortoise in Russel Square … one of the few places we really missed for food as there isn’t one in Dubai …

photo 5photo 2 photo 3That evening we had dinner with my parents and my mum made a bunch of delicious Iranian food which I had missed since being home last year …

photo 1Saturday Perry was off on the Stag Do with his friends while I went for a picnic on Hampstead Heath with my girlfriends … (another post on that sometime soon) … Sunday morning again I met up with some of my friends for Lunch … and in the evening my Mum had invited a few people over for dinner and to celebrate my Dad and Perry’s Birthdays … my Dad’s was on the day after while Perry’s was the day before …

On Monday we did a bunch of things in London … I got my new Passport (more on that another time) … did a bit of shopping and had Lunch at Pizza Express where my Brother joined us … we had dinner that evening with my Dad at his restaurant and some other friends who came by to see us …

photo 4Tuesday morning we spent the day at home and in the afternoon we headed to the restaurant for a bit to hang out with my Dad … he has a new pet called Scampi (my brother calls him Frank) … he is a chip loving racing pigeon and has decided to take over the patch of pavement outside my Dad’s shop as his territory … my dad feeds him Chips which he devours and Scampi will even defend his patch from other birds … even the bigger scarier seagulls that come by …

photo 4 photo 5Its actually really entertaining to watch him take chips from my Dad …

photo 2Perry left after to go see his family for the rest of his time in the UK … As I had to leave to head back to Dubai the next morning I stayed up in London … we were both due to fly back today however due to a work related thing I was asked to return a couple days early so I could be present for a meeting on Thursday …

photo 3I went to see some of my friends for my last evening in London and spent Wednesday morning with my parents at the Iranian Embassy in London to renew my passport before heading to the airport …

I had a rather rough flight back as the trip was mostly turbulence but there were plenty of good films to choose from and the food was pretty good too … We landed back later than I’d expected and had to wait over an hour for my suitcase to come through … so all in all I got home 2hrs later than I had hoped … I didn’t get much sleep before having to go to work …

To make matters even worse … in the morning our car wouldn’t start and I didn’t have time to wait around for someone to come fix it … so just had to taxi it to work … the day sort of just passed in a blur … it was a long day but it was worth it to come back for all that was sorted that morning will make the completion of the rest of this project hopefully much smoother …

By the time I got home last night I didn’t even have the energy to do anything about food … I just about emptied my suitcase and collapsed on the sofa with a bag of sweets and Hugo curled up next to me to watch some Masterchef on iPlayer …

I slept straight through till about midday this morning and the boys were great … they didn’t fuss or wake me up at all … and they waited patiently till 12.30pm for breakfast … which is generally unheard of for them …

So apologies for the late post today … I haven’t even had time to get the photos off my camera let alone process them or anything … so the pictures in this post are from my iPhone … I’ll post more pictures from our trip over the next couple weeks hopefully … for now I will finish up here … I don’t have any more plans for the weekend other than to get over my jet lag and spend time with the boys … Perry will be home at some point in the middle of the night so we will probably be relaxing tomorrow too …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup On A Friday … Short Trip Back To The UK …

  1. Mabruk – I’ve been travelling to and from the Middle East for 18 years hoping that someone would utter those magical words “you’ve been upgraded”. Still waiting!

Leave a Reply

