Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Short Days & A Sick Husband …

Hello everyone … the week has finally come to an end and I couldn’t be happier … for some reason its felt like this week has just dragged on and on for an absolute age … anyway the weekend is finally here and I’m quite looking forward to it … even though we have absolutely nothing planned …

Anyway starting back at last week … On Friday we headed down to Dubai Mall late morning … I had decided that I really needed to start reading again … I used to consume books like food when I was a teenager … I was the epitome of a book worm growing up and somehow along the way since moving to Dubai I just stopped reading books … I still read stuff … mostly news websites and online blogs etc … but lately I really missed the feeling of reading actual books … so when we got to the mall Perry and I made a beeline for the Book Store … I think its actually the largest bookstore in Dubai …

Well we ended up spending a good few hours browsing the place … I love this store … I could literally spend hours here … there are lots of little nooks and crannies where you can tuck yourself away and get totally absorbed into a good book … they even have baskets to carry your books around till you get to the till … which I was quite happy to find … by the time I’d gotten hold of one I already had an armful of books …

photo 3So after the book store we did a couple of other things at the mall that we needed to get done … and decided to stay and go watch a movie too while we were there … by the time the film finished it was about 45mins till iftar and so we hung around a bit longer to go for dinner once the restaurants opened … having become indecisive all of a sudden about what we wanted to eat … we ended up trying a new restaurant we hadn’t been to before called the Social House …

photo 4Both of us were pleasantly surprised by the food and service … the restaurant itself looks really lovely and inviting … but the place was so packed and it was ages before someone came to take our order that we thought we may end up having problems with service (we only say this from past experience) but thankfully we were proven wrong … after taking our initial order the service was pretty spot on … the food was pretty darn good too …

Perry chose the Fish and Chips … which was a massive portion …

photo 2I had the tempura fried sushi roll and a salad …

photo 1It was all very delicious … definitely somewhere we will try again …

Saturday was a quiet day at home … Perry and I both had some work to do and we just had a relaxing day in … The work week started off as normal on Sunday … but on Monday Perry rang me halfway through the morning explaining he wasn’t feeling well and had headed home … we both thought he just had a tummy bug that would go away after a day or so … but it turned out he’s been ill all week … but as it turned out him being home off sick this week was a good thing … as on Tuesday the hot water tank in our kitchen sprung a leak … so thankfully Perry was home and noticed quickly and was able to turn off the valve to stop the flow … and he was also home this morning for when the maintenance people came by to fix it … silver linings and all I guess …

Other than that it’s been a pretty quiet week … its been nice having the long afternoons at home with Perry … even if he has been ill … I’ve had more time to try some new things with dinner this week … I made a stuffed Chicken Breast with Quinoa Tabbouleh Salad earlier in the week … and made mint lemonade to go with it … Perry liked it so it can’t have been too bad … it was one of those dishes that I kinda made up as I went a long …

photo 5Yesterday I got home quite late in the afternoon and by the time I’d come to make myself some lunch it was that awkward 4.30pm time in the afternoon when its almost dinner time but your too hungry to wait till dinner … so ended up having a rather hefty Tuna Steak Salad which served as both Lunch and Dinner that day … another one of those make it up with what I had in the fridge type recipes …

photo 6I have made a massive dent in my new pile of reading material this week … since picking up 9 books at the weekend I’ve now managed to work my way through 3 of them and am already halfway through a fourth … I’m going to have to start looking for some second hand book stores soon otherwise this will turn into an expensive habit …

Apologies for the late posting this evening … I ended up dragging Perry to see the Doctor after I got home … since he’s been ill all week and isn’t getting much better I figured he probably ought to get checked out and make sure its not anything serious … thankfully it seems it is just a tummy bug and he’s just going to have to ride it out … hopefully it won’t go on for much longer … it wasn’t till we got home that I had a chance to sit down and type this up …

That pretty much wraps it up for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

