Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Finally Slowing Down …

Ok well its been another busy week round these parts … although Ramadan has helped with the shorter working days … so while I get to go home earlier in the afternoons I have had to do the same amount of work in much less time … which has inevitably meant bringing my work home with me … something I’ve gotten rather too comfortable with in the last few weeks … Thankfully Perry is in a similar situation so I don’t feel like I’m ignoring him too much in the evenings as we’re both usually doing something work related for part of the time …

Last weekend was rather uneventful … I think we actually only left the apartment once to go to see Monster’s University at the cinema … it was a weekend of laziness and catching up on TV … with a bit of work thrown in to mix things up abit … I did end up making some yummy Lemon Ricotta Pancakes for breakfast on Friday Morning …

photo 2I also made myself some yummy goats cheese on caramelised onion toast, with basil and cherry tomatoes for lunch … while Perry had cereal (weird boy doesn’t like goats cheese, or tomatoes much) …

photo 1On Saturday I did some scrambled eggs with Bacon … which was delicious …

photo 4We’d also picked up some watermelon from the supermarket and while it was really quite sweet and juicy it wasn’t that crunchy texture you usually get with watermelon … so I wizzed it up in the blender with some water to make watermelon juice … yum yum yum …

photo 3On Sunday after work Perry and I were invited by his company to go for Iftar at the Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel in the evening … it was good fun and I enjoyed getting to meet the people Perry works with … especially since he met most of my work colleagues at dinner the week before …

Monday and Tuesday kind of went by in a blur of busyness at work … Perry was equally busy and I was luck if he got home at a normal time in the evenings … by the time Wednesday rolled round I was feeling really unwell … mostly my back was causing me alot of pain to the point where I was feeling physically sick … after a couple hours at work they sent me home as I could barely sit at my desk without being doubled over in pain … I’m not even sure how I managed to drive home … spend the rest of that day stretched out on the sofa dozing …

Oh and I went to the shops the other day … when picking up some of Perry’s favourite cereal you can really tell what country it was originally intended to be sold in!

photo 5

Today thankfully I feel much better after getting a proper nights sleep … it was the first morning in ages that I woke up after 6.30am and didn’t have a kitten demanding attention (they will have usually woken us up around 5-5.30am) …

Again not much planned for the weekend … have a few errands to run and some stuff to do around the apartment … I really want to get back into reading again … I used to read loads of books when I was younger … to the point where my mum would tell me off for staying up late on a school night reading … (I was cool like that) … anyways in the last couple years I’ve let go of that habit and its something I’d like to get back into again … I love getting lost in a good story … I used to have my daily commute of about an hour each way in London to read but don’t have that opportunity in Dubai … so anyway will be heading to a bookshop this weekend to pick up some actual proper physical books … I’m resisting the kindle option … mainly because I really enjoy the feel of holding and reading a physical book … anyway rant over … Anyone have any tips for a good read? I’m open to suggestions …

Anyway’s that is it for this week … hope everyone is having a good one …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

