Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … A Quiet Week …

Its been a bit of a quiet week this week … Perry has been working late most nights and the rest of the time he just brings his work home with him … so I haven’t been seeing much of him lately … but at least all the cats at home are keeping me on my toes …

Anyway starting with the end of last week … On Thursday I had to skip my regular Pilates class to get home in time to wait for our new mattress to be delivered … it did get there in the end and I had just about enough time to throw some sheets on it before dashing out the apartment to meet Perry and our friends Paul & Sarah for dinner … we went to Le Petit Maison which always gets rave reviews … its near to where the three of them work and so made sense for an after work dinner venue …

The food was really delicious … everyone ended up going for seafood options for their meals … I had an absolutely gorgeous bit of sea bass … and the deserts were pretty scrummy too … if you have the chance to go then I’d definitely recommend it …

Friday morning we both slept in late … it was great … and other than a brief moment where Perry got up to feed the cats we dozed all morning … before finally getting out of bed to go watch Star Trek at the cinema … which I actually enjoyed more than I thought I would … I was pleasantly surprised …

The rest of the weekend was spent at home playing with Hugo & Derek … and Miles & Amy … we started introducing their smells to each other to get them used to the idea of other cats … Hugo was not too impressed and even started growling … Derek was more interested in the new smells … as for Miles and Amy well they are just so curious about everything at the moment they don’t seem to mind new smells at all …

It turned into a very restful weekend … which is apparently just what we needed … but it made for a rather unproductive and unexciting weekend …

Sunday was a pretty standard work day but I did make a new soup that evening … a Lentil, Chickpea and Cumin soup … it was really delicious and a pinch of chili flakes gave it a good bit of kick too … I ended up taking the left overs to work for the next few days … one thing I’ve learn’t with soups is that the flavours tend to intensify the day or two after you’ve made them … so the chili spice was actually the most prominent with a real kick on the second day … in either case very tasty … and went really well with some fresh coriander and a dollop of Greek Yogurt …

photo 1Monday afternoon Joelle came over for a bit to catch up and to meet MILES & AMY … it was really lovely to see her as it had been way too long since we’d last seen each other … and considering we live in the same building that’s pretty bad …

On Tuesday I signed up to try out a new Pilates class … a slightly more intermediate class using the big balls to do the exercises on so it means you have to use your muscles more to help you balance on it … turns out it was such a new class (as in new to the timetable not new all together) … that no one else had heard of it yet … so I ended up having a private one on one session with the instructor … who also happened to be one of my favourites at the studio I go to … I got some good tips on some of the positions and I loved the actual moves as well … also cause you focus so much on trying to maintain your balance on the ball you don’t even realise how much work your muscles are actually doing … the hour just flew by … honestly I probably could have gone another round … definitely coming back for more of this class next week …

I also tried out a couple of other new dishes this week for dinner … one was a baked spinach and Hamour dish … while it was nice it didn’t exactly blow me away … Perry wasn’t overly impressed by it either … it was perfectly edible and tasted fine … but the original recipe called for Haddock to be used which I couldn’t get hold of so used Hamour instead … I think that may have something to do with it … and I think I over cooked the fish abit as it came out a bit rubbery … never a good thing …

photo 3The other dish I made this week was a sweet potato and mince stew type dish … very similar to a Bolognaise recipe but with the addition of sweet potato … I also added in some Spring onions, Corriander and Red Peppers just because I had them in the fridge … this came out very yummy with a side of steamed broccoli …

photo 4Last night was supposed to be a quiet night in for us but Perry ended up bringing his work home with him … today he is on some sort of team building day with the rest of his department so can’t do any work … as such he’s ended up trying make up for it the rest of the week … I ended up spending a lot of time playing with our boys as well as Miles & Amy that evening …

I’ve started trying out something new for breakfast this week … and so far I’ve been loving it … I recently discovered BIRCHER MUESLI … I’d basically say its very similar to porridge except its not cooked … which is great for over here as who wants hot porridge when its getting close to 40 degrees outside???

photo 2There are lots of different ways to make it and mine isn’t strictly in line with the traditional way to do it … but I’ve really enjoyed it this week … I used fat free vanilla flavoured yogurt with my oats and topped them with sliced banana and a handful of blueberries … I also don’t like the oats to be too soft so I prep it in the morning and take it to work with me to have at my desk … It’s not a massive amount of food but its incredibly filling … so much so that often I get to about 2pm before I even realise I haven’t had lunch …

This evening doesn’t appear to be much better … Perry will likely be home late after going out with is colleagues … so I’ll be entertaining myself with the cats at home … got a few things planned for the weekend but nothing overtly strenuous … Perry still has some work to do … and I have some bits and pieces to catch up on around the apartment … Planning on going swimming this weekend too …

That is it for this week … its been pretty quiet and not too exciting either …

Hope your all having a good week …

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … A Quiet Week …

Leave a Reply

