Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … A Long Week & A Little Surprise …

Hello and welcome to another weekly roundup … its hard to believe were already halfway through another month … almost 5 months into the year … where did all that time go? … having said that this week has felt like quite a long one … Perry has been very busy with work these last few days so I’ve barely seen him in the evenings … but it has on a whole been a positive week all round …

Last weekend we were planning on having a quiet night in on Thursday … watch some more Star Wars and order in some food … but in the afternoon Perry suggested we go check out some mattresses at Mall of the Emirates after work and just eat out … He’s been eager to get a new mattress for a while now as our current one is doing his back in … and for someone not used to dealing with backaches he gets incredibly grumpy if he’s had a bad nights sleep … and to be honest I’ll probably benefit from a new mattress too … we had a pretty good memory foam mattress back in the UK and the springs in our new one don’t really work well for us … the fact that we have gone 20 months with the one we have is pretty amazing in itself … not that it’s a bad mattress … it just doesn’t suit us particularly well …

We ended up going for a Silentnight latex/memory foam combo mattress … and conviniently all the Silentnight stuff was on sale that weekend too so that was an added bonus … they promised delivery by today but currently I’m still waiting a confirmation of the delivery time … hoping it’ll be early afternoon …

We also picked up some new Memory foam pillows too … they are incredible … its actually amazing how much difference a good pillow makes to your sleep … I had no idea!!!

Friday morning we had a bit of a lie in with the furr balls and once up we headed over to Dubai Mall … We were planning to go the Dubai Mall Aquarium so we stopped for breakfast at the Cheesecake Factory … I had wanted to try out their breakfast for a while so we figured why not … however for some reason we managed to forget the monster portion sizes they serve and mistakenly ordered two meals …

_MG_7040-1Perry opted for the blueberry pancakes … which more cake than pancake … and 3 of them stacked up looked more like a mountain of stodgy food …

_MG_7043-1I opted for their Napoleon French Toast … it too was incredibly decadent and stodgy … but there were pecans and strawberries involved so I justified that I at least was having some fruit …

_MG_7050-1Perry struggled to eat more than a third of his meal … we ended up taking the rest of it home with us and ate the rest the next morning for breakfast … (I helped him) …

We actually had a great time at the Aquarium too which had been on my list of things to do in Dubai since we pretty much got here … a bunch of our visitors had gone whilst staying with us and we still hadn’t managed to go … so last weekend we rectified that …

_MG_7161-1Stay tuned cause I’ve written up a post about our Aquarium trip which will be posted tomorrow …

We spent the afternoon at home with the boys … who pretty much napped through the rest of the Star Wars movies we had lined up … and I got Perry to take a head shot of me as it was also exactly 6 months since I’d had my MEGA HAIRCUT … its grown out loads and now I can tie it up without little bits constantly falling out …

Hair Cut Stagesplease ignore the increasing levels of puffiness around my eyes … clearly I’m not sleeping enough at the moment …

Saturday was a more relaxed day at home … we popped out at one point to sort out our alcohol licence (its only taken us about 20 months to get our act together) and to pick up the hire car … Perry is due to be in Abu Dhabi for much of the week with a day in Doha at some point … so his company have organised a hire car for him this week which is appreciated … I had a healthy haloumi salad for lunch … one of the times I’m glad Perry doesn’t like this cheese … means I get more for me …

photo 2And in the evening we headed round to Sarah’s villa for a BBQ with friends … its definitely verging on being too hot for a BBQ now … it was so hot and humid out in the garden in the evening … and especially with the BBQ going full force … by the end of the night everyone was decidedly sweaty and I left with several new mosquito bites on my feet …

Sunday started out as a pretty normal work day … Perry was in Abu Dhabi … so I was on my own for the morning drive … he also got home rather late not leaving the office till past 8.30pm … but at one point during the day he sent me a link to FELINE FRIENDS facebook page where they were making an appeal for foster carers to take in some abandoned kittens … I wasn’t at first sure if he was serious or not as this was something I had really wanted to do for some time … but due to one reason or another it hadn’t been a realistic possibility until now … so I rang and left a message …

The next day they called me back and asked if we could take two of the kittens … who were only 4 weeks old … they had been abandoned in a cardboard box with the rest of the litter (total 4 kittens) on some wasteland in Al Wasl with no mother cat around … I immediately said yes and it was then arranged that I’d go and collect them the next day once they’ve had a health check at the vets …

That afternoon (Monday) I had already arranged to go see Stef in the evening as Perry was in Doha for the day I thought I’d go see Stef who lives near the airport and then pick Perry up after before heading home …

photo 3Once there I double checked his flight details and realised we’d both made a mistake with the time difference and he was actually landing back in Dubai much later than we had anticipated … so I stayed and had dinner with Stef and the girls … who looked so cute in their little cow themed onesies …

photo 4Before heading home leaving Perry to catch a taxi … which turned out to be a good thing as I needed to tidy up the spare room and bathroom to make it kitten proof … and I ended up falling asleep before Perry even got home … thankfully his ninja skills were working and he managed to get into bed without waking me up … either that or I was so conked out I didn’t even notice …

The next day I was really excited to go meet the kittens and to get them home … and was really happy to hear that they had the all clear from the vets too … in total there was a litter of 4 of them 1 boy (ginger coloured) and 3 girls (tabby coloured) … I decided to take the boy and one of the girls … it would have been really hard to tell the difference between two tabby’s who all looked the same to me bar really minor differences in their tails …

photo 2I got them home and settled in the spare room en-suite … played with them and they seemed to settle in really quickly … they eat well and use the litter tray like pro’s … I thought they’d have trouble getting into it but they just hopped right in … which was a great relief … although they are really messy eaters … like most babies to be honest … they appear to think that if they sit in their food they will be able to consume it faster … Its cute but a bit messy … Perry was surprised by how small they really were … and you can really see the size difference in the photo below … they are so dinky …

photo 4Anyway so the last couple of days have been full of playing with both sets of cats … the babies need to be kept separate from our boys for 10 days to be sure they don’t have any illnesses such as ring worm which they could pass on … and once the quarantine period is over we can start to introduce them to each other slowly and see how they get on … I do hope the boys will be gentle with them … but they can be quite boisterous when they play so it could go either way … if necessary we will keep them separate … but it would be great if they get on with each other …

photo 3I’ve got many more photos coming up in this week’s Caturday of the boys and the babies … so keep an eye out for that … and I’m planning a dedicated post about our little foster kittens for next week so be sure to check back for that one …

As for our plans for the weekend … well our new mattress is due this afternoon (I hope) … we are out for dinner with Paul and Sarah this evening … Perry has booked us tickets to go see the new Star Trek movie tomorrow … and I’ve ear marked a lot of play time with our boys and the babies for this weekend …

All in all it looks to be a busy couple of days coming up … but I’m really looking forward to it … Do you have anything exciting planned for your weekend?

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … A Long Week & A Little Surprise …

  1. Pingback: Caturday Updates From The Boys … & Our New Temporary Residents … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

