Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Busy Weekend & Quiet Week …

Well this week has been rather relaxed actually … we had a busy weekend last week but it was fun and quite productive which is always good … but the actual week itself was alot more laid back … all in all a good if not terribly exciting week round these parts …

Last weekend I was still quite poorly … I spent most of Thursday evening curled up on the sofa … I’d done a big batch of cooking prior to leaving for Istanbul and had frozen up portions in the freezer so we wouldn’t have to worry about cooking the first few days we got back … and I was really glad I’d done that … With Perry getting home late and me feeling the way I had been there was no way I wanted to be on my feet in the kitchen cooking anything that night …

Friday morning however I was starting to feel much better … we ended up going round to see Stef, Bas and their girls and stayed for some lunch …

photo 5 photo 1 photo 2The food was so good … Stef had done up a proper German meal of sausages, curry sauce, potatoes, sauerkraut and salad … it was delicious … so much so I had two helpings … Yum!

photo 1That evening Perry and I headed to the cinema to watch the new Iron Man 3 movie … which we enjoyed … it had all the usual stuff you expect from an Iron Man (or any sort of superhero movie these days) along with a few things your not expecting … so we were happy to have seen it … and it marks the first of a long list of Movies coming out this year that we really want to see …

On Saturday we spent the morning and early afternoon sat around at home waiting for the maintenance people to show up and finish fixing our AC … the one in our living room was on the fritz and was struggling to cool the area … they were due to come around 2pm so anticipating our kitchen would be out of action while they were here we ordered in for lunch (access to the AC unit in the living room is from the kitchen false ceiling) … I ended up getting chicken and sweetcorn soup with crispy beef strips … its become my new addiction since my brother’s last visit (he ordered it … I tried a piece … now I’m hooked) … so food arrived and maintenance never showed up … it wasn’t until we called 30mins after they were due to have arrived that we were told that they weren’t coming … lovely customer service … I’d like to say something like this is a rarity here but its really not that uncommon … it was just more frustrating that no one had bothered to let us know …

photo 3In any case we had a yummy lunch and started watching the Star Wars movies … as it was May the 4th … Perry insisted we start with Episode 1 so we did … and as of Wednesday evening we finished Episode 4 … so we have two more movies to go in our Star Wars Marathon Week …

Since being stuck at home all day Perry suggested we head out in the evening and go somewhere for dinner … I suggested going to Mercato Mall which I had been to quickly one afternoon before a Pilates class but Perry hadn’t seen yet … its quite a pretty smallish mall with a very strong Italian/Venetian theme going on …

photo 2After wandering round the mall a bit we ended up having dinner at a place called Fiesta … and fake indoor/outdoor trees aside … the food was actually really good … Perry had the Calzone and I got the chicken burger … super tasty … although my burger came on a sizzling hot plate … the waiter told me not to touch it … so since the plate was too hot to pick up my burger … which I thought was some sort of joke (there is food in front of me but I cant eat it for fear of burning myself) … I started on eating the veg around it hoping the plate would cool down … but by the time I started on the burger I still managed to burn my fingers slightly …

photo 3 photo 4To be honest it was delicious enough that I didn’t mind too much …

Anyway the actual week went along without much happening … I finally got round to properly unpacking my suitcase after Istanbul … due to being sick I didn’t do much unpacking other than dirty laundry when we first got back … and finally got round to unwrapping the stuff we had bought whilst we were there too … first up are the coasters and hot plate protectors that we got from the Grand Bazaar on the first day …

photo 2Secondly we bought a set of 3 red Pomegranate Glass ornaments from Prince Islands while we were there … we saw them as we first walked through the main market area and they were still there when we were leaving … so we stopped to ask how much they were and surprised by how low the price was for the set we decided to get them … I’m really glad we did too … they go well in our bookcase and could double up nicely as little vases for a couple stems of flowers in each …

photo 4In the middle of the week as I was trying to leave work one afternoon I noticed that the road had been closed off at one end … so I went to go the other way and soon realised it had been closed off at that end too … so I drove back to the first road block where a group of construction workers were standing around idle doing nothing and asked one of them what was going on …

photo 4He explained that the local authority had given them approval to close the roads and they assumed our site had a different access route that we could use to get in and out … I told him that this was not the case and asked why no one had bothered to come and find out if we needed to use the road to leave … I mean they were literally 100m from our site office … it would have taken one guy all of 5mins to find out … instead I was blocked in on a road with no way out … going off road was not an option as the kerbs are quite high and its all sand and thick brush … our car would have gotten stuck in no time …

photo 5Anyway so after a bunch of phone calls and talking and me starting to get incredibly frustrated at whoever had authorised this road closure without telling us about it … the construction guys finally got hold of some equipment to shove one of the concrete blocks out of the way so I could get past … the next day at work I found out that this road closure is due to go on for 3 months … for now they have created an access route for those of us on site to get in and out from but I can see this is going be a right pain …

photo 1In all honesty 18months ago something like this happening would probably have really shocked me … the fact that they would just come and close the road with no notice or warnings … now its just a frustrating fact of life in Dubai … communication is seriously lacking in this city …

So as a treat to cheer me up and just to have something yummy (but healthy) for desert I made up some Fruit Yoghurt with fresh Blueberries, Strawberries and Raspberries in a glass … simple but delicious …

photoThat pretty much sums up our week … next week is looking like it will be a busy one … for Perry anyway … work is building up for him and he may be away for a couple nights but its not confirmed yet … so we will see … after what he’s told me last night I imagine he’s going to be working a few late nights next week …

As for this weekend … well we’re not really planning much … BBQ with friends … playtime with our kittens … go for a swim and relax really … oh and finish watching those Star Wars movies …

Have a good one …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

