Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Return From Istanbul & Being Ill …

Hello everyone … welcome to another weekly roundup … this last week has been so much fun … we had such a wonderful time in Istanbul it was sad to say goodbye … and even though some of our plans didn’t always work out … we still had an amazing time and by not having done everything it means we now have a reason to go back again sometime soon …

Anyway I’m not going to go into too much detail here about what we got up to as I’m planning on posting about our trip over the next couple weeks … once I’ve had a chance to go through the pictures etc … but for now I’ll give you a little recap of our journey there …

DSC04096-1 DSC04098-1I got back to the apartment on Thursday in time to do a last check and make sure we had everything and to give the kittens a last little cuddle before we left … getting to the airport was stress free and thanks to our E-Gate cards we managed to skip the queues at passport control …

DSC04109-1 DSC04115-1We didn’t have to wait around too long in the airport for our flight and the plane journey there was relatively uneventful … quite a bit of turbulence but nothing major … we even got a glimpse of the World Islands after we took off … although it was really quite hazy … you can also see abit of the Palm in the middle on the left side of the picture if you look carefully …

DSC04116-1We got there on-time and our ride to the hotel was waiting for us … I called my cousin to let her know we had landed alright and to arrange what time and where to meet her the next morning … We were staying at the Hilton Garden Inn along the Golden Horn … which is a little out of the way from where all the touristy stuff is but it was a relatively new hotel in a quiet part of Istanbul …

_MG_5157-1With really lovely views from the balcony … all of the other hotels we were considering within the same price range that were nearer the center of town, got decidedly mixed reviews with lots of noise issues … so we went with this one … and we were so glad we did … both of us slept so well (both out of sheer tiredness but also due to the lovely firm mattress) …

_MG_5153-1 _MG_5151-1 _MG_5154-1 _MG_5155-1

We really didn’t have much energy to go out searching for something to eat and just opted for room service … it was perfectly edible but nothing to really write home about either … the breakfast was a pretty standard breakfast buffet with possibly the grumpiest chef I have ever seen making pancakes … but the highlight was the slab of Honeycomb hanging up for people to help themselves …

photo 3

Randomly skipping ahead one of the nights we stayed with my cousin she made some yummy Iranian food … Khoresht-eh-Ghormeh-Sabzi … one of Perry and my favourites … loved it …

photo 4I’m going to leave the updates from our Istanbul trip at that for now … will have more pictures and stories to share soon enough …

Only thing I will add here is that I had managed to catch something and was really rather ill on our last day in Istanbul … I got gradually worse as the day wore on … a mixture of runny nose, sneezes, coughs and generally feeling ‘meh’ … the flight home was an absolute nightmare … so much turbulence the whole way back and as soon as the plane started to descend into Dubai Airport it felt like the back of my head was being squeezed between some pliers … then the pilot announced we had to go into a holding pattern circling round and round as their was alot of air traffic for 1.30am …

This just made the whole thing worse … the pain at this point had spread all round the front of my head … any and all movement made me feel like my head was about to explode … I was in tears at one point it was so intensely painful … and I felt really sorry for Perry who felt rather helpless as he could do nothing for me besides rub my back and hand me tissues for my runny nose …

Thankfully once we finally landed the pressure eased up and whilst I was still ill and had all the other symptoms I no longer felt like my head was about to explode … we got our bags and got home just before 3am … the kittens came running up to meet us and we gave them lots of cuddles before finally crawling into bed …

The boys got a glowing review from the pet sitter … and it was only a day before Derek stopped being shy around her and would come out for the cuddles …

photo 5

Waking up sandwiched between two kittens does make everything seem much better even when you are feeling like hell … I made it into work in the morning … Perry had the last two days of this week booked off as well so I was rather jealous leaving the house while he was still in bed … but I was really too ill to be at work so after a few hours my manager sent me home … when I got back I found out Perry had fixed me up some chicken and sweetcorn soup (and by fixed I mean he ordered me soup along with his lunch from our favourite takeaway place) … either way I was really grateful for it …

I spent the rest of the afternoon curled up in bed with kittens napping by my feet catching up on Masterchef episodes I’d missed while we had been away … Perry took good care of me for the rest of the day … made dinner and did the laundry while I just wallowed on the sofa apologising for not being able to do anything …

Today I’m thankfully feeling much better … still got the cough and the runny nose … my nose is red raw now from all the tissues I’ve been going through … and I’ve been having cup-a-soups all day at work … I’m looking forward to the weekend … not alot planned but lots of little things to catch up on around the place … not to mention a mountain of photos to work through and edit …

photo 2I’m looking forward to a relaxing yet productive weekend …

Wishing you all a good end to your week …

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Return From Istanbul & Being Ill …

  1. Sounds as if you had a great time apart from the flight what is an E card so you didnot need to check in I guess it is checking in on line? Skype u soon regards, patrick

    • The e gate card is an electronic credit card sized thing which basically allows you to go through an automated passport control area so you can skip the queues … This only works for us in Dubai as we live here so are eligible for it … Does make getting in and out the airport faster when there are big queues 🙂

  2. Pingback: Istanbul, Turkey … Part 6 … Around Galata On Our Last Day … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

