Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … We’re Off To Istanbul …

Hello everyone … well Perry and I are off to Istanbul this afternoon for a few days … can’t wait … everyone keeps telling me how beautiful the city is and how its a dream for photography … so I’m really quite excited … and to add to that excitement I get to see my cousin and her family who I haven’t seen for a few years … they moved to Istanbul from Iran a few years ago so its been a while since I last saw them … and it will be Perry’s first time meeting them too …

Anyway before I get carried away about our trip here’s a little recap of the last few days … last Thursday I made it to my Pilates class on time and was so glad I went too … Perry finished on time and I we ended up going home together which again is always nice … we get to have a proper chat about our day on the way home and is a nice way to unwind (well for me anyway as Perry drives home if I pick him up) at the end of the week …

Friday was a home day … we didn’t really go out at all … Perry moved his desk and computer out into the dining room area as the AC in the spare room had gone on the fritz and was only blowing out hot air … making the room rather too warm to work in … so we spent the day playing with Hugo and Derek and in between their cat naps I made some Creme Brulee and used the left over egg whites to make some Chocolate Meringues … they both came out well and as it was the first time I’d made Creme Brulee I was quite happy about it …

photo 1 photo 2In the evening we did pop out for dinner at Ezi Dzi … I posted about that yesterday so feel free to read that post to see what we thought of the place … Saturday morning I ran out to do a bunch of errands before getting home so Perry could go to the dentist … Perry had also signed us up to a maintenance plan with the buildings maintenance company and had arranged for them to come round on Saturday to do a general check up on the apartment and fix the AC in the spare room … they did a pretty amazing job for a few hours work, they fixed a bunch of lights and changed a couple of light bulbs for us in hard to reach places like the living room (last time Perry tried to change that one he dented our coffee table) …

They even re-grouted our shower and fixed the hot water problem in both bathrooms … turns out the temperature set on the tanks was too low which is why our hot water only lasted about 2mins and you were left showering with tepid water at best the rest of the time … I can’t believe we went 18months in this place before finally sorting that one out …

And they completely changed the thermostat in the spare room and fixed all the AC issues in there at the same time … they are coming back later to redo the one in our living room too … but that’s a bigger job than they had time for in that one day … that’s enough geeking out about the random things we got fixed over the weekend …

Another thing happened on Saturday which wasn’t as great … I managed to twinge my back again … its something that’s happened to me now on and off for the last few years since I was hit by a car … it wasn’t a major injury at the time and I walked away from it after being checked out by paramedics and carried on to work that day … but it has ever since given me no end of grief in recurring back pain and problems … (hence why I’ve started Pilates) …

So this pretty much left me out of action for half of Saturday and I spent most of it stretched out on the sofa hoping for it to loosen up enough before I had to go to work on Sunday … thankfully it did and with the help of some strong painkillers I made it into work … and by the end of the day on Sunday my back was almost alright again … even so I skipped the Pilates class that day deciding to give my back time to properly get better again before I did anything with it … but at home I felt bad about not going so did a short 30 mins session with a YouTube clip and skipping the harder exercises … it was good and if anything it helped stretch it out and I felt even better on the Monday …

On Sunday my Mum ran the London Marathon … I was so proud of her for completing it and spent the day getting iMessage updates from my Brother and following her progress on the Virgin London Marathon Website …

photo 1Sunday night Perry was working late and didn’t get home till gone 9pm … but there was a really loud thunder and lightning storm that night … it was kinda insane really how loud it was … and if it hadn’t have been for the lightning that had gone off just before the thunder hit I’d have honestly thought it was bomb it was so loud … the poor cats were petrified … I have never seen Hugo or Derek scamper so fast … their little fluffy paws scrabbling all over the tiled floor and sliding round corners as fast as they could to get under the bed … they clearly are not fans of the thunder …

Monday was a relatively uneventful day at work … I stopped by Dubai Mall to run a few errands and sort out some last minute stuff before our trip away and picked up Perry before going home … we started to watch a new TV show called Touch that evening … so far it seems like it’s going to be interesting so I’m keen to see where it goes … will keep you updated …

Tuesday after a busy work day I headed round to see Stef and the twins in the afternoon … Franka was not happy about anyone other than her Mum holding her … I’m not kidding all I got whenever I picked her up was as I called it ‘The Face’  … you know that look a baby gives you just as its gearing up to bawl its eyes out … followed by really loud sobs … at which point I hand her over to Stef and she calms down … she is such a little cutie pie …

photo 4 photo 3Baby Mina on the otherhand didn’t seem to mind having me hold her … she was being a bit less fussy that afternoon …

photo 5 photo 1 photo 2After they finished with their milk we took them for a swim in the pool (covered in sun cream)… which was good fun … they both seemed totally unfazed by the water … and Stef and I had a good chat and a catch up …

photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo 2Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stay too long after … but I did hang around long enough to get a post bath time cuddle with Franka … no tears this time … and a quick little goodbye with baby Mina … (can’t believe the girls are going to be 6 months old tomorrow)

photo 3 photo 4Perry is now an officail contributor for the Soukalmal Technology Blog … his first article can be found HERE … he doesn’t have time to write for our own blog but if its techonology related he’s all over that … either way I am quite happy for him that he seems to enjoy this so will see how it goes …

After getting home that evening I got started on packing for our trip … although no attempt at packing would be complete without Hugo trying to chew on everything … Derek took a bit of a back seat this time …

photo 5Wednesday was an incredibly hectic day for me at work … relative to the last few weeks … it was by no means the busiest day I’ve ever had but it was incredibly productive and it wasn’t till about 2pm that I even had enough time to take a minute to have some water let alone eat anything … but if felt good … the owner of the company I work for is in the country for a couple days to try and sort out a bunch of things … and I got to have a significant role in the decision making process … it was great cause for the first time in my working life the people I am working with seem to truly value my opinion and actually took suggestions / comments I made on board and acted on them …

(there was another page to my To-Do list for the day … I managed to have everything ticked off by 3pm)

photoPerry commented that he has never known me to actually be excited about work and wanting to do it outside of office hours … I even took some time in the evenings this week to follow up on emails and other bits of work that needed doing whereas before I wouldn’t have been so worried about it … don’t get me wrong I’ve always worked hard no matter who I’ve worked for and never has an employer had a reason to be less than happy with the work I produced … but I (Perry and the people around me) can see a difference in my personality when I am actually enjoying the work I do … so I’m enjoying it while it lasts …

In the evening we ended up ordering in takeaway for dinner … I wasn’t in the mood to cook after making dinner every night this week I needed a break … I ended up getting a pizza from Pizza Express … I have always been dissapointed with Pizza Express here as they didn’t do my favourite pizza in Dubai … the PADANA … its amazing … goats cheese, spinach and caramelised onions … whats not to love??? … well it turns out they finally clocked on and have added it to their menu … so I promptly ordered … while Perry opted for Chinese …

photo

This morning I got into work early as I have quite a few bits to finish off before heading to the airport and even then I’ve been told by work to take my laptop and work phone with me in case something urgent comes up … thankfully I wont be asked to come home early from my holiday (which happened to my manager earlier this week) … but instead I have to take my work with me … ah well …

We are both really looking forward to the weather in Istanbul more than anything … temperatures are predicted to hover around the 20 degree mark which is a good 10-15 degrees less than here … and sunshine with some clouds … which sounds great … Dubai has been a hotbed of really rather random weather recently … Thunder and lightning storms … Sandstorms and Earthquakes … will be happy to get away from all that for a few days …

I’ll be leaving the office at just before 11am this morning so this post is going out a bit earlier than usual … I’m hoping we will have a little bit of time before boarding our flight to browse Duty Free a bit … the flight itself is a manageable 4 1/2 hrs … long enough to watch a film or potentially two if you pick them strategically … but not so long that you’ll feel bored or totally drained by the end of it … and the advantage of the afternoon flight is we will arrive in the evening and not have to worry about trying to sleep on the plane … something Perry and I both struggle with on overnight flights …

Anyway I’ll leave it at that … catch you all soon and hope you’ve got a great fun filled weekend planned wherever you are …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … We’re Off To Istanbul …

Leave a Reply

