Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Earthquakes & Stuff …

Hello everyone … another Thursday has rolled round and this week has just felt like it’s flown by … not that much happened … in fact compared to the last few weeks this one has been rather uneventful … (if you ignore a little bit of drama on Tuesday – more about that in a bit) … anyway here is this week’s roundup …

Last weekend was pretty laid back … we spent it mostly at home … as we’re off to Istanbul next Thursday (so excited by the way) … Perry was doing some work at home to try and get ahead of himself a bit before we go away … I had a few different things to be getting on with … the only other things we did was go out to run a few errands and I met up with some friends for lunch on Friday … All in all really quite boring …

photo 1We watched quite abit of The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones over the weekend too … it was nice to catch up on TV shows we like that have started up again … oh and on Friday I dropped my phone on my way out to meet friends for lunch and managed to pretty much smash the front of the iPhone screen … I’d already smashed the back of the phone pretty badly last summer but just stuck some clear sellotape over it and ignored it mostly out of pure laziness at getting it repaired …

I’ve dropped my iPhone loads since I’ve gotten it … it slips out of its leather pouch case as its stretched and loosened up alot so if I hold it the wrong way up the phone just slips out … thankfully its never landed in water or anything … but it has hit the floor alot over the last 18 months … so if anything I’m surprised this hadn’t happened sooner …

Perry found a company nearby that did repairs to the screen and the back for not a ridiculous cost … they pick up and deliver to your home for no additional charge, they picked up the phone around 11am and I had it back before 5pm … not bad really … so now my phone is as good as new again … hopefully it’ll stay undamaged now for a while …

The rest of the week has been pretty uneventful much like our weekend … the temperatures have been soaring though … its like someone flipped a switch and turned the oven on … its 30C in the mornings and usually hits the 40C mark during the day … and it barely dips below 30C in the evenings anymore … oh and I’ve started noticing the Cold water taps give out Hot water so hot it burns … a sign that Summer is on its way …

photo 2Tuesday I ended up working from home for most of the day … I popped into the office but our internet was down and I had a bunch of emails to send so I came home … sometime just before 2pm I was sat on the sofa with my laptop and I started to feel like the sofa was moving … it was pretty subtle at first … and the ceiling was making noises like we usually hear if the upstairs apartment is moving furniture or something … then it got more noticeable … the sofa was shaking … the blinds on the windows were rattling like crazy and the whole building was swaying … the walls and windows were making really loud creaking noises … the whole thing probably only lasted for about 20-30 seconds so by the time I’d realised it was an Earthquake and thought about finding the cats to get out everything had stopped …

Perry got in touch to let me know he was ok and that everyone in his office were heading home so he came back too … It wasn’t that I was scared during the Earthquake but it was more to do with the fact that from the 20th Floor it feels alot worse due to the swaying of the building … the cats seemed fine with it all … both were sleeping and only Hugo woke up from his nap to relocate under the bed …

photo 3Soon after I found out that an earthquake had struck in Iran near the border with Pakistan … and that the quake was felt all over the Gulf region from Bahrain, Qatar, UAE and even as far as India … Pakistan seemed to have been the worst effected by the magnitude 8.0 quake that hit … it was estimated by the time it reached Dubai we felt an earthquake in the range of 4.5-5.5 on the Richter scale … I heard from a couple of my cousins in Iran who wanted to check if we were OK and to let me know my family were all fine, which was reassuring …

The rest of the week and our Weekend is looking decidedly uneventful … I’ve done a couple of Pilates classes this week … have a few more errands to run prior to going away … Perry is working on getting ahead of himself over the weekend … he’s also had a couple training days this week which has meant he’s been working really late nights to catch up on time he’s lost … so we will probably be spending what free time we have this weekend watching TV and taking ‘Cat Naps’ with the boys … 

Considering how hectic March ended up being for us … these last couple of weeks have been a welcome break from the excitement of entertaining guests … while we do love having our friends and family over its always nice when there is some quiet time as well … although I’m not sure how much Perry will agree with me on that considering how late he’s been working lately …

Hope you’ve all had a good week … anything exciting planned for your weekend?

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Earthquakes & Stuff …

  1. May I suggest you get a new protector case for your phone the one you bought Pat has been really good. glad that the earthquake didnot cause any disruption and hope that your trip to Turkey goes well. Tiggy just got back from £250 of dental treatment and guess what our pet plan does not cover it!! All the very best Patrick

Leave a Reply

