Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … An Eclectic Week …

Hello and welcome to our Thursday Roundup … its been a bit of an eclectic mix of stuff happening this week … alot of fun stuff … last Thursday evening Perry had to do some work when he got home but wasn’t feeling up for it … so instead of wasting the evening we jumped into the car after dinner and headed to Mall of the Emirates (MOE) to have a look at some of the Home Decor Stores …

There were a few bits for the kitchen that I’d been looking for … mainly a couple of nice cutlery organisers to go in the drawers … which we found along with a couple of other little bits … so it was a productive trip to the mall …

Friday we spent the day at home … I’d planned to get the kitchen re-organisation finished that day but got carried away making HUMMUS … and by the time I’d finished with that we had to get ready for a BBQ we were invited to that evening …

Saturday we were again at home all day … mostly because we had to sit around and wait for a package to be delivered … after which we headed down to the Middle East Film and Comic Convention (otherwise known as Comicon) at the other end of the Marina … by this time the Sandstorm that had been predicted for the weekend was in full swing … outside it was hot and sticky and everything had this Yellow/Brown ting to it … any gusts of wind just blew sand into your face and eyes … and it even started raining abit …

The actual Comicon was good fun … it was quite crowded but we got to have a good look around and Perry picked up a couple of T-shirts and we got a poster to hang up … I’ll share that once we get round to framing it … We walked home after as traffic was horrendous and its not really that far … the rain started up again as we were getting home … but the Thunderstorms really kicked in later in the evening … lightning and loud thunder along with torrential rain were the soundtrack for our evening … it was a nice change actually …

photo 2Sunday was interesting at work … the morning was fine not any sign of rain … however the sandstorm was still lingering (you can see how everything looked orange through the window in the above photo) … but from about mid morning till the early afternoon thunderstorm came back … and when your office is essentially a tin can it becomes incredibly loud with heavy rain … it was so noisy I couldn’t even hear someone talking to me when I was stood right next to them … bonkers …

photo 1Someone put it quite well when they said that a sandstorm along with a thunderstorm at the same time is really a mud storm … which is what we were left with after the rain cleared up in the afternoon … the roads around the area I work in were flooded so badly in parts there were tankers with pumps trying to clear up the mess …

photo 4 photo 3Problem is the drainage system in the UAE isn’t built for random bouts of heavy rain … it doesn’t happen often enough for it to be a serious concern … but when it does happen there is always plenty of mess to clean up …

I did make it to my Pilates class on Sunday evening and whilst reading a magazine in the car waiting for Perry to finish work I saw this which made me laugh abit … (for those who don’t know a Salik gate is a toll gate which basically charges you about 4 AED everytime you drive through one) …

photo 5

Other than that Perry had a working from home day on Monday … and I skyped my family that evening … it had been quite a while since I had spoken to them over Skype so it was nice to have a chat and catch up …

Tuesday evening I went round to visit our Stef and her twins … Perry was working late and Stef’s husband Bas was out of the country on business so I popped over to see her and the girls for a few hours that evening … the girls are almost 6 months old now and such sweeties … they’ve started smiling properly now too … its so cute … the picture below is of Franka bouncing around with Stef …

photo 2Me and little Mina having a cuddle … although she doesn’t look all too impressed …

photo 3Turns out she was quite tired and was soon napping … open mouthed and looking so adorable … while Franka was rolling round in the background …

photo 1When I showed Perry the pictures he said they looked like they were wearing little prison outfits … and it kinda looks that way in the photos but the stripes were actually blue in real life … they just came out darker in the photos …

Some point during the week I had to stop by the company’s office in the Marina to pick up our post and pay the rent cheque … everyone is site based and as I live the closest to the office I’m now the designated post collection person … which isn’t too bad when you get to enjoy views like this …

photo 1

Among the pile of post I collected was a forgotten Easter basket … the chocolates didn’t last long in the office the next morning …

photo 2Yesterday was a busy day for both Perry and I work wise … I finished later than I’d planned so missed the Pilates class I’d hoped to go to … but I’m planing on going again today so I’m not too worried about it … earlier in the week Perry had suggested doing a date night one evening during the week where we could just go out for a meal just the two of us … which turned out to be great fun …

We ended up going to Red Lobster for a meal and picked up a couple of cupcakes on our way back to the car for desert … although as we were approaching the Mall we saw the latest member of the Dubai Police fleet of Cars pass us on the road … A Lamborghini Aventador … its one of those ‘Only In Dubai’ type of moments  …

564403_10151351190750636_1819621093_nNot even joking … this thing zoomed past us before I could even think to take a picture of it … (photo found via google) … a few others have spotted it in the last couple days and there has been quite a bit of BUZZ about it in the papers and online too …

Other than that this evening is looking to be a quiet one … I have a Pilates class this afternoon and hopefully will be able to pick Perry up after if he isn’t finishing late … and our weekend is surprisingly open and free of too many plans … the only things we have planned are Sani Service (the AC Cleaning people) are coming by for regular maintenance and I am catching with my friend Terri for lunch on Friday … so I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend …

Oh and one final bit of news, which I only recently realised I hadn’t yet shared … is that in exactly two weeks today Perry and I are off to Istanbul for 5 days on holiday … we had planned to go away for our anniversary weekend in March but it wasn’t good timing for either of us … and we ended up having surprise visitors that weekend too … but end of April was a better fit for us both work wise so this trip will be a belated Anniversary Holiday … I also have a Cousin who moved to Istanbul a couple years ago with her husband and daughter so I’m really excited to see them too …

Anyway that is it for this one … if you have any tips on places to go, things to see and or do in Istanbul drop me a comment below … and wishing you all a lovely & relaxing weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … An Eclectic Week …

  1. Pingback: Monday Links For The Week … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

