Hummus 10 Ways … Recipes …

Hello Everyone … did you have a good weekend? Things have been abit random around here weather wise … sandstorms, hot temperatures and humidity are not that strange for Dubai … but throw in thunder and lightning storms, torrential rain and strong winds … well it all becomes rather confusing … its like the weather couldn’t make up its mind this weekend … as one friend put it … a thunderstorm mixed with a sand storm is more like a Mud Storm … and that is pretty much what it’s like out there today … sticky, dirty and damp … not much fun …

Anyway moving on to the point of this post … as you can probably tell from the title this is a post about Hummus … well since I finally laid my hands on some tahini (which I have since found in abundance) … I’ve been on a bit of a hummus kick at the moment and decided to have a try at some alternative varieties of the stuff to see what its like … and I am here to share with you the recipes, results … and which ones Perry and I preferred …

_MG_5088-1Hope you find some inspiration among the recipes listed below … and do let me know if you have any favourites of your own … I found so many recipes for different types of Hummus it was hard to narrow it down … but here goes …

1. Plain Hummus …

Ingredients …

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 Tsp ground cumin
  • Pinch of Salt to taste
  • 4-5 Tbsp Tahini
  • 4 Tbsp Water (or you can use the water from the chickpea can)
  • 1 Tsp Paprika
  • Olive Oil and Paprika for garnish when serving (optional)

_MG_5061-1Ok well this is the traditional type of Hummus … and this is the recipe I used … you just chuck all the ingredients into the food processor till smooth … and you can add more water if you would like it to be runnier … (I also forgot to take a picture of the before for this one) … some people I have noticed online insist that you take the skins off the chickpeas before making the hummus … but seriously who has the time for that? I don’t think it makes enough of a difference to warrant the time spent doing it … but that’s just me …

Of course we both loved this one … ūüôā

2. Roasted Red Pepper Hummus …

Ingredients …

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 3-4 Tbsp Tahini
  • 3-4 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp Olive oil (the roasted peppers I used came jarred in oil so I only used 1 tbsp but if your roasting your own peppers you may need 2 tbsp)
  • 1-2 medium roasted red peppers
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Pinch of Salt to taste

Blitz the lot as above … don’t put all the lemon and oil in at once … taste it as you go along to see if you need it all … I put all the lemon in but only used half the oil in mine … (again forgot to take the picture of the before for this one) …

_MG_4887-1This was a firm favourite with both Perry and myself … certainly one I’ll make again … although next time I’d like to roast my own peppers for it … didn’t have time …

3. Low Fat (No Tahini) Hummus …

_MG_4869-1Ingredients …

  • 1 Can chickpeas
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 6 Tbsp Yoghurt
  • Pinch of Salt to taste
  • 1 Tsp paprika
  • Pinch of Ground Cumin

You can use whatever kind of yoghurt you want in this … obviously a fat free yoghurt will make it healthier still … and its better to use a thicker type such as greek yoghurt for this so the Hummus isn’t too runny …

_MG_4874-1

Perry and I both like this one … but I’d run out of Greek Yoghurt and so I used regular low fat plain yoghurt but it came out quite runny … we prefer our Hummus to be abit thicker … but still tasty …

4. Avocado Hummus (No Tahini) …

_MG_4853-1Ingredients …

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Avocado
  • 2 Tbsp Lime
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 handful corriander
  • Pinch of Salt to taste
  • 1/4 tsp cumin,
  • 1/4 tsp paprika

Blitz the lot together in the food processor … although I chose to omit the olive oil as the avocado is pretty oily itself and I didn’t think it needed it …

_MG_4865-1This one didn’t turn out as nice as I had hoped … something about it just didn’t taste right to me … I can’t quite put my finger on it … If anyone has a better Avocado Hummus recipe please let me know … I felt like if I was going to be eating avocado as a dip I’d rather make a guacamole …

5.¬†Coriander¬†(Cilantro) & Ginger Hummus …

_MG_4892-1Ingredients …

  • 1 Can chickpeas
  • 3-4 Tbsp Tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 inch chunk of Ginger peeled
  • Small handful of¬†Coriander
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 3-4 Tbsp water
  • 2 Tbsp Olive oil
  • Pinch of Salt to Taste

Blitz together … if you want to try and make it abit healthier then you could use more water in place of some of the olive oil in the recipe …

_MG_4897-1I thought this one tasted quite nice and had a pretty good kick from the fresh ginger … however, Perry didn’t like it that much … although I should point out I thought this tasted best within the first 2-3 days … after which its flavour started to change …

6. Sun Dried Tomato Hummus …

_MG_4879-1Ingredients …

  • 1 Can chickpeas
  • 3-4 Tbsp Sundried Tomato Paste (not pesto)
  • 2 Tsp chopped parsley
  • 2 Tbsp Water
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon
  • Small handful of¬†Coriander
  • 2 Tbsp Tahini

If you can’t find Sundried Tomato paste you can use whole sundried tomatoes … both of these have quite abit of oil in them already so I used water instead of more Olive oil in the recipe …

_MG_4881-1This one was a big win with both Perry and me … I loved it … tastes abit like a pizza … which is never a bad thing …

7. Spinach Hummus …

_MG_5043-1Ingredients …

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 Handful of spinach
  • 3-4 Tbsp Tahini
  • 3 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Pinch of Salt to taste
  • 2 cloves garlic

Blitz the lot in a food processor …

_MG_5051-1I had some high hopes for this one … but it didn’t taste the best … it was fine just a bit bland …

_MG_5055-1I realised afterwards that I’d forgotten to add garlic to the mix before blitzing it so that is probably part of the reason why … will have to try this one again sometime and fiddle with the seasoning a bit … any tips on how to make the spinach hummus taste better would be very appreciated¬†…

8. Edemame Hummus …

_MG_5069-1Ingredients …

  • 500g bag of edemame¬†
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 4 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 3-4 Tbsp Tahini
  • Pinch of Salt to Taste
  • 1/4 tsp cumin ground
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper or chilli powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika

If you can find a frozen bag of shelled edemame that is easier … my local supermarket had run out so I had to shell a whole bag of them … doesn’t take that long but its just a bit tedious really … No oil in this one … and no chickpeas for those who may have dietary issues with chickpeas or just for something abit different …

_MG_5071-1I really liked this one however, when I made it the texture of the Hummus was quite grainy which doesn’t really bother me … and the pepper gives it a subtle kick of heat which is nice … Perry was less¬†enthusiastic about it … even so I think this one tastes best the day its made and up to a couple days after …

9. Sweet Potato Hummus (No Tahini) …

_MG_5026-1Ingredients …

  • 1 Can chickpeas
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 1 small – medium potato
  • 1 Tsp ground cumin
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper or¬†Chili¬†Powder
  • Pinch of Salt to taste
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2-3 Cloves garlic

_MG_5028-1This was easy to make … and I baked the sweet potato in the oven for about 45mins the night before making this … let it cool before peeling it and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to make the hummus the next morning …

_MG_5030-1Hands down this was the favourite one of the lot … I took this one and a couple others round to a friends house on Friday evening and it was a clear winner … I really liked the sweetness of the potato balanced with the spicy kick from the chili …

10. Butter Bean Hummus …

_MG_5035-1Ingredients …

  • 1 Can Butter beans¬†
  • 4 Tbsp Lemon juice
  • 1 Tsp ground Cumin
  • 3-4 Tbsp Tahini
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste
  • 3-4 Tbsp Olive Oil

Again this is another non-chickpea alternative for Hummus … and you can pretty much make it with any other type of beans you want …

_MG_5039-1This one wasn’t too bad and tasted very similar to the regular plain Hummus … we both liked it but it wasn’t one that really stood out against the rest …

_MG_5094-1Ok well those were the ten we tried … the favourites out of the lot were the Plain, Sweet Potato, Roasted Red Pepper, Sundried Tomatoes and Edemame ones … although I think the low fat one would be a great alternative to the plain if I’d used a thicker yoghurt …

_MG_5090-1I served up the Hummus with some more of the¬†HOMEMADE PITTA BREAD¬†… Perry helped with the kneading this time … and we had a little taste test of the ten different types for lunch …

_MG_5088-1(The Hummus Flavours are as follows from Left to Right, Top to Bottom – Corriander & Ginger, Roasted Red Pepper, Butter Bean, Spinach, Plain, Avocado, Sweet Potato, Sundried Tomato, Low Fat, Edemame)

_MG_5100-1 _MG_5098-1Have you tried any other flavours of Hummus? Have you tried any of the ones I’ve mentioned above? If so which one is your favourite?

_MG_5092-1That’s it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

