Smoothies … Where We Are So Far …

Hello Everyone … So Perry and I have been having a smoothie every day for almost two weeks now … and I thought I’d share some of the stuff I’ve learnt so far … whats worked and what hasn’t … most of the smoothies we’ve tried have been good …

After spending 3 days making smoothies using our immersion blender I went out and bought a proper blender last weekend … probably the best thing I ever did … if your planning on making smoothies a lot then its certainly worth the investment … and you can get some pretty good and powerful blenders without having to shell out a fortune … always a good thing …

Anyway I though’t I’d share a few of the recipe’s here …

1. Frozen Blueberry Smoothie …

_MG_4797-1

  • 1/2 Cup Frozen Blueberries
  • 1/2 Cup Vanilla Yoghurt
  • 1/2 Cup Milk (Rice/Almond/Cow/etc)
  • 2 tsp Honey
  • 1 Tbsp Oats/Granola (optional for crunch)
  • 2-3 Ice Cubes (optional)

Basically throw the lot in a blender and blitz it up till its nice and smooth … this is enough for 1 large serving or 2-3 small glasses …

2. Breakfast Smoothie …

_MG_4813-1

  • 1 Banana (Frozen in chunks otherwise fresh)
  • 1 Cup Milk (Rice/Almond/Cow/etc)
  • 1/2 Cup Fat Free Yoghurt (any kind you like)
  • 1 Handful of Spinach
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 1/2 Cup Granola
  • 1/2 Cup Ice (if you use a frozen Banana you wont need as much ice)

Again just chuck it all in the blender and blitz … I threw in the spinach and its actually really tasty and you cant taste the spinach at all … this is enough for 1 large serving or 2-3 small glasses …

3. Fruit Medley Smoothie …

_MG_4785-1

For the Bottom Layer …

  • 1/2 Cup Frozen Mixed Berries
  • 1/2 Cup Frozen Blueberries
  • 1/2 Cup Fat Free Yoghurt
  • 1/2 Frozen Banana
  • 1 Tbsp Honey (for sweetness if you want)
  • 1 Tbsp Oats (optional)

For the Top Layer …

  • 1/2 Can of Mangos (or half fresh)
  • 1/2 Can of Pears (or one fresh)
  • 1/2 Cup frozen Pineapple pieces
  • 1/2 Frozen Banana
  • 1/2 Cup Fruit Juice (I used Mango)
  • 1 Tbsp Oats (optional)

Do this one layer at a time and clean the blender in between … I made this using the immersion blender but as we used a lot of frozen fruits it came out really quite thick … It almost had the consistency of a sorbet … This is enough for 2 large servings or 4-5 small glasses …

Middle of last week I started experimenting with some Green Smoothies throwing in a few more veggies in with the fruits … our fridge now looks like this …

photo 1

4. Green Smoothie …

photo 2

  • 1 1/2 Cup Water
  • Half a Head of Romaine Lettuce
  • 1 Handful Spinach
  • 3-4 sticks of Celery
  • 1 Green Apple
  • 1 Pear
  • 1 Banana
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
  • 2 Tbsp Oats (Optional)
  • 3 Tbsp Fat Free Yoghurt

photo 3Blitz in the blender till smooth … this one comes out quite a pale green colour … but this wasn’t my favourite … in fact I had trouble drinking it … it was drinkable just took me a long time to get through it … this recipe is enough for 2 large servings or 4-5 small glasses …

5. Pina Colada Smoothie …

_MG_5075-1

  • 2 Tbsp Coconut flakes
  • 330ml Coconut Water (I used a can of Coconut juice)
  • 1/2 Can of Mango (or half a fresh one)
  • 1 Cup of frozen Pineapple pieces
  • 1 Banana in pieces frozen (otherwise fresh is fine)
  • Ice (if at least two of your fruits are frozen you wont need ice)

_MG_5082-1Thats it … just blitz it up in the blender and serve … I kinda made this one up as I fancied something sweet but not too sickly … and Perry loves coconut so I thought I’d try this combination … the mango went in cause I had half a can in the fridge to use up and the banana helps thicken the smoothie … you can sprinkle some coconut flakes on top when serving to make it look pretty … this is enough for 1 large serving or 2-3 small glasses …

We have had several other types of smoothie so far but as its usually early in the morning and we’re getting ready to leave for work I do forget to take pictures of them half the time … but I’ll be back with some more smoothie recipes soon enough …

One thing I do have to say is that having a smoothie every morning for breakfast has been great … Both Perry and I have barely had any coffee since taking smoothies to work … I tend to throw in a couple tablespoons of oats each time I make them so they are more filling for the mornings …  and in addition to all that my skin is starting to look a lot healthier too … so its a win win situation … plus its always good to get a big dose of nutrients first thing in the morning …

Do you make smoothies? Whats your favourite flavour combination? I’m still pretty new at this but its been great fun playing around so far …

Till next time …

Mina X

8 thoughts on “Smoothies … Where We Are So Far …

  1. Hi Mina! Sounds really yummy 🙂 I have a smoothie that I always make when I’m feeling in a healthy mood. I put spinach, coriander, parsley (any green leafy things I have) cucumber, avacado, celery (if I have any), natural yoghurt, lemon (pealed or sometimes not if you want a boost of vitamin c) glove of garlic, spring onion, salt, (milk optional) and olive oil. It’s awesome trust me. 🙂 I had it a lot when I was pregnant too and when I’m gaming and doing yoga its exactly what keeps me going. Anyway let me know if you try it and what you think of it xxx

  2. Ive been on the paleo diet for 3 months now so Im really strict on my fruit intake but this is what I make everyday (sometimes without banana):

    1.5 scoops of chocolate whey protein powder
    2-3 tablespoons of Greek yogurt (low fat or full fat)
    1/2 Banana
    2 tablespoons of raw almond butter
    1 tablespoon of coconut flakes
    2 tablespoons of oats

    Love you Mina xoxox ❤

    • Love you too … Yeah I add protein powder to ours too although have only been able to find raw almond and other nut butters in Dubai other than in some really obscure health food shop and its ridiculously expensive … I might try to make my own though … Will try the smoothie you suggest too 🙂

      Xxxx

  3. Whoops, add 1/2 cup of unsweetened chocolate almond milk or unsweetened almond milk. Essential for blending.
    And ice…derp.

Leave a Reply

