Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Homemade Goodness & Weekend Plans …

Hello Everyone … so it is time for the Weekly Roundup of stuff we got up to this week … and it has been a great week … busy but not rushed … and relaxed but not boring either … all in all its been pretty good …

But rolling back to last weekend … we spent Friday at home … Perry was getting on with some work stuff trying to get ahead of stuff … while I set about reorganising our kitchen cupboards … it had become a right old mess … I basically spent the day emptying everything out of the cupboards, throwing out all the old stuff that had gone off … and cleaning the shelves thoroughly … by the time that was all over we had to get ready to go out for dinner with some of Perry’s family friends who were in town for a couple days …

Here is what our kitchen food Cupboard looked like before I started … basically a big jumbled up mess …

_MG_4777-1So I left the kitchen half done with all the food from the cupboards strewn across the counters … it didn’t look pretty … But I did pop out in the morning to Mall of the Emirates to get some jars of different sizes to start the organisation process that afternoon before we went out for dinner …

I still am abit astounded all that fit in the cupboard in the first place …

_MG_4781-1Saturday was spent at home … I finished off tidying the kitchen … although I now have a bunch of other stuff to sort out still (utensil drawers mainly) … but I was glad to see most of the kitchen organised nicely …

_MG_4789-1And I also made space for a proper spice drawer … much easier to find the stuff I need …

_MG_4790-1I also ended up making some HOMEMADE PITTA BREAD to go with the Hummus I’d made a couple days before and we had that for lunch on Saturday afternoon …

photo 1I did make a few other things on Saturday but I’ll share those with you later next week most likely … and that evening we had dinner at Johnny Rockets in Mall of the Emirates … Perry and I had been craving some burgers and so we thought we’d go over and try it out …

photo 4 photo 3You know what it was probably one of the best burgers we’ve ever had in Dubai … really yummy stuff … and they do great milkshakes too …

photo 2 photo 5I also had abit of a multi-coloured thing going on with my clothes that evening … not intentional … honest …

photo 2Sunday Perry had day off work and I planned an EASTER TREASURE HUNT for him around the apartment while I was at work … which was fun … and he was even nice enough to share his chocolates with me … although I think he felt guilty cause he didn’t get me any …

photo 3Sunday evening I went to my first Pilates class (above picture is the view from outside the Pilates studio) … it was really good fun … there are some moves I struggled with but I was able to give most of them a try … and when I got home Perry had made a really yummy lentil and pumpkin soup for dinner from a recipe I’d found (I’ll share that later too) …

photo 5We opened up the bottle of Anniversary wine my friend Harri had given us at our Wedding Party last summer … it was good wine … we only had half the bottle though and saved the rest for Monday night …

photo 4Monday evening I had my second Pilates  class of the week … as it was a later class than usual I went to check out some of the smaller malls along Jumeirah Beach Road nearby beforehand … I also stumbled across the only Hello Kitty Beauty Spa … it was one of those “Only in Dubai” type moments …

photo 4 (2)Tuesday was another regular day at work … I ended up going to do a big food shop after work and ended up spending 2hours at the supermarket … once I got home Perry helped me out abit before he had to take a work call … and I finished making dinner … a spinach and sweet potato stew … so delicious … (Also that is a dollop of yogurt on top not a poached egg … although thinking about it that would have been good too) …

photo 3 (2)Wednesday … I was supposed to attend another Pilates class but my muscles were still quite sore from Monday (turns out the Monday class I went to was an intermediate to advanced class so probably abit too much for me on my second attempt) … so decided to listen to my body on this one and gave it a miss … headed home and did something abit different for dinner involving a cauliflower and some Tandoori Spices … it was quite nice but I didn’t feeling particularly great yesterday and wasn’t really able to enjoy my food too much … although Perry did cheer me up when he shared his Terry’s Chocolate Orange with me …

As for today I’ve decided to go do another Pilates class this afternoon … there is a beginners class on and my muscles felt fine this morning so I want to go again … my aim is to go 2-3 days a week … I can do most of the positions but have trouble holding some of them for the right length of time … but the one I have the most trouble with and cannot do is the full plank position … at the moment it puts way too much pressure on my lower back area and is so incredibly painful I can barely hold it for 3 seconds … so my main aim (other than getting healthy, toning up, etc) is to get my core muscles strong enough to be able to hold the plank position for 20 seconds …

This evening well we are just having a quiet night in … there is a fair amount of leftovers in the fridge from this week’s dinners so I won’t be doing much cooking … having said that though thinking back over this last week I’ve just realised I’ve not had any meat since last Saturday (including my lunches) … and you know what I haven’t really missed it that much … I don’t think I’ll be turning into a fully-fledged vegetarian anytime soon … I do still enjoy a good steak and a roast chicken … but its good to know I can go without it for a while and not feel like I’m missing out on anything …

Moving onto our weekend plans it looks to be quite a busy one at the moment … my friend Sarah is moving to a villa today and has invited us over for BBQ round hers tomorrow afternoon … also there is the annual Comicon this weekend in Dubai so Perry is eager to go have a look … we couldn’t go last year so Perry booked us tickets to go this weekend … it should be interesting to see what it is like … I’ve never been to one of these sorts of events … I’m sure I’ll be completely out of place … but it’ll be fun watching Perry getting all geeky over stuff …

I need to finish tidying up our kitchen and I think we are catching up with some other friends over the next couple days although nothing has been confirmed as yet … so it’ll probably be quite a busy couple days …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

