Thursdays Weekly Roundup … Our 1 Year Anniversary … Iranian New Year … & More Visitors …

So much has happened these last few days it feels more like two weeks have gone by … We went CAMPING … saw my Brother … got news of more visitors … work has been getting busier for both of us … we celebrated NOWROUZ / Iranian New Year … and our 1st Anniversary … amazing … so many fun things … I love it when we are busy like this …

Anyway going back to last weekend … Thursday evening my brother came round and while Perry had to work late it gave us the opportunity to catch up and chat over some dinner … which was nice … we hadn’t really had a proper chat like that just the two of us for some time …

Friday morning Perry and I headed off on our camping trip … I’ve posted the first part of our trip so far … stay tuned for the rest over the next few days … My brother popped in to check on the cats over the weekend while we were gone … and he came by again on Sunday after work to see us one last time as he was flying back to the UK early Monday morning … so we had dinner and said our goodbyes before he headed off …

It was actually Sunday before it hit me that the Iranian New Year or Nowrouz was actually this Wednesday and I suddenly realised there was a whole list of things I was missing … I got half of them on Sunday after work and the rest I got from Dubai Mall on Monday … so all in all while I was still missing a few bits I had the majority of the right stuff …

Even some of the stores at the Dubai Mall were gearing up for the Nowrouz Celebrations … I spotted this little setup behind the window of a chocolate shop!

photo 3

If you are interested to know more about Nowrouz and the traditions surrounding it then you can read all about it HERE in the post I did yesterday … for me its alot more about the culture and tradition than it is about the religious side of things … and always has been …

Perry and I were in quite a considerable amount of pain for the first couple days this week following the camping weekend … all the carrying of stuff from here to there didn’t do our muscles much good … but thankfully we’re both better now towards the end of the week …

Tuesday was abit more of a relaxed evening although I left work abit later than usual as I had a few bits to finish up … Perry got home abit late too and we were both quite tired by this point …

On Saturday evening after we had gotten home from camping … and we were both lounging on the sofa … I got a call from my second cousin GHAZALEH … which I thought was abit odd as she was ringing me from Iran on my mobile … but thankfully it was good news … she had called to tell me that she and her mum (my first cousin) were coming to Dubai for a few days … and of course I insisted that they come stay with us … I love it when we have people over …

So they got here this morning … and I headed over to the airport and picked them up … I dropped them off at our apartment before heading back to work for the rest of the afternoon … but I am really excited about the next few days and spending time with them … I didn’t get to spend as much time with my Ghazaleh and my cousin Mehrzad as I would have liked while I was in Tehran in January … so it will be great to have them stay with us for a few days …

My cousin Mehrzad has never actually met Perry yet … but Ghazaleh actually met Perry a couple years ago when we were in Paris … actually Ghazaleh was the first person we saw (that we knew) after we got engaged … and as it happens they get here on our first wedding anniversary … seriously I couldn’t have planned it this way if I tried …

Yesterday at 3pm (Dubai time) it was the Iranian New Year / Nowrouz … and officially Spring begun … I went out of my way this year to make sure I had the proper setup for the new year and even went so far as to make Green Herb Rice and Fish … the traditional Nowrouz dinner (kinda like having a roast turkey on Christmas Day) … I’d never made the herb rice before and I think I went a bit overboard with buying herbs …

photo 2Big slab of Hamour (a local fish) fillet …

photo 1But either way it turned out great … the only thing I’d say is it probably needed a tad bit more salt … otherwise it was very tasty … and there is so much rice left over!

photo 2 (1) photo 1 (1)It was the first ime I was really celebrating it with Perry away from my family … last year Nowrouz was on the 21st March and we were busy in Thailand getting MARRIED … and instead of doing presents this year Perry and I thought we’d go on holiday … but due to timing with both of us having recently started new jobs we thought we’d do our anniversary holiday at the end of April instead of now … (more details about that trip in a couple weeks) … so we had agreed not to do presents this year …

So not really expecting anything Perry surprised me last night with a cute limited edition print … it was of two different converse shoes with the laces tied together … the shoes looked remarkably like the shoes Perry and I wore at our WEDDING PARTY in London last summer … and I love it …

photo 4I believe its also traditional that the first anniversary present is supposed to be Paper … so inadvertently he’d done that too … I just so happened to have a spare frame lying around so in it went and I propped it up over our breakfast bar and above our Haft-Seen …

photo 5Those of you who know me will know that I am impossible to surprise … I think Perry was more surprised than me that I hadn’t expected it … usually if he’s planning a surprise I sniff it out from miles away and force him to tell me … he’s pretty bad at hiding things from me … so he did good with this one …

So far married life has been great … its not always been easy but we always work things out even when we don’t agree … we work well together … and I can’t wait to celebrate many more anniversaries together …

Looking forward to the weekend … hope you’ve all had an equally amazing week!

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

