Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … We’re Going Camping …

Hello Everyone … I know I say this every week but this week really has flown by so fast I don’t even know what happened … quite abit to catch you guys up on … including a visit from my Brother and a camping trip this weekend … but I’ll start with a recap of last weekend …

I covered some of our weekend on MONDAY’S post about how I wasn’t feeling my best … but I felt abit better Saturday morning … we didn’t really have much food left in the fridge … a bunch of condiments, some cheese and a bag of frozen veggies in the freezer … we’d been trying to eat everything we had to defrost our freezer which had a lot of ice buildup … to the point where it was starting to get difficult pulling the drawers in and out … you can see pictures from last week’s CATURDAY post …

So I sent Perry out to get some coffee and I rustled up some yummy chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast!

photo 1Sunday I got a rather desperate text from my brother, who was coming to Dubai for a few days to go to a Wedding, asking about the weather … he was getting quite depressed with the weather in the UK …

photo 2I happily reassured him that it was suitably hot and sunny for his visit … in fact it has rather suddenly gotten very hot in the last week … on Monday I was on my way home and the car registered it was 36 degrees outside … very toasty for 4pm in the afternoon …

I’ve also been trying to keep up with my after work swimming this week … I’m not going to be pushing myself too much to begin with … just need to get used to the routine of it to start with … 2-3times a week for now … but I am enjoying it loads …

Tuesday after work Perry and I met up with my Brother and his friend Yousef for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory in Dubai Mall … we had a good time catching up over food and finding out what my brother was planning to do during his time here …

photo 2After Dinner we headed outside to go see the Dubai Fountain show before we headed home …

photo 3The boys were too lazy and tired after their overnight flight to walk back to their car so they hopped on a Dubai Mall EZ Taxi to take them back to their car …

photo 4 photo 5Wednesday after work I went round to Ian’s along with Sarah to finalise our plans for our weekend camping trip … I had seen this event posted on Facebook being organized by a company called Escape Dubai … I’ve seen them run this trip before and its always been popular and I had mentioned it to Perry saying the next time it comes up we should try to go … so about a month ago we signed up and when I told Ian and Sarah both of them seemed eager to come along too …

Anyway so the plan is we will be leaving early morning on Friday to head up North to Musandam which is territory of Oman although separated from the main country of Oman by a patch in the middle which is part of the UAE … if you Google it on a map you will see what I am on about … we meet up with all the others going on the trip at a meeting point in Kassab to go on a Dhow cruise … after which we will be camping on a deserted beach for the night and will be picked up again the next day to be returned to our cars …

It should be a good weekend away and we may even get to see some dolphins too … exciting stuff … but with 3 out of 4 of us on the trip being avid photographers … you can bet there is going to be a lot of pictures coming your way soon …

I’ve always loved camping … used to do it quite often when I was younger but the last time I went camping was probably back in 2008 when I was living in Vancouver … that feels like ages ago … so I’m really quite excited about this weekend … not to mention we are going in two cars armed with walkie-talkies … the journey is going to be half the fun!

Anyway my weekend is about to start soon … I’m going to be heading home for a swim and then my Brother is due to come round for a bit this evening …

Hope your all having a good week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

