Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … First Week In New Job …

Hello Everyone … time for another weekly roundup over here … this last week has just flown by … I mean seriously it feels like Sunday was just yesterday … overall last weekend was quite relaxing and I covered a bit of it in my MONDAY post … but keep reading for a full catch up on what we got up to these last few days …

Starting with Thursday evening Perry and I headed out for a yummy meal at the Madinat Jumeirah to celebrate the end of my job … the off-roading trip I was supposed to be going to on Friday ended up getting cancelled at the last minute so we spent the day and most of Saturday at home watching TV, playing with the kittens and generally not doing too much … it was just what we needed …

photo 1We went for a swim on Saturday early afternoon in the Swimming Pool in our building … we’ve been really bad at making sure we use it … but now the weather has warmed up and its not to chilly in the shade (after about 2.30 pm the whole pool is in the shade of our building) … we are making more of an effort to go swimming regularly … also by the afternoon the pool water is warmed up from the sun so it was surprisingly warm when we went swimming in the end … by the evening we cracked open the bottle of Sloe Gin a friend of ours had given us as a Wedding Present last year … was yummy stuff …

photo 5

Sunday was my first day at my new job … it went really well … in-fact the whole week was great as far as work went … got straight stuck in catching up on stuff that was left unfinished when the last guy left … (there hadn’t been a Quantity Surveyor on site since end of Jan) and the person I took over from left me some rather hilarious handover notes which keep making me laugh when I read through them …

There are numerous reasons why this job is much better suited to me and our situation than my last one … and instead of rambling on for ages about how much I’m enjoying this job I’m going to bullet point my reasons … hopefully this should make for a shorter post:

  • Perry and I can now go to work together in the mornings (dropping him off only takes me 5 mins out of my way and I still get to the office before anyone else) …
  • Whether I go direct or with Perry it still takes 30mins or less to get in … better than 1hr each way going to Abu Dhabi …
  • Less stress and there never seems to be any traffic along the routes I take in the mornings or afternoon …
  • My manager is quite relaxed about the hours I choose to work as long as I do 8 hours a day … he’s not to bothered whether I come in at 8 or 9 am (so if I drop Perry off I get here just after 8 and if I don’t well I can stay at home and play with the kittens a bit longer before leaving for work at 8.20 am) …
  • At the moment the project I’m involved with is half finished but is on hold for a while with not much progress for the last few months … this means I have some time to catch up with the history of the job before things pick up again …
  • Also this means most people leave work early due to not much happening … so I’ve been forced to leave by 4.30 pm most days because they need to lock up the site …
  • Oh and the icing on the cake is we have a Nespresso Machine at work with a box full of capsules … and I finally figured out how to work it this morning … totally made my day …

One of my co-workers brings his Staffordshire Bulldog to work … such a cutie pie and obsessed with his red ball … (wont keep still for a focused picture either) …

photo 4 photo 5Earlier this week I got a phone call from HSBC (my bank over here) to let me know that my previous employer has informed them I’ve stopped working there … so my final settlement, which is based on your length of service, so as I had only been with the company a short time it wasn’t that much … along with my last months salary was sent directly to my bank account in one payment …

As I have a loan against my name for our car … the law here states your final settlement is taken by the bank to offset against any outstanding loans … the woman who called me from HSBC told me the whole amount was deemed as my final settlement so all of it would be taken by the bank (including my Feb salary) and the icing on the cake was my bank account would be frozen until I gave them proof of my new employment …

At this point I was a bit annoyed … but once the lady finished explaining and I was sure I understood everything she told me … I proceeded to explain my final settlement included my last months salary and by her logic that should not be taken … she agreed and said she can only consider it if I had a way to prove it .. thankfully I did have a breakdown of this from my previous company to send them …

So I followed the lady’s instructions, and emailed it to her, then tried to call her back to let her know I’d sent it … anyway needless to say the number the didn’t work, and I tried calling a different number to get put through but I just kept being passed round the houses and each time having to explain the situation … I eventually got frustrated to the point that I gave up … I emailed her again asking her to call me as I was having no luck getting through to her …

I had given up hope at this point … but not even 30 mins later she called me back … agreed that what I had told her was correct … and that she was not going to transfer my salary but just the final settlement aspect of it … which was great … to be honest it was more than I had expected considering all the hassle that we had been through with HSBC in the past … I had also in the mean time gotten a letter from my company as a proof of my employment … so the woman told me to just go down to my local branch with the letter and some other paperwork to get my access to my account back …

I did that yesterday and so hopefully by the time Sunday rolls round I’ll have my account back again … such a silly thing to have happen … and could have ended up being a lot more stressful …

The rest of the week was pretty chilled out … I enjoyed getting home early most days … went for a swim on Tuesday after work before Perry got home … and yesterday my friend Sarah came over to go through and plan stuff for a trip we’re doing next weekend … (more on that next week) … but I did manage to slice my finger with out big knife … not fun … thankfully it wasn’t too deep although it did sting for ages … but its healing well 🙂

photo 1As for what we are doing this weekend … well I haven’t got a clue … and I quite like that … not having a specific plan for the weekend hasn’t happened for us in a while … usually there is something … I guess we will see how it goes …

Oh and my brother is coming to Dubai with some of his friends for a wedding next week … so I’ll be catching up with him too … which I am really looking forward too … especially as its his birthday on Saturday …

As for Perry well he has had a pretty regular week … he’s been getting home at not too late most nights and we’ve been going to sleep earlier too which is great … all in all … Its been a good week …

Ok well that is it from me this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … First Week In New Job …

  1. Great that you like your new job and that you both can travel together , with Perry working long hours at least you get a bit longer time with each other. Weather going cold again next week in the UK , we must catch up maybe on Sunday as it is Mother’s Day just to remind you both!

Leave a Reply

