Last Afternoon In Shiraz … Lunch With My Family …

In the afternoon of my last day in Shiraz we all had lunch together at my Grandparents … I helped my grandmother get the food ready and listened as my grandparents talked to each other … it was rather amusing actually listening to their conversation … talking with each other in a way that only two people who have spent so much time together can …

My cousins arrived and joined us for food … lunch was a particular favourite dish of mine … Khoresht Kangar … which is basically a stew made with Lamb and a vegetable from the same family as the Artichoke called a Cardoon … it only grows in very specific conditions … i.e. warm dry regions so Shiraz is perfect for this …

_MG_0714-1 _MG_0717-1 _MG_0719-1 _MG_0720-1 _MG_0721-1 _MG_0724-1 _MG_0722-1After lunch everyone dropped off in different corners of the house having a small nap in the late afternoon until a couple of my Dad’s cousin’s arrived for a visit …

_MG_0722-1 _MG_0726-1 _MG_0728-1 _MG_0730-1 _MG_0731-1Later in the evening after Ali took me out for dinner … I had really been craving barbequed lamb liver which is really yummy … so he took me to a place he knew would be good …

photo 5 copy photo 1We ended up getting through 30 skewers of the stuff between us … although I probably could have had more … the look on my cousin’s face when I suggested getting a fourth round of 10 skewers made me realise we’d probably had enough already …

photo 2 photo 3It turned out to be a good idea … once we got up we realised how full we really were …

Thats almost it for the posts about my trip to Iran … just a couple more to go …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Last Afternoon In Shiraz … Lunch With My Family …

  1. az didane baba bozorg va maman bozorget khoshhal shodam onha ham mesle ma peer shodehand che khob kardi be didaneshon rafti .mibosamet.xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

