Monday Links For The Week …

Hello Everyone … only three more weeks left before I start my new job … starting to get excited about it now 🙂 … anyways we’ve had a pretty good weekend round these parts … met up with friends … went searching for a mattress … picked up some bits from Ikea … and we were even surprised by seeing an unexpectedly good movie at the cinema …

We met up with Terri and Cliff for some lunch on Friday afternoon at Jones The Grocer … I hadn’t been to this cafe/restaurant before … but Perry had been to their Abu Dhabi branch … so I was interested to try it out … we had a lovely lunch and it was good to catch up with them … the steak sandwich I had was lovely if not a bit messy to eat …

photo 1Anyway we spent the rest of the afternoon checking out Mattress stores and headed up to Festival City Mall … we wanted to go see Zero Dark Thirty at the cinema even though we’d been told it had been heavily censored over here … however it wasn’t showing at this theatre … instead we went to see a movie called Warm Bodies … not a film I’d heard of before but after a quick check of some online reviews we thought we’d give it a try … it was surprisingly good actually … for a Zombie movie it was actually really quite sweet … even the creepy scenes were more funny than creepy …

We also met up with Joelle and Nathan for breakfast on Saturday morning … it was good to have a reason to get up in the morning … we spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing at home getting on with our stuff …

Right … ok back to the main point … below is a random collection of stuff from the internet that I have been looking at/reading/watching/procastinating over the last week … enjoy …

  1. WHY A STREAM OF CONCIOUSNESS WILL KILL OFF WEBSITES … is this where the Web is headed???
  2. VALENTINO INSPIRED DOUBLE BRAID UPDO TUTORIAL … very cute idea … I’m racking up quite a list of hair style ideas I want to try … will eventually get round to doing some … my hair is getting longer quite quickly actually its gotten to a point where I can tie it up without too many short bits falling out …
  3. HALFWAY HOMEMADE MINI QUICHE … a good quick dinner idea … shame Perry’s not a fan of quiche … I’ll have to try this one night when he’s not home for dinner …
  4. DUBAI RENT RENEWALS – KNOW YOUR RIGHTS AS A TENANT … the issue of rent renewals and increases has been the topic of conversation quite alot in Dubai recently … this article is actually really good at outlining the rights you have as a tenant … many of these I didn’t even know about … thankfully we have a lovely landlord who hasn’t tried to pull the wool over our eyes but its still good to know where you stand with your rights as a tenant …
  5. BATMAN’S ORDINARY ADVENTURES … cute …
  6. RUN PEE … the best website I’ve found for a while in terms of usefulness … they even have an app now too … basically you find which film you want to go see and the website/app will tell you when during the film you can go to the toilet without missing anything vital during the film … it even tells you how long you have to go and get back as well as giving you a synopsis of what you’ve missed! … this is brilliant for someone like me who has a tiny bladder and can rarely make it through a film without having to pop out!
  7. HOW TO AVOID LEAVING DUBAI BROKE … a surprisingly common problem … people get sucked into the lifestyle and after the last financial crash in 2008 many left here broke and or in debt … some tips in this article on how to avoid that … alot of it is just common sense but there are a few useful ones in there …
  8. 55 LEGO RIDDLES … for abit of fun … how many can you solve?
  9. RED VELVET CAKE TRUFFLES … a cute idea for valentines day …
  10. FLORAL SKULLPTURES … Pretty …
  11. LITTLE GIRL SLEEPING PEACEFULLY UNTIL HER FAVOURITE SONG COMES ON … one of the cutest things I’ve seen for a while …
  12. YOU ARE MY WILD … A project involving 14 photographers who take one photo a week of their children to document their lives over the year … beautiful pictures …
  13. BURDA STYLE … I wish I had more time … patience … and a sewing machine … *sigh* …
  14. BACK TO THE FUTURE … I think I shared some photos from this project before … but I do love it … so I’m sharing the project website again …
  15. TIM DOWLING – LIFE IN THE FAST LANE … Funny …
  16. WALL MURALS … something to brighten up your home maybe?
  17. HOW TO DO THE MOONWALK … learn how to do the moonwalk the right way …
  18. LONG EXPOSURE PHOTOS SHOWING COUPLES TOSSING AND TURNING DURING THE NIGHT … I thought this experiment was quite interesting actually … I’ve always wondered how much I move in my sleep … I know some nights I move more than others and I know if I’ve disturbed Perry by how grumpy he is in the mornings … but it would be interesting to see it captured like this in a photo …
  19. SHE’LL SHOP TILL YOU DROP PART 1PART 2 … some humerous advice on shopping with your wife/girlfriend/partner from the perspective of the guy …
  20. VIEW FROM THE TOP OF THE SHARD LONDON – INTERACTIVE … could spend hours looking through this …

That’s if for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

