First Couple Days In Tehran …

Hello everyone … here is the first instalment of my trip to Iran … my first couple days … going to try and not overload it with words … Everything was fine in the morning on the way to the airport and even though my flight was slightly delayed the whole journey to Tehran was easy …

Although all the time we were waiting on the plane it was as if there was a symphony of coughing going on all around me … it was consistent from all directions … the fact that i didn’t catch anything from the flight is somewhat a miracle …

The delay turned out to be a good thing … as soon as I turned my phone on I’d had several missed calls and received one before I’d gotten off the plane … my cousin was trying to get hold of me to let me know he was in traffic and running late … thankfully by the time I’d gone through all the security checks and gotten my bag I spotted my cousin walking in through the door … a case of perfect timing really …

We finally got home after all the stop start traffic on the way back … I’d forgotten how bad it was … Once I’d settled abit we had lunch and my cousin then had to run off … he had literally that day closed a deal on a coffee shop business he had bought into … which was very exciting news … we made plans to go see him there that evening so I could check it out …

_MG_9567-1I stayed at home chatting away with my aunt and catching up with her … I showed her loads of photos of Hugo & Derek and of my Mum from when she visited us in Dubai … we drank loads of Iranian Tea … all while sat in the kitchen which hasn’t changed at all from how I remember it …

_MG_9565-1I’d brought a bunch of stuff over for my aunt … some of it were things my mum had given for me to bring her … and others were stuff I’d picked up … but by far she was the most excited by this little green plastic lettuce knife I’d gotten her … it’s designed so that it doesn’t brown the lettuce leaves after its been cut … which is a problem with the metal knives … I hadn’t realised but she has literally been searching for one of these for years … it was totally worth it just to see her jumping round the kitchen with excitement …

_MG_9570-1Later in the afternoon some of my other aunts and cousins came over briefly to say hi and to see me abit … it was lovely to see them even if it was only briefly … I also got to meet one of my cousin’s little 6month old boy … who is the sweetest thing!

After they left my auntie Nahid and I got ready and headed over to visit my cousin at his coffee shop and have some food with him … we caught a taxi … one of the old school Iranian Peykan cars … although this was one of the better maintained ones and was really clean inside … even so its old enough that it doesn’t have seatbelts in the back!

We eventually found the coffee shop which is in a good neighbourhood too … coffee shops do well in Iran … young people have few other places they can go and hang out … so these sorts of businesses are always doing well … we spent a good couple of hours there chatting with my cousin about his plans for the place … what he wants to change … what hes planning on keeping … we had a couple of pizza’s and it was a really enjoyable evening … a good end to my first full day in Iran …

photo 4 photo 5The next morning me, Auntie Nahid and my cousin Maani had breakfast in the morning together … Maani is into Drama and Theatrical arts … this weekend there was a theatre festival … and my cousin was in the cast for one of the plays being shown on the Friday … majority of the seats are given for specially invited guests for the festival … the plays are then put on general release so anyone can go … but as I was only around for a couple days he really wanted me to see it and had managed to wrangle a ticket for me … my cousin also told my aunt to come along with me and he would see if he could slip her in too … so over breakfast I asked Maani to tell me abit about the play etc … while my Farsi is good considering I’ve not formally studied the language past the age of 7 … and the language of the show was a rather poetic Farsi … its almost like expecting someone who speaks English as a second language to go watch a Shakespeare play and understand it perfectly … its abit tricky and the language used is different to the usual day to day speaking …

After my cousin left to go for rehearsals me and my auntie Nahid went up onto the roof of her building … I’ve always loved going up on the roof … its nothing special … just a small roof with chillers and satellite dishes on it … but I have memories as kids sitting on the roof with my cousins and playing card games etc … looking out from the roof you can see there is alot of construction work going on around my Auntie’s neighbourhood … the same is true all over Tehran at the moment … loads happening … once its all finished it should be really good …

_MG_9579-1 _MG_9581-1 _MG_9584-1

Talk about a lack of Health and Safety on construction sites …

_MG_9654-1 _MG_9660-1 _MG_9663-1Later in the morning my cousin’s daughter Ghazaleh came over for some lunch … we still had an hour or so to wait for the food so we headed out to the nearby high street to get me an Iranian Sim card for my phone … and we got back in time for some yummy lasagne …

_MG_9676-1Ghazaleh also brought me really lovely smelling carnations …

_MG_9815-1 _MG_9840-1 _MG_9830-1 _MG_9821-1 _MG_9817-1Later we went to visit my cousin Arash (My aunt’s older son) … I hadn’t met my cousin’s youngest before as the last time I was in Tehran his wife was still pregnant … The little boy is so adorable … even though he was pretty sick and had a high fever he was such a cutie pie …

_MG_9846-1 _MG_9881-1 _MG_9864-1In the evening my Aunt and I left with plenty of time and made our way to the theatre by metro … we were abit early infact and ended up going for a walk around the nearby park to kill some time … eventually my cousin popped his head out and took us inside to the lobby cafe … whilst we sat around and waited for the doors to open we ordered some tea and I had some Aash Reshteh … which is my favourite type of Iranian soup … its basically a very hearty winter soup …

photo 11

photo 2 copy 2While waiting my cousin popped out again and had managed to wrangle an unallocated seat for my aunt so she could get in too … the play itself was quite good … it was split into five episodes covering different periods of Iranian history up to modern times … focusing on how death changes things etc … once it was over my aunt and I waited outside for my cousin so we could all go home … as it was so cold outside me and my auntie ended up huddling under her woollen cloak thing that she had thrown over her other coat till my cousin finally showed up …

photo 3 copy 2What we ended up doing was dropping my aunt off at home and I headed out again with Maani to visit another cousin of mine Ali who lives in Mashad so I wasn’t expecting to see him on this trip … he had flown in that evening and was going to be staying for a few days for work … so getting to see him was a nice bonus! By the time we got there it was gone midnight and we spent a couple hours there chatting … catching up and eating loads of nibbles my cousin had pulled together … once it got to 2am though we said our goodbyes and made our way home absolutely shattered after the long day …

Thats it for this instalment … stay tuned for more updates over the next few days …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “First Couple Days In Tehran …

  1. Pingback: Our Adventures 2013 Yearbook … Creating With Blurb … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Other Bits & Pieces From Tehran … Family Time, Parties, Rooftop Views … Tehran, Iran … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

