Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Birthday Parties, Resignations, Pizza & Wine …

Its all been happening round here this last week … since getting off the plane on Friday I don’t feel like I’ve stopped doing stuff … its been such a busy week … but for all the right reasons …

Rolling back to the end of last week I had a really good final day in Shiraz with my family and even though my journey home was rather traumatic (I’ll be posting about that seperately later) … I did finally get home in one piece … Perry came to pick me up from the airport which I appreciated … and the balmy 27 degree heat was a stark contrast to the 12 degrees I’d only just left behind … its odd that the temp varies so differently even though I was only an hours flight away …

We got home and even though I initially managed to scare the boys with my loud shoes and noisy suitcase (neither of which they appreciate) … I spent alot of the next 2 hours giving them lots of cuddles inbetween showing Perry all the yummy stuff I’d brought back from Iran … and half heartedly unpacking my bags …

Both of us being tired and not really in the mood for cooking we decided to go out for dinner … I felt like going for a walk and we needed to get some groceries for home anyway … I had done a shop for Perry so he would have food in the fridge while I was gone but it wasn’t a big one and should have only lasted him half the week … but he’d been so busy at work and getting home late most nights that the fridge still had alot of the food I’d bought still in it … although a proportion of the stuff had to be thrown cause it had gone off and or smelt funny …

Saturday morning we took our good friend Brian to the airport as he was finally leaving the UAE perminently to return to the UK … we were sad to see him go but we knew his stay in Dubai was always going to be temporary … on our way back home after the airport we swung past the Emirates ID place to pick up our ID cards … when I showed Perry mine he said I looked like I’d had my hair cut with a potatoe peeler!!! … it really is that bad!

Anyways later that day we were due to go to a 1st Birthday Party due to be held in a park … but as the weather was uncharacteristically rainy all weekend … Perry and I were able ot offer a hand by booking the Party Room and Children’s Play Area in our building for the party … so with a last minute change of location the PARTY went ahead … everyone had a good time and it was alot of fun …

That day was also the day I ended up telling my Director at work that I was resigning … I had hoped to do it in person but as he was on holiday I ended up doing it over text … Sunday was a crazy day at work full of ups and downs … I blogged about it HERE if you want to read the full story …

Tuesday night was my usual Pizza night with friends but instead I invited them over to ours this time and along with Perry we had a rather eclectic mix of food … it was a good evening fuelled with Pizza, Wine and Edemame as well as other stuffs …

photo 1 photo 2It was lovely having friends over and its something we really ought to do more of … we seem to have fallen into this tendancy to go out with friends for meals or to do stuff rather than to go round each others homes and eating in … which is what we did mostly back in the UK … going to have to work on that one abit …

Otherwise work this week has been hectic … since handing in my notice I’ve realised how much stuff I have to wrap up before I go … which is fine and do-able but its been keeping me busy this week at work … and before I know it each day is over … which I guess is a good thing … Perry has thankfully not been having to work very late this week which means even if we are busy in the evenings we can still spend time with each other …

Wednesday evening Perry had to go get a prescription for his eczema and as I was able to get out of work abit early I picked him up from his office and we headed over there together … thanfully the pharmacy in the same mall as the Dr’s office had the medication he needed so we didn’t have to go too far to get it … last time we had to go all the way to Deira to pick it up!

After we were both really hungry and as we were nearby we went to Abshar which is an Iranian restaurant nearby at the time … we’d heard alot about it and even had ordered take away from here before but we hadn’t sat down for a meal … the food was good and service was quick and it wasn’t overpriced either … so all in all we really enjoyed it … saying that though it was very quiet … although we were there mid week so I wasn’t expecting it to be busy …

photo 2photo 1 Knowing their portion sizes are quite large we ordered one main and a few starters to share … we even had a bunch left over which we took home …

Today was relatively uneventful … just a regular work day … but hoping to just have a relaxing night in with Perry and the kittens this evening … we have the full box set of the Soprano’s which have yet to start watching (bought it back during Christmas 2011!!!) … so may make a start on that tonight …

We have loads of plans working out for this weekend … we are meeting one of my workmate Terri and her other half on Friday for some lunch … catching up with Joelle and Nathan (whose Christmas party we went to in December) over breakfast on Saturday … Think we may head to the cinema at some point over the weekend but no solid plans as of yet!

Other plans involve the usual chores and errands we need to do … Perry and I are also on the hunt for a new Mattress and coffee table … our mattress is starting to cause us back pain (mostly me) and sleepless nights (mostly Perry) … we had a memory foam one back in the UK which we loved so going to see if there is an affordable one we can get here … springs are doing my back in … and Perry managed to damage the cheap Ikea coffee table we currently have by standing on it to change a light bulb … lets just say there is a big dent in the middle where his foot once stood!

Thats generally it for news from our end … hope your all enjoying the end of your week … Stay tunned for tomorrow’s post … it is the first of what is looking to be a series of posts about my trip to Iran …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Birthday Parties, Resignations, Pizza & Wine …

Leave a Reply

