So I Quit My Job … A Day Of Highs & Lows …

Hey all … so I should start by explaining that on Sunday I officially quit my current job … I handed in my resignation and in less than 4 weeks will be starting in my new position … it was a day of Highs and Lows … things went wrong … and then things went right … it was abit of an emotional roller-coaster … so I figure I better start at the beginning with this one … I’ll try to keep it short …

All this started back in December when Perry found this position available … still technically in contracting but doing something other than education projects and for an American based firm … this all happened just before the Christmas break … the interview and everything went really well and I left with the promise of an offer within a few days …

But as with all things in Dubai stuff gets delayed … things had to be approved by those with the authority to do so in the US and as usual it takes time … so the whole thing ended up getting pushed back …

I finally got an offer last week while I was still in Iran … I didn’t tell my family incase it all went wrong and I wanted to be sure it was all going to work out before announcing it to everyone!

Anyway so after getting back from holiday I figured I’d go into Head Office first thing Sunday morning and tell my Director I was leaving … Perry suggested I should probably text him first to make sure he would be available to see me … its one bit of advice I’m glad I listened too cause it meant I found out he was on holiday for the week …

So when he asked if it was urgent … I was left in a position I really didn’t want to be in … having to resign via Text message while my Director is on holiday … but due to the tight time frame that my new employer needed me to start … I had to tell him … It didn’t go down too well but after it was a massive relief …

I figured I will just go into Head Office on Sunday morning … speak to HR, hand them my letter … pick up my laptop (which was being fixed) and head back to Abu Dhabi where I’d then have to break the news to the PM and Senior QS I work with … Scan and email my signed offer for the new job … and get on with my current one for the rest of the day … Sounds simple enough right?

Turns out not so much … Got in the office, sat down with HR and had abit of an argument over some technical aspects of my resignation … in the end it all got sorted but I did not leave there feeling particularly happy … the HR guy was being really petty and incredibly unfair over the whole thing … over two days he was arguing with me saying that I had to finish on the Sunday rather than the Thursday otherwise I’d be docked the two days pay over the weekend …

I don’t understand the logic here … its the WEEKEND … who gets docked pay for not working on the WEEKEND???? … after trying to explain my point over and over again I realised I wasn’t getting anywhere so I told him to take it out of my remaining leave allowance and walked out … to be honest I stopped caring … I’m finally glad to be getting out of here, so much so I wouldn’t care if they docked my salary at this point …

I got my laptop and left for Abu Dhabi … Almost had two accidents on my way down … I got to site and realised the IT guy had switched my laptop charger to one that doesn’t fit my computer … so I was stuck on site with a laptop and no power supply … then I couldn’t get my scanner to work to be able to email my signed offer for the new job …

So by this point enough things had been going wrong that I was at a real low point … as happy as I was that I had resigned it felt slightly overshadowed by all the stuff that had gone wrong up until that point …

Then as I was rifling through my desk for some stuff I found this …

photo (1)A small box of scrummy Patchi chocolates … possibly some of the best chocolates I’ve ever had … A subcontractor had given the little boxes to us last week … Although I have no idea why …

Either way not long after finding the box I was able to borrow another guys laptop charger … I fixed my scanner so got my stuff done … and I got a confirmation email from the HR guy to say my Resignation has been accepted … Its funny how Chocolate can fix all problems … 🙂

Then the Senior QS I work with showed up … turned out my Director had already informed  him and the PM I was leaving … at first I was abit annoyed by this but soon realised he’d actually done me a favour … I no longer had to have that awkward “I’m leaving the company” conversation with anyone face to face … I don’t do well with confrontation and my emotions tend to get the better of me … so I guess it worked out for the best …

The rest of the day went by in a bit of a blur … the drive home was really nice actually … not a lot of traffic and the Radio played all my favourite songs … so even though it was a bit of a rough start the day turned out to be pretty great in the end …

So thats the story …

As for the new job … its a much better deal … the overall situation suits me much more … and best of all its based in Dubai … so I’m counting down the days before I no longer have to do the 220km Abu Dhabi daily round trip …

23 days to go …

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “So I Quit My Job … A Day Of Highs & Lows …

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Birthday Parties, Resignations, Pizza & Wine … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

