Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Catching Up With Family Time …

Wow its been a crazy busy week … lots of fun though … having said that I’m going to try and keep this post short … as I’ve got loads of photos and stuff to talk about my trip to Iran which I’ll be sharing over the next couple weeks … don’t want to overload everyone with too much stuff all at once …

I got to Tehran fine and my flight was only delayed by about 45mins so not too bad … picture below from the plane as I left the UAE …

photo 3I spent the first 4 days of my trip in Tehran staying with my Mum’s sister … my Auntie Nahid … the neighbourhood around where she lives has changed quite abit since she first moved there … especially as there is alot of construction going on at the moment … numerous roads are being repaired and flyovers being built … and ontop of all that a number of the neighbouring apartment blocks have been knocked down and rebuilt … so the whole place is going though abit of a transition at the moment … in a couple of years it will look really good …

photo 1Whilst taking a look around my Auntie’s home I noticed this old photo of me and one of my cousin’s from my first visit to Iran when I was three … made me smile …

photo 2 (1)

One of the things I’d brought for my Auntie from Dubai was a plastic lettuce knife … because it’s plastic it doesn’t turn the leaves brown/black after they have been cut which is a problem when using a metal knife … you would not believe how happy she was when she saw it … I would never have guessed something so simple would be such a big deal for someone …

photo 2

I’ve always said that Iran has the worst driving I have ever experienced … I’m sure there are probably other places that are as bad … but its always been a leap of faith getting into a car in Iran hoping you don’t have an accident … But the other day while I was in Tehran … I had gone to change money with one of my cousins and my Auntie Marzieh (my Dad’s Sister) … we saw a Taxi parked on the side of the road … the same as a string of other cars on the same road … but a government tow truck just pulled up along side it … two men jumped out and hooked up the taxi and plucked it off the side of the road and took it to be impounded … the whole thing was over in 5mins … apparently its become really common here now … as we stood there watching this one car being towed away three other tow trucks came past and pulled up alongside other cars along the road …

My cousin Mehrzad told me its very common now … and she’d seen it once when the driver was sat in the car and they took the car with him still in it …

photo 4photo 5photo 1photo 2

On Monday early afternoon I headed to the internal Airport for my flight to Shiraz … again it was all ok other than a 1hr delay … although having said that we were given food on a 1hr flight … even though it was because of the delay I was still surprised we were given something to eat …

photo 4

The view from the plane as we were getting ready for take off from Tehran above and the view as we were approaching Shiraz below …

photo 5

That first evening in Shiraz my younger cousin Ali took me out for some ice cream after dinner … it was really good actually … and in the end we got a kitkat flavour, chocolate ice cream with cake and a coffee flavoured ice cream and shared the lot between us …

photo 2

When we paid and got the change … in place of the really small change that is basically worthless here we were given a couple bits of chocolate in its place … not a bad trade off if you ask me …

photo 1

That’s it for now … just wanted to give you a little taste of some of the stuff I’ve been up to this week … still have loads to tell you and pictures to share … tonight we’re going out for barbequed liver which I’m really looking forward too … really yummy stuff!

Oh and I’ve been speaking to Perry most nights this week … although he’s been working late a lot … I am looking forward to going home tomorrow to see him and the Kittens … been missing them loads too …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

