Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Straight From Sharjah Airport …

Hello everyone … its been a pretty packed week … Perry’s been working late loads and I’ve been getting stuff sorted for my trip to Iran … speaking of which this blog post comes to you straight from Sharjah Airport … seems to be the cheapest and quickest option for a flight to Iran … but more about that later …

To start with a little recap of last weekend … Thursday evening I got out of work at 5pm … and all was good for the first 15mins of the journey … then I hit horrendous traffic … I had the radio on and was waiting for the traffic update so I could find out if there had been an accident … and as I had expected that was the case … but it wasn’t just one accident but three … three seperate accidents within a 5km stretch of road … police cars and ambulances kept overtaking on the hard shoulder while the rest of us crawled along in our cars … a Police Helicopter kept circling over head so we knew it had to be bad … some of the wreckage’s I saw were pretty horrendous too … I didn’t see anything from the last accident just the rememants of broken glass strewn across the road … but there were reports a car had been on fire … at the end of the day it was one chaotic mess which set the tone for the rest of the drive home … took almost twice as long as usual to get back …

We spent most of the weekend catching up with friends over breakfast and attending a garden BBQ on Saturday afternoon … Friday after breakfast and a walk along the beach Perry and I spent most of the day at home … Perry had to do work while I got on with other bits and pieces around the house and played with the Kittens … in the late afternoon we headed to Ibn Battuta to go see Les Miserables at the cinema … which I loved …

Sunday we were back at work … even after being here for almost 16months it still feels odd going to work on a Sunday … I dont think that will ever change … Perry told me he was going to be late that night so I spent the evening catching up on my TV programmes and cuddling the kittens … when he did eventually get home after 10pm he finally ate the dinner I’d made … proclaiming that the ‘chicken tastes amazing’ … which would be fine and a lovely compliment … except I’d made Salmon!

Monday and Tuesday were equally uneventful days at work really … other than the epic fog both mornings which at some points was impossible to see through … Perry worked late both nights so I’ve started watching the latest season of Glee to keep myself entertained in the evenings … Also been getting on with packing and sorting out last minute things for my trip to Iran … but I’ve missed having him round in the evenings …

photo 1Wednesday I finished work early as I had to head back to Dubai and drop off my laptop at Head Office … the trackpad and mouse buttons on the laptop have stopped working so I’m forced to use a seperate mouse … which is fine but can be annoying sometimes … so hoping the IT guy can fix it while I’m away … Had the yummiest Panini for lunch at the mall … I found the place by accident and they don’t really advertise their sandwiches much … its mostly a juice bar … but they do a mean Tuna Melt Panini which is my favourite for a treat …

photo 2

Also we got to babysit baby Charlie on Wednesday while his parents had a night out at the movies … I had just enough time before heading over for babysitting duties to finally pack my suitcase … Sorting out my hand luggage was the most time consuming …

photo 3

Today is actually a public holiday in the UAE so Perry was able to drop me off at the airport this morning … just killing some time before my flight … I’ve been lacking abit of motivation and creative inspiration lately … I’ve barely picked up my camera since Christmas … so I’m hoping this trip will get me back some of that enthusiasm I had prior to this little slump … I find it happens every now and again … a mini creative burn-out … the break and change in scenery should help re-motivate me for when I get back …

Right … I better go to my gate now and catch my flight …

See you on the other side …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Straight From Sharjah Airport …

Leave a Reply

