Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Freezing Weather …

Hello Everyone … and welcome to another weekly roundup … its been a rather busy week but thankfully things have eased off abit in the last couple days … but saying that we do have a pretty hectic weekend coming up … lots to do … people to see … etc etc … but first I’ll start with what we got up to this last week …

Thursday night last week Perry and I decided to head out for dinner along JBR … which was nice enough … we headed to Wagamama’s and whilst wandering along The Walk after caught an unexpected Fireworks display going on at one of the hotels …

photo 5On Friday morning we headed over to Ikea … and after getting home Perry spent most of the afternoon putting furniture together … we headed out again in the evening for some food and popped over to Ibn Battuta Mall to go see The Impossible at the cinema … we both enjoyed the film although I can understand some of the critisism’s people had about it … it was very emotional and quite graphic in its depictions of the Tsunami and its aftermath … but worth a watch …

I also realised with my upcomming trip to Iran that actually its going to be rather cold when I go there … and after going through my wardrobe I have also realised I lack cold-weather-appropriate clothing … I’ve left all my winter stuff in a suitcase in my Parent’s attic … the biggest issue I had was shoes … most of my shoes here are ballet flats … not really any good if its raining (or snowing) … so while at the mall I picked up a pair of boots … nothing fancy … just something to keep my toes dry and warm …

Perry and I both got up late on Saturday morning … both grumpy and annoyed by the disturbed sleep we had the night before … the fire alarm in our building went off FOUR times in one night … started at 1am and the last one went off at about 8.30am … we were not impressed … not to mention the cats (and especially Derek) get really frightened by the loud siren … thankfully all were false alarms which only lasted a couple mins at most … its just incredibly annoying when it happens in the middle of the night …

Anyway once we actually got up … Perry got on with finishing his Ikea assembly stuff while I got on with other wonderful house chores … it was a pretty normal morning at home really … usually if we dont have something planned for the weekend there is always something that needs to be done round the house … as much as I’d love to just lounge around doing nothing I get aggitated when I know there is something I need to do … so I just do it and get it done so I can then relax …

Saturday evening we went out for dinner at the Atlantis to the Italian restaurant there Ronda Locatelli … it was really good fun and it was great to see Paul and Sarah again … I hadn’t seen them since before Christmas so it was lovely to catch up with them …

Sunday came round all to quickly and we were back at work again … and it was so cold … in fact its been so cold all week … well atleast its been cold by UAE standards … the mornings have been a chilly 13-15 degrees … I sit at my desk wearing two jackets and a scarf … shivering with my mug of coffee for the first couple hours of each morning … waiting for my fingers to defrost … the thing is while it doesn’t sound that cold on paper … and my friends and family back in the UK will probably be rolling their eyes at my complaining right now (which is fair enough) … I work in a temporary site hut … basically a tin can … which when its cold is basically like sitting in a fridge all the time … (it starts getting warm by about 11am) … that combined with my lack of cold-weather-appropriate wardrobe (see 4th paragraph) … makes it feel alot colder …

photoSunset on my way home from work the other day)

Monday night after work I went on a bit of a cooking roll in our kitchen … I made more chocolate Truffles like the ones I’d made for Perry’s Christmas Gift to take round for my weekly Pizza night … I made dinner and cooked my work lunch meals for the rest of the week … as well as making a massive double batch of Chilli … I got 7 portions out of it in the end and with a couple to be had during this week … the rest are going in the freezer as ‘ready meals’ for those nights when we’re too tired to cook … so with the mega cookathon out of the way I’ve barely had to do any other cooking the rest of the week … I even prepped all my salad stuff for the whole week that night too … I need to get into the habbit of doing this more often … The rest of the week has been alot more relaxing as a result of a few hours spent in the kitchen one evening …

Tuesday evening I went round to a friends house for our week’y Pizza night which was good fun … its always nice to see friends and hang out …

Thats pretty much it for stuff we did this week … Perry’s gotten quite busy at work lately and got home abit late last night … and probably will be late again this evening too … but as he puts it he’d rathe work late during the week than have to give up his weekends … which would be my preference too where its practical …

As for our weekend plans … well we have breakfast plans both mornings to see friends … I’ve realised we’ve gotten into the habit of seeing friends for breakfast alot over hear … its not particularly a bad thing … just different to when we lived in London … its just a nice way to start the morning …

Then we have the Sani Service people coming by on Saturday afternoon to check up on our AC units … possibly going to the cinema on Friday night and we are going to our first BBQ of the year on Saturday afternoon … so should be a fun filled weekend …

Oh and in the midst of all that I need to do some last minute shopping before I go to Iran … a week today and I’ll already be there … 🙂 … really looking forward to the trip now … seven days and counting …

Thanks for tuning in … and hope you’ve all had a great week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

