Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Busy Week & A Quick Trip …

Hello everyone … I am so glad it is finally the weekend … my first full week back at work in the new year has not been a particularly good one … work itself is fine … that is not the issue here … the biggest problem I’ve had this week is that my body seems to have given up on me … it’s not been treating me well these last few days … and doing the solo 220km drive to Abu Dhabi each day is something my body is refusing to adjust to …

I’ve not been sleeping well … waking up atleast twice during most nights … my back has been particularly painful all week … this is the worst it’s been for a long time … I’ve had really bad stomach aches … just a twisty turning feeling … but that combined with my back pain is so intense it actually makes me feel nauseous  … and the other night I woke up screaming at 3am as my right calf muscle decided it would be a good  time to start having a spasm … it didn’t last long … a few minutes at most but it was excruciating at the time … had a sore leg for most of the next day … and on top of all this I’ve been dealing with my allergy symptoms too …

It’s not been a good week …

Anyway … so my little rant is done I’ll move on with what we got up to this last week … Friday and Saturday was relatively relaxed … spent the weekend resting and getting our lives back to normal after almost 3months of visitors … got loads of stuff organised and had a start at some spring cleaning in our bedroom … we also caught up with some friends for dinner on Saturday evening and tried a new breakfast place along the beach on the Saturday morning …

Sunday Perry and I were back to work … it’s not been too bad … the drive isn’t the worst part and I’ve mentioned this before … it’s mostly the other drivers who drive recklessly and the stress of the drive is totally draining … to add to this there were two big accidents on the roads on Sunday … one in the morning on my in which made me over 30mins late and one on the way home which was horrendous … was stuck in the traffic for that one for almost 45mins …

But back home on Sunday evening we had a relaxed night … we Skyped Perry’s family and my family quickly just to see how everyone was doing … my Mum had finally gotten home from her trip on Saturday afternoon … she had a few days stopover in Istanbul on her way back to visit my cousin who lives there now …

Monday wasn’t a particularly eventful day … but I did meet up with a few friends in the evening for a Pizza night … so it was nice to catch up with them for a few hours …  Oh and the weather is picking up now … the car registered it being 30 degrees the other day … first time that’s happened in about a month …

photo 2Tuesday was actually quite a relaxing night in for us … My Mum had brought over a George Foreman grilling machine thing for us … IT IS AMAZING … I kid you not we have used it every night this last week … I’ve Grilled Salmon (twice), Tuna Steaks, Beef Steaks, and lots of Chicken … its brilliant … the food cooks in half the time and is so much more tasty too … the chicken doesn’t dry out … steaks are tender and the fish was perfect … cleaning up is easy too … no complaints from me …

photo 3Only down side is we only have plugs on one side of our kitchen so due to a lack of counter space and a bunch of other stuff on these counters we constantly have to put the George Foreman away and get out again … not the biggest deal just a bit of a hassle …

Wednesday was a good day … I got to leave early and was home at a reasonable hour for the first time this week … Perry however got home later than usual … His eczema has been acting up alot recently … and we think its something in our room that is making it worse …  anyway while we try and figure out what it is that is causing his reactions to worsen … Perry has been to see a few different Drs about it … they have tried different creams so far nothing has really worked … and yesterday he went to see another Dr about it … he’s been given a different prescription for it … but oddly it was for a very specific Pharmacy in Deira …

Anyway so he came home and we headed out together to go find this place … we had a vague idea where it was and a little sketch map on a post-it note to guide us … its times like these when I miss having a proper address system … over here you give directions based on main roads, exit numbers and landmarks … it can get very complicated if you don’t know where you are going …

We found it in the end without much hassle … and after we got his stuff we stopped at an Iranian restaurant we happened to drive by called Abshar to get some food on our way home … it was very good … and this is one of only restaurants (they have a few branches in Dubai) that make their own traditional Iranian Sangak bread … very yummy stuff …

photo 4Today I’m glad it’s the end of the week … what was supposed to be a relaxing week of not doing much has actually turned out to be relatively eventful … and the weekend looks set to be pretty packed as well … We have a trip to Ikea planned, I’m teaching a beginners photography one day course, and we’re meeting up with friends for Breakfast and Dinner at some point over the weekend too … so it looks to be busy …

I’m hoping tonight will be relaxed … we may go to the cinema if we’re up for it … but otherwise just going to be catching up on some TV …

Oh and a final bit of news … I am going to Iran for 9 days at the end of the month … eek … so looking forward to it … I’ve kept meaning to go but wanted to take Perry with me … but as he’s just started a new job I don’t know when he is going to be in a position to be able to take a week off work to come … so I figured I may as well go and see my family now … I’ll be going to Tehran first to see my Mum’s side of the family … and then I’ll fly down to Shiraz halfway through the trip to spend the rest of the time with my Grandparents and my Dad’s family …

It’s been a while since I last visited … I saw my Grandparents in October of 2011 when I popped over for 3-4 days before I started work when we first moved here … but I hadn’t been to Tehran since the Summer of 2011 so it’s been over a year since I’ve seen most of my family who live in Iran … I am really looking forward to seeing everyone …

photo 1I had held off booking my ticket till this week even though I’ve had the time booked off for ages … this is mainly because when Perry changed jobs we decided to change my residency visa to be under his sponsorship … it just makes a few things easier in the long run … but to do this his company needed my Passport … and unless I got it and my residency visa back I wouldn’t be able to leave the country … so it wasn’ t worth booking a ticket before getting it back in case it got delayed for any reason … but I did get it back at the end of last week … so after a final confirmation of dates with my family in Iran I booked it!

So that is it for all for this week’s news …

Thanks for tuning in … and hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

