Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Random Weather & Christmas Stuff …

Hello everyone … time for another weekly roundup … its been an eventful week for us … nothing major but busy enough anyway … and still loads coming up over the Christmas period too … really starting to look forward to it now …

Starting with last weekend … if you hadn’t already read about it … I went OFF ROADING last Friday with my friend Sarah and her Red Jeep … it was alot of fun and had such a great time … even got to look like a loony spinning round in the rain in the middle of the desert … well it doesn’t happen very often so got to make the most of it 🙂 …

We went to see the Hobbit film at the IMAX on Saturday which was great fun … and swung past the Gold and Diamond park on our way to get a couple estimates for how much it would cost to fix my ENGAGEMENT RING … Perry and I also caught up with friends over breakfast both days … and organised dinner on saturday evening with another … so it really felt like we had done alot that weekend … which we had …

Sunday was a pretty grey day overall and by the time we got home it had started raining … and it carried on raining over night and into the next morning … it was odd to see so much rain … it was almost like being back in the UK …

photo 1But by the afternoon it had brightened up … it was warm again and all you could see were blue skies and fluffy clouds …

photo 2Monday evening I got to Skype one of my best friends Declan who I hadn’t spoken to in ages … we became really good friends when we both were living in Vancouver and since we both moved back we’ve kept in touch ever since … we got to chatting and he was asking how the blog was going and everything when I remembered that this whole blog was his idea in the first place … he didn’t believe me so I trawled through my facebook history to find it and sent him a screenshot too … it was great getting to chat to him and I really need to make more of an effort to Skype my friends more … but its alot harder than it sounds when there is a 3/4hr time difference involved … (click to see the pic bigger)

Screen Shot 2012-12-17 at 22.47.01Perry had the day off on Tuesday … he finished he last job on Monday and didnt start the new one till Wednesday so used his day off to relax, get his hair cut and sort out getting some of his suits tailored … I think by the end of his time at the Ibn Bhattuta Mall he was getting bored and wanted to chat … however I was busy trying to get work done at the time … led to a pretty one sided conversation …

photo 4So Perry started his new job on Wednesday which seemed to have gone really well … alot of people were on holiday so only a few guys around the office … which should hopefully mean he can ease into the new role rather than diving head first … especially over the holidays … That same evening he was out with his old work colleagues for a few leaving drinks … so I only saw him briefly for about 5mins when we were both home …

I had to leave soon after he got back as I was heading over to Pizza & Wine night at my friend Ian’s … picked up Sarah and another friend Andy on my way in the taxi … Andy is back off to the UK for Christmas so we had a little early Christmas party of our own … Sarah brought along cute little stockings for us … full of yummy sweets … which I am now nibbling on during my day at work …

photo 5We spent most of the night chatting … telling stories … jokes … etc … and after we’d been through about a bottle and half of wine between us … Sarah showed us this picture (see below) which had us cracking up in stiches … I still think its really funny but the wine probably helped abit with the uncontrolable giggles last night …

photoToday is a good day for a number of reasons … 1) its the end of the week … 2) I only have 2 working days out of the next 12 … and 3) My Mum arrives tomorrow … so plenty of reasons to be happy its a Thursday today …

photo 3This weekend plans are to pick up my Mum tomorrow morning from the airport … spend the day around the Marina most likely … show her around the area etc … then probably go out for a nice meal … keeping it relaxed and low key … then on Saturday morning want to take her to the RIPE market in Al Qouz … Perry and I have been a few times before and really like it … they sell loads of local food and veg and there are plenty of stalls selling other locally made products/crafts etc …

We have loads of other stuff planned both for the weekend and beyond … but I’m not going to give it all away now … so thats it for this week … have a great weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

