Monday Links For The Week … UP House, Mcafee, Recipes & Animal Prosthetics …

Hello Everyone … hope your all having a good start to the week … I’m doing my first full week of work in over a month … so it’s already feeling like a long one … but with our trip to Oman at the end of the week it’s not been too bad …

Saw this circling facebook yesterday … made me chuckle … for a long time …

Ok … getting to main point of this post … by now you know how this goes … below is a selection of random/interesting/inspiring stuff that I’ve been reading/looking at on the interwebs this last week … hope you enjoy … Oh and as usual if you feel like sharing something leave a link in the comments below …

  1. ELECTRICAL TAPE FRAMES … Perfect little DIY options for framing posters/pictures/maps/ etc on your walls … particularly good for if your renting … as it wont leave marks on the walls … and cheaper than buying frames too …
  2. MARY BERRY AND PAUL HOLLYWOOD CHRISTMAS CAKES RECIPES … I know its still abit early for Christmas stuff … but after been hooked on the Great British Bake Off this year … I thought it was only right to share these yummy recipes …
  3. ANIMAL PROSTHETICS … after Perry showed me THIS article on the BBC website I saw this other post on Bored Panda and had to share … such sweet stories …
  4. 21 THINGS TO LOOK FOR IN A BEST FRIEND … my husband was the first person I thought of when reading through this list … I am lucky enough to have married my best friend … and even if we don’t always agree on everything … we make a good team … 🙂
  5. MARSCAPONE PUMPKIN PIE … I tried pumpkin pie for the first time while I was living in Vancouver … and I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did … haven’t really had a good one since then … I might try making my own soon and this recipe sounds like a good one …
  6. ON RAIN WATCH IN DUBAI … I was going to write about this myself … we had brief warnings that it might rain last week … but this Dubai Housewife blogger said it much better (and funnier) than I could … made me chuckle when I heard it on the radio the other morning … “10 drops of Rain in Jumeirah” and were on official rain watch …
  7. BREAST VEST … whilst I dont have any children myself yet … we know a few couples out here with newborn and young babies … so this vest that turns any top into a breast feeding top seems like an awesome idea … not too expensive and with international shipping too … could be a good Christmas gift idea for someone you may know who is expecting …
  8. BOY WONT WEAR HEARING AID BECAUSE ‘SUPERHEROS DONT’ – SO MARVEL CREATES ONE … possibly the best story I’ve heard so far this week!
  9. HAND PRINTED QUILT … PART 1 & PART 2 … I would love the time to do more sewing and actually making some things for our apartment … but frankly I barely have the time to do everything I already do without feeling burnt out … not to mention the serious lack of a sewing machine making alot of these DIY soft furnishing ideas abit impractical … ah well … file it away into my long list of things I’d like to do one day …
  10. GRANDMOTHER DELIVERED MY BABY … very sweet and touching article on the Guardian about a woman who’s 90+ year old grandmother delivered her baby at home when the Midwife couldn’t get there in time …
  11. CITRUS SPARKLER COCKTAIL RECIPE … looking for something abit light and refreshing to drink over the holidays??? … this cocktail sounds and looks perfect!
  12. WHO IS MCAFEE … most people will know about John Mcafee as the creater of the antivirus programme … but after I read THIS article about him being on the run in Belize and found the link to his BLOG … I’ve been keeping up with his side of the events … still working my way through the BACKGROUND section on the blog to get a better understanding of the situation … but it makes for interesting reading …
  13. SESAME SYNCROTRON IS A FLASH OF UNITY IN THE MIDDLE EAST … its nice to see the scientists in the Middle East can put aside politics and play nice …
  14. REAL LIFE “UP” HOUSE … the Pixar movie UP had me crying my eyes out in the first 10mins … I can’t watch it again … but this article did lift my spirits abit … quite cool actually …

Anyways … thats it for this week … hope you are all keeping well …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Monday Links For The Week … UP House, Mcafee, Recipes & Animal Prosthetics …

  1. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter
    and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the
    shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

