A Day Out At Aquaventure Waterpark …

So the morning after our BRUNCH session and drinks at NASSIMI … the boys and I hopped in the car and headed back to Atlantis to go to the Aquaventure waterpark … we were all pretty excited … well I was literally bouncing … I love waterparks and had been wanting to go since we moved here … for some reason or other we kept pushing it back as other things took priority … so I was really looking forward to it …

I’d also been to Aquaventure at the original Atlantis Hotel in the Bahama’s a few years ago when I went traveling with my Brother … and so knew it would be a good day out … We started off with some rather old school music on the radio for our drive over there … think Peter Andre (Mysterious Girl), Spice Girls, and such other tunes from the 90’s!

I had also gotten hold of a couple underwater cameras to use at the park but as it turns out there are very few places here that process these … so the only place I could find said it would take a week to get the images back … Hopefully I’ll get these soon and will upload them later … in the mean time I will leave you with the photos from my trusty Point & Shoot Sony Camera …

180 Degree view of the beach at Aquaventure … as you can tell it was a quiet day …Click the image above to see it larger …

It was a rather quiet day at the waterpark … which we were surprised about considering it was a Saturday … but having said that Dubai generally felt quiet that weekend … maybe it had something to do with the Public holiday … but either way it worked out well for us … meant we could get a good spot by the pool …

After having been on a bunch of the rides, slides & rapids … Perry and I were getting hungry so we left Mike and Adam to go on a few more and arranged to meet them after we’d eaten on the beach …

Over lunch Perry and I were chatting away and it we both felt like we were on holiday … I dont know what it is about waterparks (probably the fact that we’ve only ever been when on holiday … the UK doesnt exactly have the weather for it) … but we both felt relaxed and the day had a really holiday type feel to it …

The lifeguard would every now and again for for a paddle in his canoe …

After our little walk along the beach and paddle in the sea … we found the guys on a couple sun loungers …

While I was catching some sun on the bean bag seats … the guys went off to play some volleyball on the sand court nearby … I soon got too hot from the sun and went to take some pictures of them … (I’m not really built for sun bathing … I can’t usually stand it for more than 10-15mins) …

I soon got bored of watching the guys diving around in the sand and headed back to our loungers by the pool while they finished off their game …

After the guys got back Adam had to go for a dip in the pool to wash all the sand off his back …

Perry was starting to feel abit unwell at this point … it was a combination of tiredness and a naggling cold that wasnt going anywhere … so I offered to go get us some frozen yoghurt to try and cheer him up … on the way I detoured to go up the pyramid type structure from which all the slides come off … to take a few pictures of the views …

Can you spot the guys? (hint – by the red towel)

Lots of fruit, nuts and granola in that cup with the Mango frozen yoghurt I had … Perry went for a Chocolate option …

The large aquarium/shark/fish tank … a couple of the rides (Shark Attack & Leap of Faith) had tunnels at the end that went through this tank … Shark Attack is a fun tube watercoaster ride … where you come out at the end into a long tunnel through the tank … you float along at the end with plenty of time to enjoy the view of the fishes … however Leap Of Faith is a near vertical drop for most of the way down and you shoot through the fish tank tunnel at the end so fast I doubt you’d see anything …

Perry decided to nap for the last hour or so of the afternoon and so Mike, Adam and myself decided to have another round on the rides before we left … and to finish off the day the guys did the Leap of Faith … I selflessly stayed behind to take photos of them and was joined by Perry on the viewing platform to watch them take the leap …

Above is Mike making his way down … and below is Adam … now alot of people say nothing on the way down (like Mike) … and others decide to scream their heads off … then there are the few (like Adam) … who swear their heads off the whole way down … the stream of words that came out in the few seconds it took to go down the ride left everyone on the viewing deck sniggering/laughing afterwards … It left me wishing I’d filmed it …

Well after that we were done for the day and after a quick shower and change … we walked back to the car park and headed home … tired but happy after a great day out …

I’ll update more from our day at Aquaventure once I get the disposable images back … which should be soon (fingers crossed) … Until then I still have one more update from our weekend with the guys …

Till next time …

Mina X

6 thoughts on “A Day Out At Aquaventure Waterpark …

  1. Pingback: Aquaventure Waterpark … Part 2 … The Disposable Images … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Aquaventure Waterpark … The Atlantis Dubai … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

