Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Abu Dhabi Runs, Visiting Guests & Eid …

This week has been long … and I am so glad its almost finished … really need this weekend … badly … to be fair though this week hasnt been all bad … just had some things change around which has meant its felt like a long one …

Starting on a positive note … I made risotto for the first time this week … and it turned out really well actually … probably not a classic risotto but I ended up just chucking in a bunch of veg I had lying around … and along with the constant stiring for 30mins made me feel like atleast my arms got some exercise …

On Monday afternoon I got the dreaded text message I had been hoping would never come … it was from our Project Manager on site in Abu Dhabi to tell me that the internet was connected and the office furniture had arrived … I therefore no longer had a valid excuse for not being based in Abu Dhabi … I spent the rest of that day clearing my desk in head office …My new desk in Abu Dhabi …

Been doing the drive now for the past few days with Perry and its been ok … we were abit late on the first day which meant Perry was late to work … but we expected there to be some teething problems the first few days while we get used to the timings etc … it was much better the rest of the week … to be fair the drive isn’t the most annoying part … as dull as it is … I guess its still abit of a novelty (I’m sure that will wear off fast) … its more the fact that I have to wake up 20mins earlier than usual and get ready faster … those 20mins make the world of difference in the mornings!

The rest of the office room … and the broken blinds …

To give you an idea of the rather bland drive to Abu Dhabi … For those of you fortunate enough not to have experienced it … here are a few shots from the road …Some trees …

There are a number of mosques along the way … this is one …

The road to the office …

The Bawabat Al Sharq Mall across the road …

Perry had fixed a bunch of stuff in our flat last weekend … and there are still a couple bits left to finish off … so I popped into the DIY shop earlier in the week to get what Perry needed finish up this weekend … and saw this …

Christmas Decorations going up!!! … I mean its not even November yet … its barely halfway through October! … Everyone is going christmas crazy earlier this year … speaking of which we need to sort out a Christmas tree … oh and anyone have any tips on how to stop the kittens from climbing/chewing/generally destroying the decorations on a tree???

A couple days ago I had to wait a while for Perry to come pick me up after work … He had a meeting run late and so I entertained myself at the mall across the road … Wandering around I noticed this restaurant still being finished up … apparently it was a rather impulsive decision to build it … according to the sign above the door …

The mall is so new that half the shops arent even open yet … makes some parts of the mall feel like a ghost town …

Ended up spending most of my time in Starbucks with my laptop and a Latte …

This week I’ve also been in planning mode and booked a bunch of brunches to see us through to the end of this year … four of them to be exact … first one is next Friday with Vicky and Rachel … can’t wait 🙂

Also had confirmation that a couple of Perry’s friends, Mike and Adam, are going to be coming out to stay with us for a long weekend in Mid November … so busy finalising ideas on things to do when they are here …

Next weekend is Eid Al Adha … and over here its called Big Eid … as there is usually 1 or 2 days national holiday for this eid that normally tacks onto a weekend … it was officially announched that Eid was to be on Friday the 26th this year which means we will get the Thursday off …Due to all the left over holidays Perry and I left for this year we have booked a bunch of days off so we’re only working about 3 full weeks between now and the end of the year … practically part timers!

We don’t have much to do this weekend … which is probably a good thing as after looking at my diary we’re going to be pretty manic for the next few weeks … just have a few things to tidy up around the flat … and relaxing with the kittens … and I can’t wait!

Hope your all having a great end to your week and wish you all the best for the weekend …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

