Spicy Sweet Potato Soup & Soda Bread …

I was fancying some soup lately and haven’t actually made any since we moved here … not that it ever really gets cold enough for soup … but I can turn the AC up, wear a hoodie and pretend its Autumn … who am I kidding?!? … Anyway I wanted to make soup … I had found this recipe for a SPICY SWEET POTATO SOUP … and wanted to give it a go …

What I ended up making was a slight variation on the recipe I’ve linked to so I’ll let you know what I did here … I also made a larger batch so we’d have enough for two meals!

Ingredients:

  • 4 Medium-Large Sweet Potatoes
  • 4 cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Onion
  • Chicken Stock (about 1litre in total)
  • 2 no chopped Piquante Peppers (I couldn’t find any Chipotle’s at the supermarket so subbed these)
  • 1 teaspoon Chilli Flakes
  • Salt

Mince the garlic and chop the onion up finely … and start by frying them in a large pot …

then add the chopped peppers … peel the potatoes and slice them thinly … (the thicker you slice the longer they will take to cook through) … add the potatoes to the pan followed by the stock … turn the heat down to medium and leave it to simmer with the lid on for about 20mins or until the potatoes are cooked through …

I then used an immersion blender to blend the potatoes into a puree … and after tasting added abit of salt …

Served with some parsley as garnish … The soup was great but the sweet potato taste can get abit over powering by the end of a bowl … so if I make it again I’ll probably mix in another vegetable or two with it to help balance the flavours more …

I also made some Soda Bread to go with the soup as well … I used a GORDON RAMSEY RECIPE as the basis of my Soda Bread but with one substitution …

Ingredients:

  • 350g Plain Flour
  • 150g Wholewheat Flour
  • 1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
  • 1 tsp Caster Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 500g 0% Fat Total Greek Yoghurt (the original recipe calls for 450ml Buttermilk)

Preheat the oven to 200°C/gas mark 6 … Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl and make a well in the middle … Add the yoghurt to the bowl and mix lightly with a fork as you add it. (Be careful not to overwork the dough but make sure all the dry ingredients are mixed in.)

Tip the dough on to a floured work surface and knead gently for 30 seconds to combine … Try not to overwork it …

Line a tray with parchment/baking paper and dust with flour … Form the bread into a round and place on the tray flattening it slightly … Cut a cross into the top of the loaf and place in the preheated oven …

Bake for 30–35 minutes until the soda bread is golden on the outside and cooked through … you can check by tapping on the bottom of the loaf … if it sounds hollow then its cooked properly … and remember to leave to cool on a wire rack …

I think I needed to leave my loaf in for a few more minutes as the centre was still quite abit doughy … my dough turned out quite dry initially so I think if your going to use yoghurt then you should probably add a few tablespoons of water to help the dough come together better … Its by far the easiest bread I’ve ever baked and really rather healthy if you opt for fat free yoghurt in place of buttermilk!

The soup was yummy and so was the bread … and both were really simple to make … few ingredients and didnt take too much time to prep either …

What I did find though with the soup was that about halfway through the bowl the sweet potato flavour became rather overwhelming (for me anyway) … so when we had the leftovers for dinner last night I added some more chilli flakes while reheating (to take the edge off the sweetness) … and topped with some garlic spinach and grated cheese … which added the garlicy/salty flavour it needed to balance out the flavours … that combined with the Soda Bread for dipping made a very delicious dinner …

(sorry about the crap photo … only had my phone on hand and the lighting was terrible)

Hope you enjoy these recipes … and if you give them a try do let me know how it goes …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Spicy Sweet Potato Soup & Soda Bread …

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Weekly Roundup … Ikea, Pancakes & More BBQ’s … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

